Two new strains of H5N1 virus (responsible for bird flu) that have been created in the laboratory have the ability to transmit more quickly to humans. As a preventive measure against the possibility that they could fall into the hands of inadequate people who could use them as biological weapons, the National Advisory Board for Science for Biosafety (NSABB) of the United States has requested scientific journals Science Y Nature that they do not disseminate all the data related to the development of said strains.

Those responsible for the publications do not agree with this measure because it would veto access to information to researchers who, in their opinion, should know all the details about those studies that may contribute to improving public health. However, the National Institute of Health has communicated its support to the decision of the NSABB, although it has explained that the Government intends to provide scientists with access to the censored information.

The National Institute of Health has explained that the Government intends to provide scientists with access to censored information

Bruce Alberts, editor-in-chief of Science, has pointed out that the journal's response to NSABB's request to hide the details of the study regarding virus mutations and other relevant information will depend on the attitude of the Government, and whether it finally commits in writing to provide these data to all those scientists who request it in order to protect the population and improve their health.

For his part, the editor-in-chief of Nature, Philip Campbell, has stated that it is imperative that all researchers who study influenza viruses know the work of their colleagues if we want to continue advancing in the improvement of public health.

Larry Brilliant Speaks About Bird Flu at Google (November 2019).

Deux nouvelles souches de Virus H5N1 (responsables de la grippe aviaire) créés en laboratoire ont la capacité de transmettre plus rapidement aux humains. En tant que mesure préventive contre le risque de tomber entre les mains de personnes insuffisantes qui pourraient les utiliser comme armes biologiques, le Comité consultatif national sur la science pour la biosécurité (NSABB) des États-Unis a demandé des revues scientifiques Science et La nature qu'ils ne diffusent pas toutes les données relatives au développement desdites souches.

Les responsables des publications ne sont pas d'accord avec cette mesure car elle opposerait un veto à l'accès à l'information des chercheurs qui, à leur avis, devraient connaître tous les détails des études susceptibles de contribuer à l'amélioration de la santé publique. Cependant, l'Institut national de la santé a fait savoir qu'il soutenait la décision du NSABB, bien qu'il ait expliqué que le gouvernement avait l'intention de fournir aux scientifiques l'accès aux informations censurées.

L'Institut national de la santé a expliqué que le gouvernement avait l'intention de fournir aux scientifiques l'accès à des informations censurées

Bruce Alberts, rédacteur en chef de Science, a souligné que la réponse du journal à la demande du NSABB de cacher les détails de l'étude sur les mutations du virus et d'autres informations pertinentes dépendra de l'attitude du gouvernement et de la décision de celui-ci de fournir par écrit données à tous les scientifiques qui le demandent afin de protéger la population et d’améliorer leur santé.

Pour sa part, le rédacteur en chef de La naturePhilip Campbell a déclaré qu'il était impératif que tous les chercheurs qui étudient les virus de la grippe connaissent le travail de leurs collègues si nous voulons continuer à progresser dans l'amélioration de la santé publique.

Savings and Loan Crisis: Explained, Summary, Timeline, Bailout, Finance, Cost, History (Août 2019).