The human papilloma virus (HPV) has increased its prevalence in Spain in recent years due to other causes, and according to a study carried out by the Catalan Institute of Oncology (ICO), the changes that have occurred in the sexual habits of the population.

According to the data obtained with this work, which is based on the analysis of a representative sample of the female population, which has included 3,200 women between 18 and 65 years of age, it is estimated that 14% of Spanish women (two million in total) are already infected by HPV, and this percentage reaches 29% when only the group of women between the ages of 18 and 25 is taken into account.

One of the factors that has contributed the most to the expansion of the virus among the youngest ones -explain the researchers-, is that the age at which they begin to have sexual intercourse and the number of sexual partners they have has also increased. Thus, while women between 56 and 65 years of age started having sex at an average of 22.7 years, those between 18 and 25 did so at 16.9 years, and 45% of them have already had between two and four sexual partners, compared to 16% of the older ones.

80% of sexually active women will be exposed to HPV at some time in their lives, hence the importance of taking prophylactic measures

HPV has many variants but in the ICO research, which has been published in the Journal of Medical Virology, the vast majority of the types of virus that were diagnosed (84%) were high-risk strains, such as HPV 16 which is considered the main responsible for the onset of cervical cancer, and which was detected most frequently.

Other types of cancer that have been associated with the presence of human papillomavirus are vagina and anus (in 80% of cases), and vulva and penis (in 40%), in addition to being directly related with the appearance of a type of carcinoma in the oral cavity, and detected in 90% of the genital warts.

Xavier Castellsagué, head of the Infection and Cancer Unit of the ICO and responsible for the study, warns that the results reveal that HPV infection, in addition to being the most common sexually transmitted disease worldwide, is also more frequent in Spain. what was thought, and calls for the extension of preventive measures, such as the vaccine against the virus, both to women between 18 and 26 years -which are not currently included in the vaccination campaign of public health-, as well as to those They are already infected.

Castellsagué has indicated that 80 percent of sexually active women will be exposed to this virus at some point in their lives, hence the importance of taking prophylactic measures. Although thanks to the action of the immune system, also eight out of ten women who come into contact with the virus will get rid of it, the rest (20%) will become chronic carriers and may in turn infect other people. In addition, around 5% of those who remain infected also run the risk of developing a pre-cancer or cancer.

Unsafe sex: women take the worst part (November 2019).

Le virus du papillome humain (VPH) a augmenté sa prévalence en Espagne ces dernières années pour d'autres raisons, et selon une étude réalisée par l'Institut catalan d'oncologie (ICO), les changements survenus dans les habitudes sexuelles des la population.

Selon les données obtenues avec ce travail, qui repose sur l’analyse d’un échantillon représentatif de la population féminine comprenant 3 200 femmes âgées de 18 à 65 ans, on estime que 14% des femmes espagnoles (deux millions au total) sont déjà infectés par le VPH et ce pourcentage atteint 29% lorsque l’on ne tient compte que du groupe des femmes âgées de 18 à 25 ans.

L’un des facteurs qui a le plus contribué à l’expansion du virus parmi les plus jeunes - expliquent les chercheurs - est que leur âge commence à rapports sexuels et le nombre de leurs partenaires sexuels a également augmenté. Ainsi, alors que les femmes entre 56 et 65 ans ont commencé à avoir des relations sexuelles à une moyenne de 22,7 ans, celles entre 18 et 25 ans l’ont fait à 16,9 ans et 45% d’entre elles ont déjà eu des rapports sexuels avec des femmes. entre deux et quatre partenaires sexuels, contre 16% des plus âgés.

80% des femmes sexuellement actives seront exposées au VPH à un moment de leur vie, d'où l'importance de prendre des mesures prophylactiques

Le VPH a de nombreuses variantes, mais dans la recherche ICO publiée dans le Journal of Medical Virology, la grande majorité des types de virus diagnostiqués (84%) étaient des souches à haut risque, telles que HPV 16. qui est considéré comme le principal responsable de l'apparition du cancer du col utérin et qui a été détecté le plus souvent.

Les autres types de cancer associés à la présence du papillomavirus humain sont le vagin et l'anus (dans 80% des cas), ainsi que la vulve et le pénis (dans 40%), en plus d'être directement liés avec l'apparition d'un type de carcinome dans la cavité buccale, et détecté dans 90% des verrues génitales.

Xavier Castellsagué, responsable de l'unité Infection et cancer de l'OIC et responsable de l'étude, a averti que les résultats révélaient que l'infection à HPV, en plus d'être la maladie transmise sexuellement la plus répandue dans le monde, était également plus fréquente en Espagne. Ce qui a été pensé et appelle à l'extension des mesures préventives, telles que le vaccin contre le virus, à la fois aux femmes âgées de 18 à 26 ans - qui ne sont pas incluses actuellement dans la campagne de vaccination de la santé publique -, ainsi qu'à celles Ils sont déjà infectés.

Castellsagué a indiqué que 80% des femmes sexuellement actives seraient exposées à ce virus à un moment de leur vie, d'où l'importance de prendre des mesures prophylactiques. Bien que grâce au système immunitaire, huit femmes sur dix qui sont en contact avec le virus s'en débarrassent, le reste (20%) deviendra un porteur chronique et pourra à son tour infecter d'autres personnes. En outre, environ 5% des personnes qui restent infectées courent également le risque de développer un pré-cancer ou un cancer.

Cómo enfrentar el cáncer desde la serenidad y la cordura por el Dr. Martí Bosch - Parte 1 (Août 2019).