In Europe about four million people annually acquire nosocomial infections, that is, infections during their hospital stay, which cause about 37,000 deaths and, according to estimates of the World Health Organization (WHO), in addition to the high human cost, these Infections represent an expense for public health systems of 80,000 million dollars worldwide.

A study conducted in the United States, whose results have been presented at the First International Conference of the World Health Organization on Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases (ICPIC), has proven that the use of surfaces antimicrobial copper in the rooms of the intensive care units reduces the risk of acquiring an infection during the hospital stay by 40%.

The use of antimicrobial copper surfaces in intensive care units reduces the risk of acquiring an infection during hospital stay by 40%

The objective of the study, funded by the US Department of Defense, was to determine the effectiveness of antimicrobial copper in reducing the level of pathogens in hospital rooms, and to what extent that reduction would result in lower infection rates.

The hospitals that participated in the project are the Sloan Kettering Cancer Center of New York, the Medical University Hospital of South Carolina (MUSC) and the Ralph H. Johnson Medical Center, both in Charleston.

In these centers, the researchers replaced the objects that are touched more frequently, such as bed bars, folding trays, call buttons and porters, by others made of antimicrobial copper. The rooms with antimicrobial copper objects showed a 97% reduction of the pathogens on their surface, the same level that is reached when an intensive cleaning of the room is carried out after a patient abandons it.

The vice president of Council of Microbiology and Immunology in the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC)Michael Schmidt, who has presented the data in the ICPIC, states that the bacteria present in the contact surfaces of an ICU room are responsible for between 35 and 80 percent of the infections of the patients, which demonstrates the importance of take care of hygiene".

"The copper objects used in the clinical trial, complementing the cleaning protocols, decreased the levels of microbes and significantly reduced the number of infections contracted by patients in the ICU rooms," he points out.

Tests from independent laboratories have shown that, when cleaned regularly, antimicrobial copper products eliminate more than 99.9% of microorganisms, including antibiotic-resistant bacteria, such as MRSA or ERV, and other serious bacteria. infections, such as Clostridium difficile.

Antimicrobial copper has also been shown to be effective against pathogenic fungi and viruses such as the so-called influenza A. Copper and about 300 copper alloys are the only solid materials that have been registered with the United States Environmental Protection Agency as capable to eliminate disease-causing organisms.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Disease! Crash Course World History 203 (November 2019).

En Europe, environ quatre millions de personnes contractent chaque année des infections nosocomiales, à savoir des infections au cours de leur séjour à l’hôpital, qui causent environ 37 000 décès et, selon les estimations de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), ces coûts sont élevés. Les infections représentent une dépense pour les systèmes de santé publique de 80 000 millions de dollars dans le monde.

Une étude menée aux États-Unis, dont les résultats ont été présentés à la première conférence internationale de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé sur Prévention et contrôle des maladies infectieuses (ICPIC), a prouvé que l'utilisation de surfaces cuivre antimicrobien dans les chambres des unités de soins intensifs réduit de 40% le risque de contracter une infection pendant le séjour à l'hôpital.

L'utilisation de surfaces de cuivre antimicrobiennes dans les unités de soins intensifs réduit de 40% le risque de contracter une infection pendant le séjour à l'hôpital

L’étude, financée par le département américain de la Défense, avait pour objectif de déterminer l’efficacité du cuivre antimicrobien dans la réduction du nombre de pathogènes dans les chambres d’hôpital et dans quelle mesure cette réduction entraînerait une réduction des taux d’infection.

Les hôpitaux qui ont participé au projet sont le Sloan Kettering Cancer Center de New York, le Medical University Hospital de Caroline du Sud (MUSC) et le Ralph H. Johnson Medical Center, tous deux situés à Charleston.

Dans ces centres, les chercheurs ont remplacé les objets touchés plus fréquemment, tels que les barreaux de lit, les plateaux rabattables, les boutons d'appel et les porteurs, par d'autres en cuivre antimicrobien. Les pièces contenant des objets en cuivre antimicrobiens présentaient une réduction de 97% des agents pathogènes sur leur surface, niveau identique à celui atteint lorsqu'un nettoyage intensif de la pièce est effectué après qu'un patient l'ait abandonné.

Le vice-président de Conseil de microbiologie et immunologie dans la Université médicale de Caroline du Sud (MUSC)Michael Schmidt, qui a présenté les données dans ICPIC, a déclaré que les bactéries présentes dans les surfaces de contact d'une salle de soins intensifs sont responsables de 35 à 80% des infections des patients, ce qui démontre l'importance de prendre soin de l'hygiène".

"Les objets en cuivre utilisés dans l'essai clinique, en complément des protocoles de nettoyage, ont réduit les niveaux de microbes et considérablement le nombre d'infections contractées par les patients dans les salles de soins intensifs", a-t-il souligné.

Des tests effectués par des laboratoires indépendants ont montré que, lorsqu'ils sont nettoyés régulièrement, les produits antimicrobiens à base de cuivre éliminent plus de 99,9% des micro-organismes, y compris les bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques, telles que SARM ou ERV, ainsi que d'autres bactéries graves. infections, telles que Clostridium difficile.

Le cuivre antimicrobien s’est également révélé efficace contre les champignons et les virus pathogènes tels que l’influenza A. Le cuivre et environ 300 alliages de cuivre sont les seuls matériaux solides homologués par la United States Environmental Protection Agency éliminer les organismes pathogènes.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Dangers de l'Aluminium des Vaccins : L'ALU TOTAL ! --- [ENGLISH SUBTITLES] (Août 2019).