Mental illnesses represent a cost equivalent to 3-4% of European GDP due, to a large extent, to productivity losses, early retirements, and the perception of disability pensions of the people affected. Most studies place the prevalence of depressive disorders between 9 and 20% of the world population. In Spain, depression is the most frequent mental disorder, with a prevalence of between 5 and 10%, that is, between two and four million people, although experts estimate that there could be up to six million affected by this pathology. , half of which would not be diagnosed. In addition, one in five people who go to primary care (PC) consultation suffer from depression.

According to World Health Organization (WHO), currently the depression is the first world cause of disability, and the origin of 27% of all years of disability generated by all conditions. "Among the intangible costs are those related to the way society treats people suffering from these disorders: people who continue to suffer exclusion, stigmatization, discrimination or lack of respect for their fundamental rights. Also, we must consider the overload of caregivers and relatives of the people affected, "explained Dr. José Ángel Arbesú, coordinator of the Mental Health Group of SEMERGEN as part of the seventh edition of the Meetings for Psychiatry and Primary Care, held in Madrid on the 13th and 14th. of May.

In this meeting, organized by the Spanish Society of Primary Care Physicians (SEMERGEN) and the Spanish Society of Psychiatry (SEP) topics of great interest for the clinical practice of the PC doctor were addressed as an update of the pharmacological treatments for depression; the psychopharmacological therapeutic guidelines possible to follow in patients who do not respond adequately to treatment; the association of depression to chronic pain that requires a specific focus on therapeutics; the care for patients with Alzheimer's disease, whose complexity and importance affects not only the patient but also the habitual caregiver; mood disorders at the end of life, which imply in a special way the PC doctor; and the urgent attention to mental illness.

The role of PA in the care of patients with depression

Affective disorders are among the most prevalent mental illnesses and, therefore, among those that generate the greatest number of consultations in PA. Some epidemiological data show the importance of affective disorders, and especially of depression, since one in five people will suffer a depressive episode throughout their lives, and about 14.4% of patients with severe depression try to commit suicide . In addition, 6.5% of the population refers to suffering chronic depression, of which 3.7% are men and 9.2% are women. Depression increases with age, exceeding 6% of men and 14.5% of women over 65 years.

"The family doctor is the key to reach an early detection, both of depression and anxiety, two pathologies that often appear together"

According to him First White Paper of the Depression, the profile of the patient with depression in Primary Care would be as follows: woman; mean age of 53 years; average frequency of attendance at the consultation: 5 weeks; high level of compliance with established appointments; go to the AP office before the psychiatrist; It is not the first time your doctor sees you; Half of the cases are diagnosed as reactive depressions; the diagnosis most associated with depression is GAD; of every 10 patients who have been diagnosed with depression in the last year, four had had previous episodes; predominant symptoms: sadness (78%), apathy (61%), insomnia (60%); anxiety accompanies depression in 18% of cases; predominant trigger factor: social or affective situation (11%); half of the patients present some additional pathology: arthritis / arthrosis (37%), dyslipidemia (33%), diabetes (21%), osteoporosis (11%).

In more than 80% of cases, the treatment and follow-up of patients with mental disorders is assumed by the PC physician. Only between 10 and 15% of patients arrive at psychiatric consultations."That means that family doctors detect and resolve between the remaining 85 and 90%, and assume the treatment of patients and their control," says Dr. Arbesú.

According to Dr. Martín, "the patient is referred to the psychiatric clinic when there is a lack of response to treatment, his situation becomes chronic, it is a psychotic or melancholic depression, an attempt of suicide occurs, the depressive episode is part of a bipolar disorder, when there are social circumstances of high risk or, finally, by express request of the patient ".

For all these reasons, "the family doctor is the key to reach an early detection, both of depression and anxiety, two pathologies that often appear together: the most frequent mental health problems in Primary Care are the depression (68%), followed by anxiety (12%), mixed anxious-depressive disorders (9.5%), dysthymia or other affective disorders (2%) and associated personality disorders, for example, to the abuse of toxic substances (0.5%) ", concludes Dr. Arbesú.

Sources: Spanish Society of Primary Care Physicians (SEMERGEN) and Spanish Society of Psychiatry (SEP)

Meet The Forgotten "Hitler" Who Killed 15 Million Africans... (November 2019).

Les maladies mentales représentent un coût équivalent à 3 à 4% du PIB européen, en grande partie à cause de pertes de productivité, de départs à la retraite anticipés et de la perception des pensions d'invalidité des personnes touchées. La plupart des études situent la prévalence des troubles dépressifs entre 9 et 20% de la population mondiale. En Espagne, la dépression est le trouble mental le plus fréquent, avec une prévalence comprise entre 5 et 10%, c'est-à-dire entre deux et quatre millions de personnes, bien que les experts estiment que jusqu'à six millions pourraient être touchées par cette pathologie. , dont la moitié ne serait pas diagnostiquée. En outre, une personne sur cinq qui se présente à une consultation de soins primaires (CP) souffre de dépression.

Selon la Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), actuellement la dépression est la première cause mondiale d'invaliditéet l’origine de 27% de toutes les années d’invalidité générées par toutes les conditions. "Parmi les coûts intangibles, il y a ceux liés à la manière dont la société traite les personnes souffrant de ces troubles: les personnes qui continuent à souffrir d'exclusion, de stigmatisation, de discrimination ou de manque de respect de leurs droits fondamentaux. En outre, nous devons considérer le surcharge des soignants et les familles des personnes touchées ", a expliqué le Dr José Ángel Arbesú, coordinateur du groupe de la santé mentale de SEMERGEN, dans le cadre de la septième édition des réunions sur la psychiatrie et les soins de base, tenues à Madrid les 13 et 14 octobre. de mai.

Dans cette réunion, organisée par le Société espagnole des médecins de soins primaires (SEMERGEN) et la Société espagnole de psychiatrie (SEP) sujets de grand intérêt pour la pratique clinique du médecin PC ont été abordés comme une mise à jour de la traitements pharmacologiques pour la dépression; le directives thérapeutiques psychopharmacologiques possible de suivre des patients qui ne répondent pas adéquatement au traitement; le association de la dépression à la douleur chronique cela nécessite une attention particulière à la thérapeutique; le soins aux patients atteints de la maladie d'Alzheimer, dont la complexité et l’importance concerne non seulement le patient, mais aussi le soignant habituel; les troubles de l'humeur en fin de vie, qui impliquent de manière particulière le médecin du PC; et la attention urgente à la maladie mentale.

Le rôle de l'AP dans les soins aux patients souffrant de dépression

Les troubles affectifs comptent parmi les maladies mentales les plus répandues et, par conséquent, parmi ceux qui génèrent le plus grand nombre de consultations en AP. Certaines données épidémiologiques montrent l’importance des troubles affectifs, et en particulier de la dépression, dans la mesure où une personne sur cinq souffrira d’un épisode dépressif tout au long de sa vie et qu'environ 14,4% des patients souffrant de dépression sévère tenteront de se suicider. . En outre, 6,5% de la population parle de souffrance dépression chroniquedont 3,7% d’hommes et 9,2% de femmes. La dépression augmente avec l'âge, dépassant 6% des hommes et 14,5% des femmes de plus de 65 ans.

"Le médecin de famille est la clé pour dépister précocement la dépression et l'anxiété, deux pathologies qui apparaissent souvent ensemble"

Selon le Premier livre blanc sur la dépression, le profil du patient souffrant de dépression en soins primaires serait le suivant: femme; âge moyen de 53 ans; fréquence moyenne de participation à la consultation: 5 semaines; niveau élevé de conformité aux nominations établies; allez au bureau de l'AP avant le psychiatre; Ce n'est pas la première fois que votre médecin vous voit; La moitié des cas sont diagnostiqués comme des dépressions réactives; le diagnostic le plus associé à la dépression est le TAG; Sur 10 patients chez qui on avait diagnostiqué une dépression au cours de la dernière année, quatre avaient déjà eu des épisodes précédents; symptômes prédominants: tristesse (78%), apathie (61%), insomnie (60%); l'anxiété accompagne la dépression dans 18% des cas; facteur déclenchant prédominant: situation sociale ou affective (11%); la moitié des patients présentent une pathologie supplémentaire: arthrite / arthrose (37%), dyslipidémie (33%), diabète (21%), ostéoporose (11%).

Dans plus de 80% des cas, le traitement et le suivi des patients atteints de troubles mentaux sont pris en charge par le médecin PC. Seulement 10 à 15% des patients arrivent en consultation psychiatrique."Cela signifie que les médecins de famille détectent et résolvent entre 85 et 90% des patients restants et assument le traitement des patients et leur contrôle", explique le Dr Arbesú.

Selon le Dr Martín, "le patient est référé à la clinique psychiatrique en cas d'absence de réponse au traitement, sa situation devient chronique, il s'agit d'une dépression psychotique ou mélancolique, une tentative de suicide se produit, l'épisode dépressif fait partie d’un trouble bipolaire, lorsqu’il existe des circonstances sociales à haut risque ou, enfin, sur demande expresse du patient ".

Pour toutes ces raisons, "le médecin de famille est la clé pour dépister précocement la dépression et l’anxiété, deux pathologies qui apparaissent souvent ensemble: les problèmes de santé mentale les plus fréquents dans les soins primaires sont les suivants: dépression (68%), suivie de l’anxiété (12%), troubles mixtes anxieux-dépressifs (9,5%), dysthymie ou autres troubles affectifs (2%) et troubles de la personnalité associés, par exemple, à l'abus de substances toxiques (0,5%) ", conclut le Dr Arbesú.

Sources: Société espagnole de médecins de soins primaires (SEMERGEN) et Société espagnole de psychiatrie (SEP)

Enquête vaccination N°6-Papillomavirus, Hépatites, vaccins hexavalents & mort subite du nourrisson (Août 2019).