Infections caused by viruses, bacteria and parasites are the cause of the appearance of one in six tumors cancerous, according to the findings of an international investigation conducted in 184 countries, which has evaluated the incidence of 27 different types of cancer.

According to the study, which has been published in 'The Lancet Oncology', each year one and a half million people die in the world - two thirds in the poorest countries of the planet - as a result of tumors whose origin is attributed to some type of infection.

Every year a million and a half people die in the world as a result of cancerous tumors whose origin is attributed to some type of infection

The bacterium 'Helicobacter pylori' - which has already infected half the world's population - and viruses such as hepatitis B and C and the human papilloma virus are associated with the development of cancer of the stomach, liver and cervix, respectively. Another example is the infection caused by parasites of the genus Squistosoma, schistosomiasis, which can trigger bladder cancer.

The objective of the research was to determine the percentage of new cancers that could be attributed to previous infections and that, had the infection been prevented or treated correctly, they would have been avoided. The researchers estimated that 16.1% of the 12.7 million new cases of cancer detected worldwide occurred as a result of an infection, and that only in the year 2008 the death of 1.5 could have been prevented. millions of people if the infection that caused the cancer that finally killed them had been prevented or treated early.

The authors of the study observed large differences between different geographical areas, and while in economically developed countries such as New Zealand and Australia tumors originating from an infectious pathology accounted for 3.3% of cases, this percentage amounted to 32.7% in the Sub-Saharan Africa.

Researchers have highlighted the importance of establishing preventive programs and prophylactic measures in these developing areas, such as vaccines, to prevent the proliferation and transmission of pathologies caused by certain viruses, bacteria and parasites, and thereby reduce the incidence and mortality of cancer worldwide.

Thinking about cancer as an infectious disease (November 2019).

Les infections causées par des virus, des bactéries et des parasites sont à l’origine de l’apparition d’un sur six tumeurs cancéreux, selon les conclusions d'une enquête internationale menée dans 184 pays, qui a évalué l'incidence de 27 types de cancer différents.

Selon l'étude publiée dans "The Lancet Oncology", chaque année, un million et demi de personnes meurent dans le monde - deux tiers dans les pays les plus pauvres de la planète - des suites de tumeurs attribuées à certains type d'infection.

Chaque année, un million et demi de personnes meurent dans le monde des suites de tumeurs cancéreuses dont l'origine est attribuée à un type d'infection

La bactérie 'Helicobacter pylori' - qui a déjà infecté la moitié de la population mondiale - et des virus tels que les hépatites B et C et le virus du papillome humain sont associés au développement d'un cancer de l'estomac, du foie et du col de l'utérus, respectivement. Un autre exemple est l’infection causée par des parasites du genre Squistosoma, la schistosomiase, qui peut déclencher un cancer de la vessie.

L'objectif de la recherche était de déterminer le pourcentage de nouveaux cancers qui pourraient être attribués à des infections précédentes et qui, si l'infection avait été prévenue ou traitée correctement, ils l'auraient été. Les chercheurs ont estimé que 16,1% des 12,7 millions de nouveaux cas de cancer détectés dans le monde étaient imputables à une infection et que ce n’est qu’en 2008 que 1,5 décès aurait pu être évité. des millions de personnes si l’infection à l'origine du cancer qui les a finalement tués avait été prévenue ou traitée rapidement.

Les auteurs de l’étude ont observé de grandes différences entre les différentes zones géographiques. Tandis que dans les pays économiquement développés tels que la Nouvelle-Zélande et l’Australie, les tumeurs provenant d’une pathologie infectieuse représentaient 3,3% des cas, ce pourcentage s’élevait à 32,7% dans le pays. Afrique sub-saharienne.

Les chercheurs ont souligné l’importance de mettre en place des programmes de prévention et des mesures prophylactiques dans ces régions en développement, tels que les vaccins, afin de prévenir la prolifération et la transmission de pathologies causées par certains virus, bactéries et parasites, et de réduire ainsi la incidence et mortalité du cancer dans le monde.

Si tu as Une Bosse sur le Cou, Fais-la Examiner le Plus Tôt Possible (Août 2019).