Children are also susceptible to rheumatic diseases; thus, one in five patients with ankylosing spondylitis -a chronic condition that causes inflammation of the joints of the spine- and more than one in four affected by skin psoriasis, had the first manifestations of the disease before reaching the age of 16. In addition, although these pathologies sometimes resolve during childhood, it is estimated that almost half of these patients can suffer sequelae during adulthood.

For this reason, rheumatologists gathered in the IV Spondyloarthritis Symposium of the Spanish Society of Rheumatology, recently held in La Coruña, have warned of the need to improve diagnostic methods that allow early detection of these pathologies, to establish the appropriate treatment as soon as possible, and avoid injuries that may result in sequels that continue to affect them when they reach adulthood.

Nowadays, fortunately, image tests are available such as magnetic resonance and the musculoskeletal ultrasound, which allow early diagnosis of these diseases.

The role of genetics

The juvenile spondyloarthritis they are a set of diseases that begin before the age of 16, whose highest prevalence occurs in children as of six years of age, and which are strongly linked to the HLA-B27 antigen (which is found in 60-90 percent of cases).

At present, its causes are not known, but the investigations carried out associate them with a genetic factor. The experts also point out a probable relationship with some childhood infections, especially of the digestive system and, to a lesser extent, genito-urinary tract infections; as well as with an abnormal immune response in a genetically predisposed person.

Improvement of treatments

The pharmacological treatment must be completed with the practice of exercises aimed at maintaining joint mobility and the acquisition of adequate postural habits

The biological drugs they constitute the main novelty with respect to the treatments of autoimmune rheumatic diseases, both in adults and in the child population, since anti-TNFs can also be administered to children.

It is important that the pharmacological treatment be completed with other measures such as the practice of physical exercises aimed at maintaining joint mobility, and the acquisition of appropriate postural habits. This, in the case of children, involves an effort on the part of the people who are part of their environment (parents and the rest of the family or personnel in charge of their care, educators, friends, health professionals ...).

Study of SER

The Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER) and the Mexican Society of Rheumatology, have begun an investigation, called MexEspa, with which they intend to identify early predictive factors of poor prognosis in children suffering from spondyloarthritis, and observe its evolution in five years (from the first visit to the specialist).

To carry out this initiative, they have selected some 180 children with juvenile spondylitis, who will undergo an exhaustive control every six months, in order to detect factors related to the evolution of the disease, such as genetic, socio-health factors , the manifestations present at the beginning of the condition, among others.

Source: Spanish Society of Rheumatology (SER)

"Acute Rheumatic Fever" by Emmanuel Rusingiza, MD, for OPENPediatrics (November 2019).

Les enfants sont également sensibles aux maladies rhumatismales; ainsi, un patient sur cinq souffrant de spondylarthrite ankylosante - une maladie chronique qui provoque une inflammation des articulations de la colonne vertébrale - et plus d’un sur quatre atteints de psoriasis cutané, ont présenté les premières manifestations de la maladie avant l’âge de 16 ans. En outre, bien que ces pathologies se résolvent parfois pendant l'enfance, on estime que près de la moitié de ces patients peuvent souffrir de séquelles à l'âge adulte.

Pour cette raison, les rhumatologues réunis dans le Symposium IV sur la spondylarthrite de la Société espagnole de rhumatologie, récemment réunie à La Corogne, ont mis en garde sur la nécessité d’améliorer les méthodes de diagnostic permettant une détection précoce de ces pathologies, d’établir le traitement approprié le plus rapidement possible et d’éviter les blessures pouvant en résulter dans les suites qui continuent à les affecter quand ils atteignent l'âge adulte.

Aujourd’hui, heureusement, il existe des tests d’image tels que résonance magnétique et la échographie musculo-squelettique, qui permettent un diagnostic précoce de ces maladies.

Le rôle de la génétique

Le spondylarthrite juvénile il s’agit d’un ensemble de maladies débutant avant l’âge de 16 ans, dont la prévalence est la plus élevée chez les enfants à partir de six ans et qui sont étroitement liées au Antigène HLA-B27 (qui se trouve dans 60 à 90% des cas).

À l'heure actuelle, ses causes ne sont pas connues, mais les enquêtes effectuées les associent à une facteur génétique. Les experts soulignent également une relation probable avec certaines infections infantiles, en particulier celles du système digestif et, dans une moindre mesure, des infections génito-urinaires; ainsi qu'une réponse immunitaire anormale chez une personne génétiquement prédisposée.

Amélioration des traitements

Le traitement pharmacologique doit être complété par la pratique d'exercices visant à maintenir la mobilité articulaire et l'acquisition d'habitudes posturales adéquates.

Le médicaments biologiques ils constituent la principale nouveauté en ce qui concerne le traitement des maladies rhumatismales auto-immunes, tant chez les adultes que chez les enfants, car les anti-TNF peuvent également être administrés aux enfants.

Il est important que le traitement pharmacologique soit complété par d'autres mesures telles que la pratique d'exercices physiques visant à maintenir la mobilité articulaire et l'acquisition d'habitudes posturales appropriées. Ceci, dans le cas des enfants, implique un effort de la part des personnes qui font partie de leur environnement (parents et autres membres de la famille ou du personnel en charge de leur prise en charge, éducateurs, amis, professionnels de la santé ...).

Etude de SER

Le Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER) et la Société mexicaine de rhumatologie, ont entamé une enquête, appelée MexEspa, visant à identifier les facteurs prédictifs précoces de mauvais pronostic chez les enfants atteints de spondylarthrite, et à en observer l'évolution au bout de cinq ans (à compter de la première visite chez le spécialiste).

Pour mener à bien cette initiative, ils ont sélectionné quelque 180 enfants atteints de spondylarthrite juvénile, qui feront l’objet d’un contrôle exhaustif tous les six mois, afin de détecter les facteurs liés à l’évolution de la maladie, tels que les facteurs génétiques et socio-sanitaires. , les manifestations présentes au début de la condition, entre autres.

Source: Société espagnole de rhumatologie (SER)

ANEMIE | TRAITEMENT NATUREL AUX FEUILLES DE MANIOC (Août 2019).