The death of some celebrities in certain circumstances, as in the case of singer Michael Jackson, has aroused the interest of the United Nations drug control agency on the abuse of prescription drugs that, in the USA, for example, about 6.2 million people during 2008, which makes it the most relevant type of substance abuse, after the cannabis.

In European countries, such as France and Italy, between 10 and 18 percent of students habitually use sedatives or tranquilizers; while, in Germany, between 1.4 and 1.9 million people are addicted to prescription drugs. Hamid Ghodse, director of the Center for Medicines Policy of the Saint George University of London, and one of the authors of the report of the UN committee, warns that the abuse of these drugs is a difficult problem to detect that has spread throughout the planet in the last decade, and it is necessary to face it as soon as possible.

The "drug of the rapists"

The INCB also warns about the increase that has occurred in the use of new legal drugs to commit sexual crimes, such as ketamine and the gamma butyrolactone (GBL), which are easy to get in many countries. Rohypnol (flunitrazepam) was the drug of choice for the rapists, who diluted it in the victim's drink without it being noticed, but its use has diminished with the establishment of a stricter control.

It is important to highlight that the illegal sale of drugs through the Internet is an extraordinary source of supply for this type of consumers, so the INCB insists that governments take appropriate measures to control the illegal electronic commerce of medicines.

The Overdose Epidemic: Heroin and Prescription Drugs (November 2019).

La mort de certaines célébrités dans certaines circonstances, comme dans le cas du chanteur Michael Jackson, a suscité l’intérêt de l’agence des Nations Unies pour le contrôle des drogues pour l’abus de médicaments sur ordonnance qui, aux États-Unis, par exemple, environ 6,2 millions de personnes en 2008, ce qui en fait le type de toxicomanie le plus pertinent, après la cannabis.

Dans les pays européens, tels que la France et l'Italie, entre 10 et 18% des étudiants utilisent habituellement des sédatifs ou des tranquillisants; tandis qu'en Allemagne, entre 1,4 et 1,9 million de personnes sont dépendantes de médicaments sur ordonnance. Hamid Ghodse, directeur du Centre pour la politique des médicaments de la Université Saint George de Londres, et l'un des auteurs du rapport du comité de l'ONU, avertit que l'abus de ces drogues est un problème difficile à détecter qui s'est répandu sur la planète au cours de la dernière décennie et qu'il est nécessaire d'y faire face le plus rapidement possible.

La "drogue des violeurs"

L'OICS met également en garde contre l'augmentation de l'utilisation de nouvelles drogues légales pour commettre des crimes sexuels, tels que kétamine et le gamma butyrolactone (GBL), faciles à obtenir dans de nombreux pays. Le rohypnol (flunitrazépam) était la drogue de choix des violeurs, qui l’avaient diluée dans le verre de la victime sans que cela soit remarqué, mais son utilisation a diminué avec la mise en place d’un contrôle plus strict.

Il est important de souligner que la vente illégale de drogues sur Internet est une source extraordinaire d'approvisionnement pour ce type de consommateurs. L'OICS insiste donc pour que les gouvernements prennent des mesures appropriées pour contrôler le commerce électronique illégal de médicaments.

The harm reduction model of drug addiction treatment | Mark Tyndall (Août 2019).