Michael Houghton, who discovered the hepatitis C virus, says that in about five years the vaccine for this disease will be ready thanks to the studies developed since its discovery. Houghton recently noted that today around 170 million people worldwide are infected with this virus.

The discovery of the Hepatitis C virus, 20 years ago, has allowed the development of tests that detect its presence in the blood to ensure that donations and transfusions are safe.

The treatment currently used against the disease achieves the healing of 50% of the patients, and in Europe and the United States only 15% of the patients recovered completely. The new treatment consists of the combination of two drugs (interferon alfa and ribavirin), still under study. If confirmed, it is expected that the cure rate will reach 70%, and that the periods in which treatment is followed will be shorter.

Hepatitis C virus (HCV)

Discovered in 1989, the virus is found mainly in the liver and blood. The virus enters the body, and through the blood reaches the liver. The body's response to the infection of hepatocytes (liver cells) with HCV produces a liver inflammation called "acute hepatitis".

If this inflammatory reaction continues it begins to damage the liver tissue itself becoming "chronic hepatitis". The main contagion occurs by contact with the blood of an infected person.

Hep C Diagnostic Summit 2016 - Session V - Afternoon (November 2019).

Michael Houghton, qui a découvert le virus de l'hépatite C, affirme que dans environ cinq ans, le vaccin contre cette maladie sera prêt grâce aux études développées depuis sa découverte. Houghton a récemment noté qu'aujourd'hui environ 170 millions de personnes dans le monde sont infectées par ce virus.

La découverte du virus de l'hépatite C il y a 20 ans a permis la mise au point de tests permettant de détecter sa présence dans le sang afin de garantir la sécurité des dons et des transfusions.

Le traitement actuellement utilisé contre la maladie permet de guérir 50% des patients. En Europe et aux États-Unis, seuls 15% des patients se sont complètement rétablis. Le nouveau traitement consiste en l'association de deux médicaments (interféron alpha et ribavirine), toujours à l'étude. En cas de confirmation, le taux de guérison devrait atteindre 70% et les périodes de traitement suivies seront plus courtes.

Virus de l'hépatite C (VHC)

Découvert en 1989, le virus se trouve principalement dans le foie et le sang. Le virus pénètre dans le corps et atteint le foie par le sang. La réponse du corps à l'infection par le VHC des hépatocytes (cellules du foie) provoque une inflammation du foie appelée "hépatite aiguë".

Si cette réaction inflammatoire se poursuit, elle commence à endommager le tissu hépatique lui-même en "hépatite chronique". La principale contagion se produit par contact avec le sang d'une personne infectée.

Grande campagne de vaccination en Somalie - science (Août 2019).