According to data from the "Alergológica 2005" report, prepared by the Spanish Society of Allergology and Clinical Immunology (SEAIC), more than one million children under 18 suffer from asthma in Spain, a pathology that is considered the most common chronic childhood disease around the world.

The World Allergy Organization (WAO) is launching an information campaign aimed at raising awareness among the population about the relevance of childhood asthma and the need to adequately control and treat this condition since the first symptoms appear. This campaign is accompanied by the motto "Childhood Asthma: A Global Problem". In Spain different activities will be carried out in Hospitals of Madrid, Barcelona and Bilbao, directed by allergists of the SEAIC. The president of the Society, Dr. Tomás Chivato, points out that although many guidelines have been published and many recommendations have been made on the best ways to control asthma, there are still many patients who are undiagnosed or untreated.

The expert warns that not properly handle the asthma of affected children has negative consequences on their social and family life, in addition to raising health costs. According to Dr. Chivato, an early diagnosis is essential to improve the long-term prognosis of the disease.

Relevant data

Dr. Tomás Chivato explains that it is a disease of the respiratory system with a high incidence among the smallest. Asthma can appear at any age, but symptoms often begin during the first five years of life and, in 25 percent of cases, before the baby reaches its first year.

The specialist states that children who have a family history of allergy, and those who suffer conditions such as atopic dermatitis, food allergies (especially eggs), or who have suffered frequent viral infections during early childhood, or have been exposed to tobacco smoke (especially if the mother is a smoker), have more chances of developing asthma.

Finally, he comments on the important role exercised by physical exercise in the child with asthma, since in addition to improving their physical condition and tolerance to exercise, the attacks provoked by the effort they make are reduced or weaker. They handle asthmatic crises better, and help to reduce the anxiety caused by the attacks. If the illness is treated correctly, the child will be able to participate in all those sports activities and games of his age.

Asthma Performance Measures Explained (November 2019).

Selon les données du rapport "Alergológica 2005" préparé par la Société espagnole d'allergologie et d'immunologie clinique (SEAIC), plus d'un million d'enfants de moins de 18 ans souffrent d'asthme en Espagne, une pathologie considérée comme la maladie chronique la plus courante chez l'enfant. Dans le monde entier.

L’Organisation mondiale contre l’allergie (WAO) lance une campagne d’information visant à sensibiliser la population à la pertinence de l’asthme chez l’enfant et à la nécessité de contrôler et de traiter adéquatement cette affection dès l’apparition des premiers symptômes. Cette campagne est accompagnée de la devise "L'asthme chez les enfants: un problème mondial". En Espagne, différentes activités seront menées dans les hôpitaux de Madrid, Barcelone et Bilbao, sous la direction d’allergologues du SEAIC. Le Dr Tomás Chivato, président de la Société, souligne que, même si de nombreuses lignes directrices ont été publiées et de nombreuses recommandations ont été formulées sur les meilleurs moyens de contrôler l'asthme, de nombreux patients ne sont ni diagnostiqués ni traités.

L’expert a mis en garde que le fait de ne pas traiter correctement l’asthme des enfants touchés aurait des conséquences négatives sur leur vie sociale et familiale, en plus d’augmenter les coûts de la santé. Selon le Dr Chivato, un diagnostic précoce est essentiel pour améliorer le pronostic à long terme de la maladie.

Données pertinentes

Le docteur Tomás Chivato explique qu'il s'agit d'une maladie du système respiratoire dont l'incidence est élevée chez les plus petits. L'asthme peut apparaître à tout âge, mais les symptômes commencent souvent au cours des cinq premières années de la vie et, dans 25% des cas, avant que le bébé n'atteigne sa première année.

Le spécialiste affirme que les enfants qui ont des antécédents familiaux d'allergie et ceux qui souffrent d'affections telles que la dermatite atopique, les allergies alimentaires (en particulier les œufs) ou qui ont subi de fréquentes infections virales au cours de leur petite enfance ou qui ont été exposés à la fumée du tabac (surtout si la mère fume), ont plus de risques de souffrir d’asthme.

Enfin, il commente le rôle important que l'exercice physique peut jouer chez l'enfant asthmatique, car outre l'amélioration de sa condition physique et de sa tolérance à l'exercice, les attaques provoquées par les efforts fournis sont réduits ou affaiblis. Ils gèrent mieux les crises d'asthme et aident à réduire l'anxiété causée par les attaques. Si la maladie est traitée correctement, l'enfant pourra participer à toutes les activités sportives et aux jeux de son âge.

Enquête vaccination N°5-Vaccins grippe & pneumocoque entre épidémie et stratégie de communication (Août 2019).