Children who have an older sibling with autism have a 7% chance of developing this disease, while the risk to the general population is 1%. This is the conclusion reached by a study conducted by researchers at the University of Aarhus in Denmark.

Therese Gronborg, lead author of the research, whose results have been published in 'JAMA Pediatrics', has explained that the causes of autism are diverse and complex, and that if the disease had a single genetic component, the incidence among siblings would be much higher which they have found. In fact, other previous studies had determined the risk rate of having autism when the older brother suffers from the disorder by 18%.

If the autism had a single genetic component, the incidence among siblings would be much higher, explains the principal investigator of the study.

The researchers used data from births and civil and psychiatric registries to assess the 1.5 million children born in Denmark between 1980 and 2004. They found that children whose older sibling had autism had between 4.5 and a 10.5 percent chance -7% on average- of suffering from this pathology.

They also observed what happened when the children studied were stepbrothers; thus, if they had the same father and one of them was autistic, the risk of the other suffering the disorder was 1.5%, while if they were siblings on the mother's side this risk increased in the healthy child to 2, 4%.

According to Groborg, the lifestyle of the mother during pregnancy or some factor that intervenes in intrauterine development could influence the risk of their children suffering from autism, although it could also be associated with socio-cultural factors and education.

CDC Grand Rounds: Autism Spectrum Disorder (November 2019).

Les enfants d'un frère aîné avec autisme ont 7% de chances de développer cette maladie, alors que le risque pour la population en général est de 1%. Telle est la conclusion d'une étude menée par des chercheurs de l'Université d'Aarhus au Danemark.

Thérèse Gronborg, auteure principale de la recherche, dont les résultats ont été publiés dans «JAMA Pediatrics», a expliqué que les causes de l'autisme sont diverses et complexes et que, si la maladie avait un seul composant génétique, l'incidence parmi les frères et sœurs serait beaucoup plus élevée. qu'ils ont trouvé. En fait, d’autres études antérieures avaient déterminé le taux de risque d’autisme lorsque le frère aîné souffrait de ce trouble de 18%.

Si l'autisme avait une seule composante génétique, l'incidence chez les frères et sœurs serait beaucoup plus élevée, explique l'investigateur principal de l'étude.

Les chercheurs ont utilisé des données de registres de naissance et de registres civil et psychiatrique pour évaluer les 1,5 million d'enfants nés au Danemark entre 1980 et 2004. Ils ont découvert que les enfants dont le frère ou la soeur était autiste avaient entre 4,5 et 4 ans. 10,5% de chances - 7% en moyenne - de souffrir de cette pathologie.

Ils ont également observé ce qui s'est passé lorsque les enfants étudiés étaient des demi-frères; ainsi, s’ils avaient le même père et que l’un d’eux était autiste, le risque que l’autre soit atteint de la maladie était de 1,5%, tandis que s’ils étaient frères et sœurs du côté maternel, ce risque était porté à 2, 4%

Selon Groborg, le mode de vie de la mère pendant la grossesse ou un facteur intervenant dans le développement intra-utérin pourrait influer sur le risque que ses enfants soient atteints d'autisme, bien qu'il puisse également être associé à des facteurs socioculturels et à l'éducation.

Autism — what we know (and what we don't know yet) | Wendy Chung (Août 2019).