One study has identified mutations in three genes as the most frequent in patients suffering from esophageal cancer and Barrett's esophagus, a premalignant metaplasia (change in cells or tissue) caused by chronic gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) .

The incidence of esophageal adenocarcinoma (EAC) in the United States and Europe has increased by 350 percent since 1970, due to uncertain causes. It is believed that the esophagus of Barrett (EB) Precedes adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, according to the information offered in the article describing the study, which has been published in the journal 'JAMA'.

The incidence of esophageal adenocarcinoma (EAC) in the United States and Europe has increased 350 percent since 1970, due to uncertain causes

Barrett's esophagus is a common condition, and 1 to 10 percent of cases are estimated in the population. "Finding the predisposing genes can improve the premorbid risk assessment, the genetic counseling and treatment, "the authors say.

Dr. Charis Eng, of the Cleveland Clinic, and their collaborators, conducted a study to identify the gene or genes related to a predisposition to Barrett's esophagus and adenocarcinoma of the esophagus. The research included an analysis of 21 pairs of concordant siblings (both) affected with EB / EAC and 11 pairs of discordant siblings, between 2005 and 2006.

The study also included data on 176 white patients with EB / CAD and 200 matched controls per ancestry, between 2007 and 2010. Data from 19 tissues affected by EB / EAC contributed 12 genes as priority candidates for mutation analysis.

The analyzes associated three genes, MSR1, ASCC1 Y CTHRC, with EB / EAC. According to the analysis of the 12 priority candidates, mutations were found in these three genes in 13 of the 116 patients (11.2%), with MSR1 being the most frequent mutation (approximately 7%), followed by ASCC1 and CTHRC1. "The germline findings (the cells of an individual that contain genetic material that could pass to their offspring) of the MSR1 and CTHRCl mutations were replicated in a series of independent validation," the authors write.

"These three genes together accounted for 11% of the cases, reflecting a genetic load susceptible to causing disease, from moderate to high," they write. "However, more independent studies are needed to replicate the data in other patient populations and thus confirm the conclusions."

The researchers add that future studies with a large number of individuals will be necessary to determine the usefulness of these genes and their variants in risk assessment and risk assessment. premorbid diagnosis.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Managing Eosinophilic Esophagitis – Kevin Ghassemi, MD | UCLA Digestive Diseases (November 2019).

Une étude a identifié les mutations des trois gènes les plus fréquentes chez les patients atteints de cancer de l'œsophage et de l'œsophage de Barrett, métaplasie prémaligne (changement de cellules ou de tissu) provoquée par le reflux gastro-œsophagien chronique (RGO) .

L'incidence de l'adénocarcinome oesophagien (EAC) aux États-Unis et en Europe a augmenté de 350% depuis 1970, pour des causes incertaines. On croit que le Oesophage de Barrett (EB) Précède l'adénocarcinome de l'œsophage, selon les informations fournies dans l'article décrivant l'étude, publié dans la revue 'JAMA'.

L'incidence de l'adénocarcinome oesophagien (EAC) aux États-Unis et en Europe a augmenté de 350% depuis 1970, pour des causes incertaines.

L'œsophage de Barrett est une affection courante et l'on estime que 1 à 10% des cas sont atteints dans la population. "La découverte des gènes prédisposants peut améliorer l’évaluation du risque prémorbide, la conseil génétique et traitement ", disent les auteurs.

Dr. Charis Eng, du Cleveland Clinicet leurs collaborateurs ont mené une étude visant à identifier le ou les gènes liés à une prédisposition à l'œsophage de Barrett et à l'adénocarcinome de l'œsophage. La recherche comprenait une analyse de 21 paires de frères et sœurs concordants (tous deux) affectés par l'EB / EAC et de 11 couples de frères et sœurs discordants, entre 2005 et 2006.

L'étude a également inclus des données sur 176 patients blancs atteints d'EB / CAD et 200 témoins appariés par ascendance, entre 2007 et 2010. Les données de 19 tissus affectés par EB / EAC ont fourni 12 gènes en tant que candidats prioritaires pour l'analyse de mutation.

Les analyses ont associé trois gènes, MSR1, ASCC1 et CCRHT, avec EB / EAC. Selon l'analyse des 12 candidats prioritaires, des mutations ont été trouvées dans ces trois gènes chez 13 des 116 patients (11,2%), MSR1 étant la mutation la plus fréquente (environ 7%), suivie de ASCC1 et CTHRC1. "Les découvertes de la lignée germinale (les cellules d'un individu contenant du matériel génétique pouvant être transmis à sa progéniture) des mutations MSR1 et CTHRCl ont été répliquées dans une série de validations indépendantes", écrivent les auteurs.

"Ces trois gènes réunis ont représenté 11% des cas, ce qui reflète une charge génétique susceptible de provoquer une maladie, de modérée à élevée", écrivent-ils. "Cependant, davantage d'études indépendantes sont nécessaires pour reproduire les données dans d'autres populations de patients et ainsi confirmer les conclusions."

Les chercheurs ajoutent que de futures études sur un grand nombre d'individus seront nécessaires pour déterminer l'utilité de ces gènes et de leurs variantes dans l'évaluation des risques et l'évaluation des risques. diagnostic prémorbide.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Les pneumatiques : Les conseils de nos garagistes / Top Entretien #7 (avec Denis Brogniart) (Septembre 2019).