Tuberculosis is an infectious disease that is spread by air and, although it mainly affects the lungs, it can also damage other organs. It is characterized because the infection, caused by the bacteria M. tuberculosis, it can remain latent, that is, not all infected people develop the disease.

Experts from the Spanish Society of Pediatric Pulmonology (SENP) have warned that there is an increase in cases of drug-resistant tuberculosis among children, and have attributed this phenomenon to adults who live with children may suffer from contagious tuberculosis without knowing it, and transmit the disease to children.

These specialists influence the need for an early diagnosis and the initiation of treatment as soon as possible, controlling that such treatment is followed properly and is effective, in order to eradicate this disease, which is the most avoidable deaths caused worldwide.

Almost half of the people diagnosed with tuberculosis in Spain (in 2009, 7,662 cases were detected, of which 7.7% were children) come from developing countries, which according to Dr. Neus Altelt, specialist of the SEN, it is because there are risk factors such as poverty and its consequences: poor nutrition, overcrowding, lack of hygiene, weakening of the immune system ... that favor the spread and development of the disease.

It can be cured

Once diagnosed, and with an effective treatment, tuberculosis can be cured; However, specialists warn that the emergence of drug-resistant tuberculosis, which are known as MDR-TB (TB-Multi-drug resistant) and XDR-TB (tuberculosis with extended resistance), and that can also be transmitted from adults to children, represent a great threat to health, because every year about half a million cases are declared worldwide and, in many cases, there are no effective medicines to fight the disease, which can cause the death of those affected.

For this reason, experts point out the need to continue research to develop new methods of early diagnosis, and alternative treatments to replace drugs that are no longer effective and also allow to reduce the duration of therapy.

Source: Spanish Society of Pediatric Pulmonology (SENP)

Mob Kab Ntsws MDR TB (November 2019).

La tuberculose est une maladie infectieuse qui se transmet par voie aérienne et, même si elle affecte principalement les poumons, elle peut également endommager d'autres organes. Il est caractérisé parce que l'infection, causée par la bactérie M. tuberculosis, il peut rester latent, c’est-à-dire que toutes les personnes infectées ne développent pas la maladie.

Des experts de la Société espagnole de pneumologie pédiatrique (SENP) ont averti qu'il y avait une augmentation des cas de tuberculose pharmacorésistante chez les enfants et qui attribuent ce phénomène à des adultes vivant avec des enfants peuvent souffrir de tuberculose contagieuse sans le savoir et transmettre la maladie à des enfants.

Ces spécialistes influencent la nécessité d'un diagnostic précoce et de l'initiation du traitement dès que possible, en contrôlant que ce traitement est suivi correctement et est efficace, afin d'éradiquer cette maladie, qui est la mort la plus évitable causée dans le monde.

Près de la moitié des personnes atteintes de tuberculose diagnostiquée en Espagne (7 662 cas ont été détectés en 2009, dont 7,7% d'enfants) sont originaires de pays en développement, ce qui, selon le Dr Neus Altelt, spécialiste SEN, c’est parce qu’il existe des facteurs de risque tels que la pauvreté et ses conséquences: mauvaise alimentation, surpeuplement, manque d'hygiène, affaiblissement du système immunitaire… qui favorisent la propagation et le développement de la maladie.

Il peut être guéri

Une fois diagnostiquée et avec un traitement efficace, la tuberculose peut être guérie; Cependant, les spécialistes avertissent que l’émergence d’une tuberculose résistante aux médicaments, connue sous le nom de TB-MR (multi-médicaments) et de TB-XDR (tuberculose avec résistance prolongée), et qui peut également se transmettre de adultes à une grave menace pour la santé, car chaque année, environ un demi-million de cas sont déclarés dans le monde et, dans de nombreux cas, il n'existe pas de médicament efficace pour lutter contre la maladie, ce qui peut provoquer la mort des personnes touchées.

Pour cette raison, les experts soulignent la nécessité de poursuivre les recherches pour développer de nouvelles méthodes de diagnostic précoce et des traitements alternatifs pour remplacer les médicaments qui ne sont plus efficaces et qui permettent également de réduire la durée du traitement.

Source: Société espagnole de pneumologie pédiatrique (SENP)

VIH / sida - power to the people - Tine Van der Maas (Août 2019).