Experts warn that patients with diabetes are more likely to be infected with influenza and that, in addition, this pathology can cause more complications than the healthy population, as it sometimes affects the digestive system, causing vomiting and diarrhea, which can alter the level of glucose in blood and trigger hyperglycemia.

For this reason, the 2012 Consensus of Vaccination of risk groups against influenza virus insists that diabetics should always be vaccinated against this virus to prevent infection and avoid the possible complications that this particular group carries.

Hyperglycemia decreases the body's defenses and facilitates infection by influenza, while influenza can cause an increase in blood glucose

Dr. Ramón Cisterna, coordinator of the Influenza Study Group and Head of the Clinical Microbiology and Infection Control Service at Basurto Hospital (Bilbao), explains that the immune system of people with diabetes is weaker and that is why in them the flu can be more serious and cause more complications, so in your case the vaccine is especially beneficial.

The secretary of the Spanish Society of Diabetes (SED), Dr. José Ángel Díaz, points out that it must also be borne in mind that in diabetic patients, the flu can make it harder for them to comply with their diet and treatment. doctor, which is essential to maintain adequate glucose levels.

And is that, according to experts, hyperglycemia decreases the body's defenses and facilitates infection with influenza, while, in turn, infections such as influenza can cause an increase in blood glucose. However, as Dr. Cisterna clarifies, if the diabetic has been vaccinated against the flu, even if he contracted the infection, it will be milder, as well as the complications that it may entail.

Sources: 'Study Group of the Flu' and 'Spanish Society of Diabetes'

Keto Diet & Diabetes: How Ketosis Affects Insulin (November 2019).

Les experts avertissent que les patients diabétiques sont plus susceptibles d’être infectés par la grippe et que, de plus, cette pathologie peut entraîner plus de complications que la population en bonne santé, car elle affecte parfois le système digestif, provoquant des vomissements et de la diarrhée, pouvant altérer la niveau de glucose dans le sang et déclencheur hyperglycémie.

Pour cette raison, le Consensus de 2012 sur la vaccination des groupes à risque contre le virus de l'influenza insiste sur le fait que les diabétiques doivent toujours être vaccinés contre ce virus afin de prévenir l'infection et d'éviter les complications possibles que ce groupe comporte.

L'hyperglycémie diminue les défenses de l'organisme et facilite l'infection par la grippe, tandis que la grippe peut entraîner une augmentation de la glycémie

Le Dr Ramón Cisterna, coordinateur du groupe d’étude sur la grippe et responsable du service de microbiologie clinique et de contrôle des infections à l’hôpital Basurto (Bilbao), explique que le système immunitaire des diabétiques est plus faible et c’est pourquoi chez eux, la grippe peut être plus grave et causer plus de complications, de sorte que dans votre cas, le vaccin est particulièrement bénéfique.

Le Dr José Ángel Díaz, secrétaire de la Société espagnole du diabète (SED), souligne qu'il faut également garder à l'esprit que, chez les patients diabétiques, la grippe peut les empêcher de respecter leur régime et leur traitement. médecin, ce qui est essentiel pour maintenir une glycémie adéquate.

Et c’est que, d’après les experts, l’hyperglycémie diminue les défenses de l’organisme et facilite l’infection par la grippe, alors que des infections comme la grippe peuvent entraîner une augmentation de la glycémie. Toutefois, comme l'a précisé le Dr Cisterna, si le diabétique a été vacciné contre la grippe, même s'il a contracté l'infection, celle-ci sera atténuée, de même que les complications que cela peut entraîner.

Sources: 'Groupe d'étude de la grippe' et 'Société espagnole du diabète'

Revertir el envejecimiento por Adolfo Pérez Agustí PARTE 1 (Août 2019).