Experts bet on the "general intellectual activity", such as reading books or doing physical exercise, to keep "alive" the stem cells that exist in the brain "all of life" and make it possible "not to deplete neurons" thus achieving a "healthy" aging.

This has been highlighted by the professor of Cell Biology and discoverer of the existence of stem cells in the brain, José M. García Verdugo, during his participation in a conference at the Complexo Universitario Hospitalario de Santiago (CHUS), in which he has been accompanied by the professor of physiology and former Socialist Minister of Health, Bernat Soria.

In the day, both experts have exposed the new "research channels" opened after the discovery "neurogenesis"or existence of stem cells in the brain", a fact that, according to García Verdugo, "has changed the way in which the functioning of the brain will be understood in the coming years".

According to José M. García Verdugo, these neurons "are fundamental" for learning and memory, so "keeping them alive throughout life" is the prelude to a "healthy aging".

In this regard, he has indicated that the discovery of neurogenesis "opens hope" in the investigation of neural diseases with a view to "the future". Thus, he has indicated that "the question now" is to know how you can dialogue with these cells so that they "do not exhaust".

In this sense, the professor in Cell Biology has assured that "if a continuous activity is not carried out" this type of cells "die", so they end up "exhausting" the stem cells that have to replace those that have died.

Asked about auspicious habits for neuronal regeneration, García Verdugo has indicated that intellectual activity favors neuronal regeneration, but also "physical" regeneration.

"The activity that a farmer can do, keeping his plantation, studying the amount of water he has to put ... is an intellectual activity, during its development it starts all the mechanisms of the brain, since it needs coordination", he detailed.

Clinical trials in diseases

Dr. García Verdugo has also assured that there are clinical trials in diseases such as Parkinson's in which the effects of the regeneration of cells in the brain are analyzed.

These neurons "are fundamental" for learning and memory, so "keeping them alive" is the prelude to a "healthy aging"

As he pointed out, in these investigations, on the one hand, "attempts are made to activate the cells", while also introducing cells that can replace those that have died and give rise to a "microenvironment" that allows "those who do not continue to die neurons that have overcome the crisis of diseases such as Parkinson's or sclerosis. "

Bernat Soria, who participates in several of these clinical trials, has added that in strokes or strokes this type of stem cells are used as "anti-inflammatory" that "prevent inflammation from continuing", and has indicated that studies show that, In the short term, "it is possible that at the end of that inflammation there may be some regeneration".

Technology and Health: Aging Safely and More Independently (November 2019).

Les experts parient sur "l'activité intellectuelle générale", telle que la lecture de livres ou l'exercice physique, pour maintenir "vivantes" les cellules souches qui existent dans le cerveau "toute la vie" et permettre "de ne pas épuiser les neurones". un vieillissement "en bonne santé".

Ceci a été souligné par le professeur de biologie cellulaire et découvreur de l’existence de cellules souches dans le cerveau, José M. García Verdugo, lors de sa participation à une conférence au Complexe universitaire hospitalier de Santiago (CHUS), dans laquelle il était accompagné par le professeur de physiologie et ancien ministre socialiste de la Santé, Bernat Soria.

Dans la journée, les deux experts ont exposé les nouveaux "canaux de recherche" ouverts après la découverte "neurogenèse"ou l'existence de cellules souches dans le cerveau", ce qui, selon García Verdugo, "a changé la façon dont le fonctionnement du cerveau sera compris dans les années à venir".

Selon José M. García Verdugo, ces neurones "sont fondamentaux" pour l'apprentissage et la mémoire, de sorte que "les maintenir en vie tout au long de la vie" est le prélude à un "vieillissement en bonne santé".

À cet égard, il a indiqué que la découverte de la neurogenèse "ouvrait de l'espoir" dans l'investigation des maladies neurales en vue de "l'avenir". Ainsi, il a indiqué que "la question maintenant" est de savoir comment vous pouvez dialoguer avec ces cellules afin qu'elles "ne s'épuisent pas".

En ce sens, le professeur de biologie cellulaire a assuré que "si une activité continue n'est pas réalisée", ce type de cellules "meurt", elles finissent donc par "épuiser" les cellules souches qui doivent remplacer celles qui ils sont morts.

Interrogé sur les habitudes favorables à la régénération neuronale, García Verdugo a indiqué que l'activité intellectuelle favorisait la régénération neuronale, mais aussi la régénération "physique".

"L'activité qu'un agriculteur peut faire, garder sa plantation, étudier la quantité d'eau qu'il doit mettre ... est une activité intellectuelle, au cours de son développement, elle déclenche tous les mécanismes du cerveau, car elle a besoin de coordination", a-t-il précisé.

Essais cliniques dans les maladies

Le Dr García Verdugo a également assuré qu'il existait des essais cliniques dans des maladies telles que la maladie de Parkinson dans lesquelles les effets de la régénération des cellules dans le cerveau étaient analysés.

Ces neurones "sont fondamentaux" pour l'apprentissage et la mémoire, donc "les garder en vie" est le prélude à un "vieillissement en bonne santé"

Comme il l'a souligné, dans ces enquêtes, d'une part, "on tente d'activer les cellules", tout en introduisant des cellules qui peuvent remplacer celles qui sont mortes et créer un "microenvironnement" qui permet à "ceux qui ne continuent pas de mourir neurones qui ont surmonté la crise de maladies telles que la maladie de Parkinson ou la sclérose en plaques ".

Bernat Soria, qui participe à plusieurs de ces essais cliniques, a ajouté que, dans les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, ce type de cellules souches est utilisé comme "anti-inflammatoire" qui "empêche l'inflammation de se poursuivre", et a indiqué que des études montrent que, À court terme, "il est possible qu'à la fin de cette inflammation, il se produise une certaine régénération".

Grand Débat des Idées avec des intellectuels (Partie 3) (Août 2019).