In June of 1884, Freud wrote an essay on cocaine called Über Coca, where the origin and use that the South American Indians made of this substance was related.

It was Sigmund Freud, better known as "the father of psychoanalysis", the first to discover the properties of this drug, both its exciting and energetic characteristics, and its medical use in the form of a local anesthetic. Although, finally it was not Freud who achieved fame with this discovery but one of his co-workers.

At that time Freud was starting to use cocaine, but he never became addicted to it. He also offered it to his friends, brothers, and even his girlfriend Martha. When he later began to realize the toxic effects of this drug, due among other things, the death of a friend of his for cocaine addiction, began to retract the good publicity he was making of it, accepting then, as only possible application, the medical one.

Freud and Koller were 28 and 26 years old respectively when they worked at the General Hospital in Vienna as ophthalmologists. Both were very eager to have a name and fame, thus being able to obtain a more comfortable economic position. Thus, Freud could marry his girlfriend Martha and Koller be appointed head of the hospital's ophthalmology service.

Freud already knew the possible applications as an anesthetic that had the cocaine but did not have time to continue experimenting. He left his professional career aside to start a new life with his girlfriend. It was then that he asked his friend, ophthalmologist Leopold Köningstein, to investigate these properties, so that it could be used as an ocular anesthetic. Leopold had several failed attempts, so he left, going on vacation.

It was then when Koller, knowing already of the publication of Freud, began to investigate knowing that the cocaine would serve to anesthetize the eye. First he practiced with a frog, then with rabbits, dogs, with friends and even with himself. Proving that the cocaine dissolved in water was capable of anesthetizing the eye.

Aware of the finding, he wrote a paper for the Ophthalmological Congress, causing a huge sensation.

When Freud and Köningstein returned from their vacations and found out what had happened, they only regret not having stayed to try it more times. For his part, Freud would reproach his and his wife Martha for having distracted him from his main role.

All this led Freud to great disappointment at not having achieved it. But at that time, he still did not know that he would later be known as the father of psychoanalysis, a therapy that would point to the whole momentum of twentieth-century psychiatry and psychology.

COKE | The History & Truth of Cocaine (November 2019).

En juin 1884, Freud écrivit un essai sur la cocaïne intitulé Über Coca, où l’origine et l’utilisation que les Indiens de l’Amérique du Sud faisaient de cette substance étaient liées.

Il a été Sigmund Freud, mieux connu sous le nom de "père de la psychanalyse", a été le premier à découvrir les propriétés de ce médicament, ses caractéristiques à la fois excitantes et énergétiques, et son utilisation médicale sous forme d'anesthésique local. Bien que, finalement, ce ne soit pas Freud qui soit devenu célèbre grâce à cette découverte, mais l’un de ses collègues.

A cette époque, Freud commençait à consommer de la cocaïne, mais il n'y est jamais devenu accro. Il l'a également offert à ses amis, à ses frères et même à sa petite amie, Martha. Quand il a commencé à se rendre compte plus tard des effets toxiques de cette drogue, en raison, entre autres, de la mort d'un de ses amis pour dépendance à la cocaïne, il a commencé à retirer sa bonne publicité, en acceptant seule application possible, celle médicale.

Freud et Koller avaient respectivement 28 et 26 ans lorsqu'ils travaillaient comme ophtalmologistes à l'Hôpital général de Vienne. Tous deux étaient très désireux d'avoir un nom et une renommée, ce qui leur permettait d'obtenir une position économique plus confortable. Ainsi, Freud pourrait épouser sa petite amie Martha et Koller sera nommé responsable du service d'ophtalmologie de l'hôpital.

Freud connaissait déjà les applications possibles en tant qu'anesthésique contenant de la cocaïne mais n'avait pas le temps de continuer à expérimenter. Il a laissé sa carrière professionnelle de côté pour commencer une nouvelle vie avec sa petite amie. C'est à ce moment-là qu'il a demandé à son ami, l'ophtalmologiste Leopold Köningstein, d'étudier ces propriétés afin de pouvoir l'utiliser comme anesthésique oculaire. Léopold a eu plusieurs tentatives infructueuses, il est donc parti en vacances.

C’est alors que Koller, connaissant déjà la publication de Freud, a commencé à enquêter en sachant que la cocaïne servirait à anesthésier l’œil. Il a d'abord pratiqué avec une grenouille, puis avec des lapins, des chiens, avec des amis et même avec lui-même. Prouver que la cocaïne dissoute dans l'eau était capable d'anesthésier l'œil.

Conscient de cette découverte, il a écrit un article pour le Congrès ophtalmologique, provoquant une sensation énorme.

Lorsque Freud et Köningstein sont revenus de leurs vacances et ont découvert ce qui s'était passé, ils regrettent seulement de ne pas être restés pour l'essayer plusieurs fois. De son côté, Freud reprocherait à sa femme Martha de l’avoir distrait de son rôle principal.

Tout cela a amené Freud à une grande déception de ne pas l'avoir réalisé. Mais à ce moment-là, il ne savait toujours pas qu'il serait plus tard reconnu comme le père de la psychanalyse, une thérapie qui indiquerait tout le dynamisme de la psychiatrie et de la psychologie du XXe siècle.

Quand la coca devient cocaïne (Août 2019).