The report "Situation of the AIDS epidemic 2009" published by the Joint United Nations Program on HIV / AIDS and the World Health Organization (WHO) reveals that the number of new infections due to the AIDS virus (HIV) ) has decreased worldwide by 17% in the last eight years.

In addition, the report highlights that HIV prevention programs are achieving positive results. In sub-Saharan Africa, cases of HIV infection have been reduced by approximately 15%, which translates to 400,000 fewer infections in 2008. In the same period, in eastern and southern Asia these cases have decreased by about 25% and 10% respectively. In Eastern Europe, the epidemic is relatively stable, despite a significant increase in the number of new infections, especially those caused by injectable drugs.

In some countries, however, there are indications that point to a further increase in the incidence of the virus.

The investigations continue in the areas of pharmacological treatment and in the development of a vaccine. Unfortunately, HIV medications are not always available in developing countries, where the magnitude of the epidemic is much greater.

#Never2Early (STD/HIV Awareness) (MoneOnDaBeat) (November 2019).

Le rapport "Situation de l'épidémie de sida 2009" publié par le Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH / sida et l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) révèle que le nombre de nouvelles infections dues au virus du sida (VIH) ) a diminué de 17% dans le monde au cours des huit dernières années.

En outre, le rapport souligne que les programmes de prévention du VIH donnent des résultats positifs. En Afrique subsaharienne, les cas d’infection à VIH ont été réduits d’environ 15%, soit 400 000 infections de moins en 2008. Au cours de la même période, ces cas ont diminué d’environ 25% en Asie orientale et méridionale. 10% respectivement. En Europe orientale, l’épidémie est relativement stable, malgré une augmentation significative du nombre de nouvelles infections, en particulier celles causées par des drogues injectables.

Dans certains pays, cependant, certains signes laissent présager une nouvelle augmentation de l’incidence du virus.

Les recherches se poursuivent dans les domaines du traitement pharmacologique et de la mise au point d’un vaccin. Malheureusement, les médicaments contre le VIH ne sont pas toujours disponibles dans les pays en développement, où l'ampleur de l'épidémie est beaucoup plus grande.

What Does a Low White Blood Cell Count Mean? (Août 2019).