The coordinator of the Valencian Sleep Unit of Hospital Quirón Valencia, Gonzalo Pin, has warned that sleep apnea in children can negatively affect the cognitive development of children, during the celebration of the IV Conference of Advances in Pediatric Sleep Medicine.

According to Gonzalo Pin, while they sleep, children with apnea may suffer interruptions in their breathing of between 10 and 30 seconds, which would repeat throughout the night. This lack of oxygenation could cause growth alterations, and influence their cognitive development and learning ability, in addition to promoting the development of pathologies such as hypertension.

The lack of oxygenation could cause growth disturbances, and influence their cognitive development and learning ability, in addition to promoting the development of pathologies such as hypertension

The main reason why this disorder occurs is that the disproportion between the size of the vegetations and tonsils and the airway causes difficulties for the air to pass correctly while the child sleeps. The specialist explains that the presence of apnea can also be due to a dysfunction of the airway, even if the tonsils are not very large.

A first indication that can make parents suspect that their child suffers from this disorder is to listen to a snore prolonged when the child is not cold. If this happens, the specialist recommends the parents to consult the pediatrician, because these professionals have questionnaires to identify the possible existence of apnea, whose definitive diagnosis will be confirmed in the sleep units or the otolaryngology department.

Obesity exacerbates the problem

Another of the topics highlighted during the day was childhood obesity and its relationship with sleep problems. In a study conducted by the Valencian Sleep Unit of Hospital Quirón Valencia among obese adolescents, it revealed that around 50% suffered from sleep apnea, and that in many cases neither the affected nor their families knew the problem.

Currently, more than a quarter of the child population is obese or overweight. Dr. Pin warns that childhood obesity is a problem of great magnitude in Spain, and that the implication of the whole society is necessary to combat it. Pin believes that prevention is the best tactic and that families, the education system and health professionals should collaborate to establish standards of balanced and healthy diet for children.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Cerebral Palsy 6 months - Brain Hemorrhage, Arachnoid Cyst, Hydrocephalus, Epilepsy (November 2019).

Gonzalo Pin, coordinateur de l'Unité valencienne du sommeil de l'hôpital Quirón Valencia, a averti que l'apnée du sommeil chez les enfants pouvait nuire au développement cognitif des enfants lors de la IVe Conférence des avancées dans la médecine du sommeil chez l'enfant.

Selon Gonzalo Pin, pendant leur sommeil, les enfants souffrant d'apnée peuvent souffrir d'interruptions de la respiration comprises entre 10 et 30 secondes, qui se répètent toute la nuit. Ce manque d'oxygénation pourrait entraîner des altérations de la croissance et influer sur leur développement cognitif et leurs capacités d'apprentissage, en plus de favoriser le développement de pathologies telles que l'hypertension.

Le manque d'oxygénation pourrait perturber la croissance et influer sur leur développement cognitif et leurs capacités d'apprentissage, en plus de favoriser le développement de pathologies telles que l'hypertension.

La principale raison de ce trouble est que la disproportion entre la taille des végétations et des amygdales et les voies respiratoires rend difficile la circulation de l'air pendant le sommeil de l'enfant. Le spécialiste explique que la présence d'apnée peut aussi être due à un dysfonctionnement des voies respiratoires, même si les amygdales ne sont pas très grosses.

Une première indication permettant aux parents de penser que leur enfant souffre de ce trouble est d’écouter un ronflement prolongé quand l'enfant n'a pas froid. Si cela se produit, le spécialiste recommande aux parents de consulter le pédiatre, car ces professionnels disposent de questionnaires permettant d'identifier l'existence éventuelle d'une apnée, dont le diagnostic définitif sera confirmé dans le futur. unités de sommeil ou le département d'oto-rhino-laryngologie.

L'obésité aggrave le problème

L'obésité chez les enfants et sa relation avec les problèmes de sommeil ont également été abordés au cours de la journée. Une étude menée par l'unité de sommeil valencienne de l'Hôpital Quirón Valencia auprès d'adolescents obèses a révélé qu'environ 50% d'entre eux souffraient d'apnée du sommeil et que, dans de nombreux cas, ni les personnes touchées ni leur famille ne connaissaient le problème.

Actuellement, plus du quart de la population enfantine est obèse ou en surpoids. Le Dr Pin signale que l’obésité chez les enfants est un problème de grande ampleur en Espagne et que l’implication de toute la société est nécessaire pour la combattre. Pin croit que la prévention est la meilleure tactique et que les familles, le système éducatif et les professionnels de la santé devraient collaborer pour établir des normes de alimentation équilibrée et saine pour les enfants.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Dr Anne-Hélène GIRAUD, Apnées du sommeil et fatigue chronique par Vanessa ROUSET (Août 2019).