More than 400,000 students under the age of 16 in Spain suffer from some type of learning disorder that, if not properly addressed, can lead to school failure. Neurology specialists demand a protocol to quickly detect these disorders and to respond to the students who suffer them.

This is the main conclusion of the report 'Learning in childhood and adolescence' that has been prepared by the Neurology Service of the Sant Joan de Déu Hospital in Esplugues de Llobregat. According to this study, in each classroom there are at least two children with some type of learning disorder such as dyslexia or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), which are the most frequent.

This type of disorders are genetic and neurological and make these children, despite having a normal intelligence, have great difficulties to learn or to acquire study habits.

Changes in exams

The report of the Sant Joan de Déu Hospital raises the need for flexible curricular designs to adapt them to students with learning disorders. In the case of children with dyslexia, it is proposed that they have more time than the others to perform the written exams and to give priority in their case to the oral tests. As for the students with ADHD, they ask the teachers to facilitate the exams in a fractional way.

In the same line is the proposal of Jesus Gonzalo Ocampos, president of the Spanish Federation of Dyslexia (FEDIS), who has requested that the exams of selectivity adapt in terms of time and spelling rules for all those students suffering from dyslexia in Spain , for which in June he sent a letter to the Ministry of Education.

Ocampos indicates that the Specific Learning Difficulty (DEA) the child always has, and maintains it when he reaches adulthood, so it is logical that he distances himself from his peers, and explains that if one takes into account the lack of spelling , these children are not on equal terms, and therefore these students should be offered the possibility of taking an oral test or an oral supplement to the written test.

EUROPE PRESS

How Torque Converters Work! (Animation) (November 2019).

En Espagne, plus de 400 000 élèves de moins de 16 ans souffrent d'un trouble d'apprentissage qui, s'il n'est pas correctement pris en charge, peut conduire à l'échec scolaire. Les neurologues exigent un protocole permettant de détecter rapidement ces troubles et de répondre aux besoins des étudiants qui les souffrent.

Telle est la principale conclusion du rapport «Apprendre pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence» préparé par le service de neurologie de l'hôpital Sant Joan de Déu à Esplugues de Llobregat. Selon cette étude, dans chaque classe, il y a au moins deux enfants atteints d'un trouble d'apprentissage, tel que la dyslexie ou le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH), qui sont les plus fréquents.

Ce type de troubles sont génétiques et neurologiques et font que ces enfants, malgré leur intelligence normale, ont de grandes difficultés à apprendre ou à acquérir des habitudes d'étude.

Changements dans les examens

Le rapport de l'hôpital Sant Joan de Déu souligne la nécessité de concevoir des programmes d'études flexibles pour les adapter aux étudiants présentant des troubles de l'apprentissage. Dans le cas des enfants dyslexiques, il est proposé de leur laisser plus de temps que les autres pour passer les examens écrits et donner la priorité aux épreuves orales. Quant aux étudiants atteints de TDAH, ils demandent aux enseignants de faciliter les examens de manière fractionnée.

Dans le même esprit, la proposition de Jesus Gonzalo Ocampos, président de la Fédération espagnole de dyslexie (FEDIS), a demandé que les examens de sélectivité s'adaptent en termes de règles de temps et d'orthographe pour tous les étudiants atteints de dyslexie en Espagne pour lequel, en juin, il envoya une lettre au ministère de l'Éducation.

Ocampos indique que la difficulté d'apprentissage spécifique (DEA) de l'enfant est toujours présente et la maintient à l'âge adulte. Il est donc logique qu'il s'éloigne de ses pairs et explique que si l'on tient compte du manque d'orthographe , ces enfants ne sont pas sur un pied d’égalité et, par conséquent, on devrait offrir à ces étudiants la possibilité de passer un test oral ou un complément oral à l’épreuve écrite.

EUROPE PRESSE

The Groucho Marx Show: American Television Quiz Show - Door / Food Episodes (Septembre 2019).