The human papilloma virus (HPV), which is transmitted through sexual intercourse, is responsible for genital infections such as condylomata (a type of wart), and an important risk factor for developing cervical cancer. Now, an investigation that has been carried out in the University of Ohio, in the United States, has revealed that this virus, in addition, is behind the appearance of a type of oral carcinoma that has a significantly high prevalence among men.

The study involved more than 5,000 people between 14 and 69 years old, who answered a series of questions about their habits and carried out a test to detect the possible presence of the virus in the oral cavity. The researchers found that the incidence of oral infection caused by the papillomavirus was 10.1 percent in men, while in the case of women it was reduced to 3.6 percent. They observed that strain 16 of HPV, which is one of the most aggressive and is associated with the development of cancer of the cervix, penis, anus and vulva, was the one that appeared most frequently among those affected.

The incidence of oral infection caused by the papillomavirus was 10.1 percent in men, while in the case of women it was reduced to 3.6 percent

The job data, which has been published in Journal of the American Medical Association, show that sexual behavior is directly related to the risk of infection, since people who had had a greater number of sexual partners were more likely to be infected with the virus, which also increased with the use of tobacco that, together with Alcohol intake has always been considered an important risk factor for developing oral cancer.

Based on the results of the study, the authors conclude that new research is necessary to implement strategies for the prevention and early detection of this type of infection that, also in Europe, is increasing its incidence. The experts recommend to the population to take extreme precautions to prevent sexually transmitted diseases, and go to the doctor when there is a lesion in the oral cavity that is not cured, or an aphonia that lasts for no reason.

Oral cancer and HPV (November 2019).

Le virus du papillome humain (VPH), qui est transmis lors de rapports sexuels, est responsable d'infections génitales telles que les condylomes (un type de verrue) et d'un facteur de risque important du cancer du col de l'utérus. À présent, une enquête menée à l’Université de l’Ohio, aux États-Unis, a révélé que ce virus était en outre à l’origine de l’apparition d’un type de carcinome oral à prévalence significative chez les hommes.

L'étude a impliqué plus de 5 000 personnes âgées de 14 à 69 ans, qui ont répondu à une série de questions sur leurs habitudes et effectué un test visant à détecter la présence possible du virus dans la cavité buccale. Les chercheurs ont constaté que l'incidence d'infection buccale causée par le papillomavirus était de 10,1% chez les hommes, alors qu'elle a été réduite de 3,6% chez les femmes. Ils ont observé que la souche 16 de HPV, l'une des plus agressives et associée au développement d'un cancer du col de l'utérus, du pénis, de l'anus et de la vulve, était celle qui apparaissait le plus fréquemment parmi les personnes touchées.

L’incidence des infections buccales dues au papillomavirus était de 10,1% chez les hommes, alors qu’elle a été réduite à 3,6% chez les femmes.

Les données sur les emplois, qui ont été publiées dans Journal de l'American Medical Association, montrent que le comportement sexuel est directement lié au risque d’infection, car les personnes qui avaient eu un plus grand nombre de partenaires sexuels étaient plus susceptibles d’être infectées par le virus, qui augmentait également avec la consommation de tabac. La consommation d'alcool a toujours été considérée comme un facteur de risque important du cancer de la bouche.

Sur la base des résultats de l’étude, les auteurs concluent qu’une nouvelle recherche est nécessaire pour mettre en œuvre des stratégies de prévention et de détection précoce de ce type d’infection qui, en Europe également, augmente son incidence. Les experts recommandent à la population de prendre des mesures de précaution extrêmes pour prévenir les maladies sexuellement transmissibles et de consulter un médecin en cas de lésion de la cavité buccale non soignée ou d'aphonie qui ne dure pas sans raison.

5 cancers sexuellement transmissibles, les symptômes à connaître, les traitements et le diagnostic (Août 2019).