An investigation carried out by the National Center for Oncological Research (CNIO) and the Research Institute of the Hospital del Mar (IMIM), with the collaboration of North American scientists, has concluded that the presence of high levels of certain metals in the Organisms, such as selenium and nickel, can reduce the risk of developing pancreatic cancer, while other substances, such as lead, cadmium and arsenic, have the opposite effect, that is, they increase the chances of suffering from this pathology.

Selenium is a micronutrient present in foods such as fish, bread or cereals, skin of potatoes, some meats, lentils or eggs .. For its part, nickel can be found either in canned foods or ready meals in utensils bathed in nickel, or in foods such as cabbage, corn, tomatoes, herrings, cacacuetes, raisins, onions, spinach, peas, cocoa or tea.

The researchers analyzed the concentrations of certain heavy metals, minerals and metalloids (12 elements in total) in the nails of 118 people diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and in another 400 patients admitted to the hospital, but who did not suffer from the disease.

Patients with high concentrations of selenium and nickel had between 33 and 95 percent less chance of suffering from this deadly disease

The study showed that the risk of developing pancreatic cancer was up to six times higher in those individuals who had the highest levels of lead, and two to three times higher in those who had higher levels of cadmium and arsenic. In contrast, patients with high concentrations of selenium and nickel had between 33 and 95 percent less chance of suffering from this deadly disease, as explained by the director of work, Núria Malats, who belongs to the group of genetic and molecular epidemiology of the CNIO.

Previous studies had already associated selenium with a lower risk of developing several types of cancer. In fact, this element has the ability to neutralize the harmful effects of lead, arsenic and cadmium, a substance present in tobacco and considered carcinogenic.

To reach these conclusions, scientists also took into account factors such as smoking (associated with a third of cases of pancreatic cancer), overweight or diabetes.

Trace Element Levels Can Raise or Reduce Pancreatic Cancer Risk (November 2019).

Une enquête menée par le Centre national de recherche oncologique (CNIO) et l'Institut de recherche de l'Hôpital del Mar (IMIM), en collaboration avec des scientifiques nord-américains, a conclu que la présence de niveaux élevés de certains métaux dans le Des organismes, tels que le sélénium et le nickel, peuvent réduire le risque de cancer du pancréas, tandis que d'autres substances, telles que le plomb, le cadmium et l'arsenic, ont l'effet inverse: elles augmentent les risques de souffrir de cette pathologie.

Le sélénium est un micronutriment présent dans des aliments tels que le poisson, le pain ou les céréales, la peau de pomme de terre, certaines viandes, les lentilles ou les œufs. Pour sa part, le nickel peut être trouvé dans les conserves ou les plats préparés. dans des ustensiles baignant dans du nickel, ou dans des aliments tels que chou, maïs, tomates, harengs, cacacuètes, raisins secs, oignons, épinards, pois, cacao ou thé.

Les chercheurs ont analysé les concentrations de certains métaux lourds, minéraux et métalloïdes (12 éléments au total) dans les ongles de 118 personnes diagnostiquées d'un cancer du pancréas et de 400 autres patients admis à l'hôpital, mais n'ayant pas souffert de la maladie.

Les patients présentant des concentrations élevées de sélénium et de nickel avaient entre 33 et 95% moins de risques de souffrir de cette maladie mortelle.

L'étude a montré que le risque de développer un cancer du pancréas était jusqu'à six fois plus élevé chez les individus présentant les concentrations de plomb les plus élevées et deux à trois fois plus élevé chez les personnes présentant des taux de cadmium et d'arsenic supérieurs. En revanche, les patients présentant des concentrations élevées de sélénium et de nickel avaient entre 33 et 95% moins de chances de souffrir de cette maladie mortelle, comme l'explique la directrice du travail, Núria Malats, qui appartient au groupe d'épidémiologie génétique et moléculaire. du CNIO.

Des études antérieures avaient déjà associé le sélénium à un risque moins élevé de développer plusieurs types de cancer. En fait, cet élément a la capacité de neutraliser les effets nocifs du plomb, de l'arsenic et du cadmium, une substance présente dans le tabac et considérée comme cancérogène.

Pour parvenir à ces conclusions, les scientifiques ont également pris en compte des facteurs tels que le tabagisme (associé à un tiers des cas de cancer du pancréas), le surpoids ou le diabète.

8 Surprising Health Benefits of Eating Broccoli Every Day (Août 2019).