The history of chocolate goes back several cultures. That we have knowledge, everything started on July 30, 1502, when Christopher Columbus It was found in front of the island of Guanajo, in the vicinity of Central America. An impressive canoe with an Aztec chief on board approached them; offering to the small squad of four caravels weapons, luxurious fabrics and striking almonds. Before the curiosity of Colon and his, the Aztecs explained that these constituted the currency of the country, also used to make a drink much appreciated by the Indians

Christopher Columbus and his crew left for Europe, without realizing that what they had in their hands were "cocoa beans", From which the chocolate came out.

Seventeen years later Hernán Cortés undertook the conquest of Mexico. What was his surprise, when he was just disembarking to start the fight and surprised them with a spectacular reception. Believing that Hernán Cortés was the reincarnation of Quetzacoatl (a godless god who left the country announcing his return some day), the emperor Moctezuma covered them with riches; among others, he highlighted the actual plantation of cocoa trees, whose beans were also used as coins.

Cultivation of chocolate

The cultivation of chocolate could be summarized in the following stages:

  • Treatment of beans.
  • Storage.
  • Cleaning.
  • Roasting or roasting (it is a delicate and important process).
  • Trituration.
  • Mixed.
  • Grinding.

In the last stage, a paste is obtained, which will follow two paths: either it will be used to produce cocoa powder (which is used to make chocolate drinks, ice cream, desserts and pastries), or chocolate (such as chocolates, tablets, etc).

Nutritional value of chocolate

Chocolate contains nutrients that are very beneficial for the body.

Chocolate contains very beneficial nutrients for the body, and is associated with feelings of well-being and improved mood.

It contains a high energetic power: the cocoa contributes almost almost 300 calories by each 100 grams and the chocolate, in function of its composition, provides between 450 and 600 calories. It is a food rich in fats, carbohydrates and proteins, vitamins A, E, B1, B6; and minerals such as sodium, potassium, calcium, phosphorus, iron and magnesium. In addition, if milk is added to chocolate, the calcium intake increases markedly.

Being essentially of vegetable origin, what is the fatty body of chocolate has a low cholesterol. For this reason, it is an excellent food for those people whose work supposes a physical exhaustion and for athletes.

The history of chocolate - Deanna Pucciarelli (November 2019).

L'histoire du chocolat remonte à plusieurs cultures. Que nous ayons connaissance, tout a commencé le 30 juillet 1502, quand Christophe Colomb Il a été trouvé devant l'île de Guanajo, à proximité de l'Amérique centrale. Un impressionnant canot avec un chef aztèque à bord les a approchés; offrant à la petite escouade de quatre caravelles des armes, des tissus luxueux et des amandes saisissantes. Devant la curiosité de Colon et des siens, les Aztèques ont expliqué qu'ils constituaient la monnaie du pays, également utilisée pour fabriquer une boisson très appréciée des Indiens.

Christophe Colomb et son équipage sont partis pour l'Europe sans se rendre compte que ce qu'ils avaient entre les mains était "fèves de cacao", Dont le chocolat est sorti.

Dix-sept ans plus tard, Hernán Cortés entreprit la conquête du Mexique. Quelle a été sa surprise, alors qu'il venait de débarquer pour commencer le combat et les a surpris avec une réception spectaculaire. Croyant que Hernán Cortés était la réincarnation de Quetzacoatl (un dieu sans Dieu qui quitta le pays en annonçant son retour un jour), l'empereur Moctezuma les recouvrit de richesses; il a notamment souligné la plantation actuelle de cacaoyers, dont les fèves étaient également utilisées comme pièces de monnaie.

Culture du chocolat

La culture du chocolat pourrait se résumer aux étapes suivantes:

  • Traitement des haricots.
  • Stockage
  • Nettoyage
  • Rôtir ou rôtir (c'est un processus délicat et important).
  • Écrasement
  • Mixte
  • Broyage

Dans la dernière étape, on obtient une pâte qui suivra deux chemins: soit elle sera utilisée pour produire du cacao en poudre (qui sert à faire des boissons au chocolat, des glaces, des desserts et des pâtisseries), ou du chocolat (comme des chocolats, des tablettes, etc.) etc)

Valeur nutritive du chocolat

Le chocolat contient des nutriments très bénéfiques pour le corps.

Le chocolat contient des nutriments très bénéfiques pour le corps et est associé à des sentiments de bien-être et à une amélioration de l'humeur.

Il contient un pouvoir énergétique élevé: le cacao apporte près de 300 calories par 100 grammes et le chocolat, en fonction de sa composition, fournit entre 450 et 600 calories. C'est un aliment riche en graisses, glucides et protéines, vitamines A, E, B1, B6; et des minéraux tels que le sodium, le potassium, le calcium, le phosphore, le fer et le magnésium. De plus, si du chocolat est ajouté au chocolat, l'apport en calcium augmente considérablement.

Essentiellement d’origine végétale, le corps gras du chocolat a un taux de cholestérol bas. Pour cette raison, c'est un excellent aliment pour les personnes dont le travail suppose un épuisement physique et pour les sportifs.

Barry Callebaut - L'histoire du cacao et du chocolat (Août 2019).