Although cataract is a pathology usually associated with age, thousands of children are born every year in the world with congenital cataracts in one or both eyes. Childhood cataract is one of the most frequent causes of visual decline in childhood and can involve a loss of serious vision if not treated in time.

Pediatric cataract, which can be corrected with the appropriate treatment, is caused by different causes, such as genetics, and can develop due to viral or bacteriological infections that affect the embryo or the child during his childhood. The incidence of inadequate care and infections is higher in developing countries, where the population lacks access to vaccines and adequate treatments.

A group of Spanish ophthalmologists, led by Dr. José Ángel Cristóbal Bescós, Head of the Ophthalmology Service of the Hospital Clínico de Zaragoza, has been a pioneer in incorporating the technical advances obtained in the field of adult ophthalmology to the treatment of cataracts in the childhood.

"Childhood cataract is one of the causes of poor vision and blindness in children and its treatment at an early age is key", says Dr. Cristóbal, who adds that "The studies carried out with multifocal intraocular lenses guarantee a better visual acuity at all distances, allowing these children to develop without difficulties".

Improvement of visual function

In several studies it has been observed that the implantation of multifocal intraocular lenses, a technique widely used in adult patients, provides a satisfactory result in children with unilateral cataract. The implantation of these lenses at an early age is associated with good visual results, which imply an improvement in visual acuity, with a low percentage of patients who require additional correction methods such as glasses and a considerable increase in their quality of life.

It has been confirmed that this treatment with multifocal lenses provides the best results in the case of monolateral infant cataracts, which are those that affect only one eye. The other eye usually remains healthy and acts as a dominant eye, with which the patient sometimes needs visual rehabilitation, through the use of glasses or the occlusion of the dominant eye with an occlusive patch.

These multifocal lenses are a good alternative to monofocal lenses in children over 4 years with unilateral cataracts, as they provide a good level of vision correction at all distances, both near and far.

The goal of surgery is to improve visual function without the need for corrective lenses, although occasionally a small optical correction will be required to achieve the maximum possible vision, so that the patient can read a book at school and ride in bicycle without vision problems, thus facilitating their development and learning.

Source: Alcon Spain

Cataract Surgery (2009) (November 2019).

Bien que la cataracte soit une pathologie généralement associée à l’âge, des milliers d’enfants naissent chaque année dans le monde avec une cataracte congénitale d’un ou des deux yeux. La cataracte chez l’enfant est l’une des causes les plus fréquentes de déclin visuel chez l’enfant et peut entraîner une perte de vision grave si elle n’est pas traitée à temps.

La cataracte pédiatrique, qui peut être corrigée avec le traitement approprié, est causée par différentes causes, telles que la génétique, et peut se développer en raison de infections virales ou bactériologiques qui affectent l'embryon ou l'enfant pendant son enfance. L'incidence des soins inadéquats et des infections est plus élevée dans les pays en développement, où la population n'a pas accès aux vaccins et aux traitements adéquats.

Un groupe d'ophtalmologistes espagnols, dirigé par le Dr José Ángel Cristóbal Bescós, chef du service d'ophtalmologie de l'hôpital clinique de Saragosse, a été un pionnier dans l'intégration des progrès techniques obtenus dans le domaine de l'ophtalmologie chez l'adulte au traitement de la cataracte dans enfance

"La cataracte chez l'enfant est l'une des causes de la mauvaise vision et de la cécité chez les enfants et son traitement à un âge précoce est la clé", dit le Dr Cristóbal, qui ajoute que "Les études réalisées avec des lentilles intraoculaires multifocales garantissent une meilleure acuité visuelle à toutes les distances, permettant ainsi à ces enfants de se développer sans difficulté".

Amélioration de la fonction visuelle

Dans plusieurs études, il a été observé que l'implantation de lentilles intraoculaires multifocales, une technique largement utilisée chez les patients adultes, donnait des résultats satisfaisants chez les enfants atteints de cataracte unilatérale. L'implantation précoce de ces lentilles est associée à de bons résultats visuels, qui impliquent une amélioration de l'acuité visuelle, avec un faible pourcentage de patients nécessitant des méthodes de correction supplémentaires telles que des lunettes et une augmentation considérable de leur qualité de vie.

Il a été confirmé que ce traitement avec des lentilles multifocales donne les meilleurs résultats dans le cas des cataractes monolatérales du nourrisson, qui ne touchent qu'un seul œil. L'autre œil reste généralement en bonne santé et agit comme un œil dominant, avec lequel le patient a parfois besoin d'une rééducation visuelle, par le biais de l'utilisation de lunettes ou de l'occlusion de l'œil dominant avec un patch occlusif.

Ces lentilles multifocales constituent une bonne alternative aux lentilles monofocales chez les enfants de plus de 4 ans atteints de cataracte unilatérale, car elles offrent un bon niveau de correction de la vision à toutes les distances, proches et lointaines.

L’objectif de la chirurgie est d’améliorer la fonction visuelle sans recourir à des lentilles correctrices, bien qu’une petite correction optique soit parfois nécessaire pour obtenir une vision maximale, de sorte que le patient puisse lire un livre à l’école et y entrer. vélo sans problèmes de vision, facilitant ainsi leur développement et leur apprentissage.

Source: Alcon Espagne

La chirurgie de la cataracte - Allô Docteurs (Août 2019).