An alteration in the interleukin 28B gene allows determining the ability of an individual to fight the hepatitis C virus, both spontaneously and after receiving antiviral treatment.

Hepatitis C is a disease that affects almost 200 million people around the world. In Spain, its incidence ranges between 800,000 and 900,000 people. Although the percentage of patients who have cured of the infection has increased significantly in the last ten years, the disease tends to become chronic very frequently, even in those patients who have been treated correctly. In these cases, liver damage can progress and cause more serious conditions such as cirrhosis or cancer in 5-25% of cases. However, advances in the research of new drugs will facilitate the eradication of the virus because, as stated by Dr. Ricard Solà, head of the Hepatology Section of the Hospital del Mar in Barcelona, "Unlike other viruses, hepatitis C can be cured".

The new and better treatments that are already available today, such as the combination of pegylated interferon + ribavirin, have made it possible to increase "Cure rates of 6-12%, in the 90's, to 66-70% at present", as the specialist indicates. However, the prognosis of those affected has improved even more thanks to a new discovery that will allow predicting the healing possibilities of patients, even before starting treatment.

Until now, multiple factors were known that influenced the healing possibilities of patients with hepatitis C: some who depend on the virus (such as viral load and genotype) and others of the patient himself (the degree of liver damage: fibrosis and metabolic disorders). ). "Analyzing the distribution of these factors, the possibilities of cure vary from 0-10% to 90-100%", explains Dr. Manuel Romero, head of the Digestive Service of the Valme Hospital in Seville.

With these data, the treatment of the disease already tended towards individualization taking into account the differential characteristics according to the possibilities of cure. "But a new factor has changed the history of hepatitis C. The appearance of a single genetic alteration on chromosome 19, in the gene of interleukin 28B, allows us to classify the healing possibilities of a person"says Dr. Romero. "Each of us is born with a genotype in interleukin 28B that allows us to catalog, genetically, the susceptibility and capacity of the organism to defend itself against hepatitis C virus, both spontaneously and after receiving antiviral treatment. Therefore, its analysis determines whether or not you have a predisposition to heal. ", Add.

This review shows the important role of the set of prognostic factors and the need for their analysis to determine which patients should start treatment with therapy (pegylated interferon alfa-2a + Ribavirin) and who should wait for triple therapy. "This technique - Dr. Solá adds - will allow us to select patients who can be cured with interferon plus ribavirin without the need to wait for triple treatment, as the new molecules are effective but apparently will raise the total cost of the treatment. therapy and have side effects that are difficult to manage. The new therapeutic options will offer a very valid alternative; however, it would be a mistake to create false expectations since the benefits-costs and the increase in side effects should be taken into account ".

Alternatives available

Using the most appropriate method based on the response of each patient is the best option available, since it decreases health costs and side effects suffered by patients. "There are people who need "Short treatment", that can last up to 6 months, and that supposes a smaller cost for the National System of Health when being indicated a standard therapy without that this diminishes the probabilities of curing of the illness ", argues Dr. Juan Turnes, medical hepatologist of the Hospital Complex of Pontevedra. "On the other hand, for those patients with greater resistance to treatment, where the virus slowly decreases, it has been proven that its prolongation up to year, year and a half, can mean the cure", adds the expert.

Taking this situation into account and analyzing the current treatment options, it is necessary to look for the most cost-effective strategy to combat hepatitis C. A recent pharmaco-economic study carried out in Spain shows that the combination of pegylated interferon alfa-2a and ribavirin Not only is it more effective, but also less expensive compared to peginterferon alfa-2b plus ribavirin.

"Scientific evidence showed that patients treated with pegylated interferon alfa-2a are 11% more likely to achieve sustained viral response (cure) than those treated with pegylated interferon alfa-2b", says Dr. Turnes. This treatment offers greater benefits, "Both in terms of efficiency, speaking of years of life adjusted for quality of life, as in cost savings", adds the specialist. "So much so," Dr. Turnes continues, "that we can affirm that you can achieve savings of between 700 and 1,900 euros per patient, depending on the genotype of C virus.".

There are great expectations for the future regarding hepatitis C since "There are around 12 molecules in advanced development that can help us achieve cure rates of 80/85% of patients"concludes Dr. Solà.

Hepatitis C and the Cure (November 2019).

Une altération du gène de l'interleukine 28B permet de déterminer la capacité d'un individu à combattre le virus de l'hépatite C, à la fois spontanément et après avoir reçu un traitement antiviral.

L'hépatite C est une maladie qui touche près de 200 millions de personnes dans le monde. En Espagne, son incidence varie entre 800 000 et 900 000 personnes. Bien que le pourcentage de patients ayant guéri de l'infection ait considérablement augmenté au cours des dix dernières années, la maladie a tendance à devenir chronique très fréquemment, même chez les patients qui ont été traités correctement. Dans ces cas, les lésions hépatiques peuvent progresser et causer des affections plus graves telles que la cirrhose ou le cancer dans 5 à 25% des cas. Toutefois, les progrès dans la recherche de nouveaux médicaments faciliteront l’éradication du virus car, comme l’a déclaré le Dr Ricard Solà, chef de la section d'hépatologie de l'Hôpital del Mar à Barcelone, "Contrairement à d'autres virus, l'hépatite C peut être guérie".

Les nouveaux et meilleurs traitements déjà disponibles aujourd'hui, tels que l'association interféron pégylé + ribavirine, ont permis d'augmenter "Taux de guérison de 6-12%, dans les années 90, à 66-70% à l'heure actuelle", comme l'indique le spécialiste. Cependant, le pronostic des personnes affectées s'est encore amélioré grâce à une nouvelle découverte qui permettra de prédire les possibilités de guérison des patients, même avant le début du traitement.

Jusqu'à présent, on connaissait de nombreux facteurs qui influaient sur les possibilités de guérison des patients atteints d'hépatite C: certains dépendaient du virus (tels que la charge virale et le génotype) et d'autres du patient lui-même (degré d'atteinte du foie: fibrose et troubles métaboliques). ) "En analysant la distribution de ces facteurs, les possibilités de guérison varient de 0-10% à 90-100%"explique le Dr Manuel Romero, responsable du service de digestion de l'hôpital Valme à Séville.

Avec ces données, le traitement de la maladie tend déjà à l'individualisation en tenant compte des caractéristiques différentielles en fonction des possibilités de guérison. "Mais un nouveau facteur a changé l'histoire de l'hépatite C. L'apparition d'une seule modification génétique sur le chromosome 19, dans le gène de l'interleukine 28B, nous permet de classifier les possibilités de guérison d'une personne"dit le Dr Romero. "Chacun de nous est né avec un génotype dans l'interleukine 28B qui nous permet de répertorier génétiquement la susceptibilité et la capacité de l'organisme à se défendre contre le virus de l'hépatite C, à la fois spontanément et après un traitement antiviral. Par conséquent, son analyse détermine si vous avez ou non une prédisposition à guérir. ", ajoute-t-il.

Cette revue montre le rôle important de l'ensemble des facteurs pronostiques et la nécessité de leur analyse pour déterminer quels patients devraient commencer le traitement par thérapie (interféron pégylé alfa-2a + ribavirine) et qui devrait attendre la trithérapie. "Cette technique - ajoute le Dr Solá - nous permettra de sélectionner des patients pouvant être traités à l'aide d'interféron et de ribavirine sans avoir à attendre un triple traitement, car les nouvelles molécules sont efficaces mais augmentent apparemment le coût total du traitement. traitement et ont des effets secondaires difficiles à gérer. Les nouvelles options thérapeutiques offriront une alternative très valable; toutefois, ce serait une erreur de créer de fausses attentes, car il faudrait tenir compte des avantages et des coûts et de l'augmentation des effets secondaires. ".

Alternatives disponibles

L'utilisation de la méthode la plus appropriée en fonction de la réponse de chaque patient est la meilleure option disponible, car elle réduit les coûts de santé et les effets secondaires subis par les patients. "Il y a des gens qui ont besoin "Traitement court", cela peut durer jusqu’à 6 mois, et cela suppose un coût moindre pour le système national de santé lorsqu’il est indiqué un traitement standard, sans que cela diminue les probabilités de guérison de la maladie ", déclare le Dr Juan Turnes, hépatologue médical du complexe hospitalier de Pontevedra. "D'autre part, pour les patients présentant une résistance accrue au traitement, où le virus diminue lentement, il a été prouvé que son prolongement jusqu'à un an, un an et demi peut signifier la guérison", ajoute l'expert.

Compte tenu de cette situation et de l'analyse des options de traitement actuelles, il est nécessaire de rechercher la stratégie la plus rentable pour lutter contre l'hépatite C. Une récente étude pharmaco-économique réalisée en Espagne montre que l'association de l'interféron pégylé alfa-2a et de la ribavirine Il est non seulement plus efficace, mais également moins coûteux que le peginterféron alfa-2b plus la ribavirine.

"Des preuves scientifiques ont montré que les patients traités avec l'interféron pégylé alfa-2a étaient 11% plus susceptibles d'obtenir une réponse virale soutenue (guérison) que ceux traités avec l'interféron pégylé alfa-2b"dit le Dr Turnes. Ce traitement offre de plus grands avantages, "Les deux en termes d'efficacité, en termes d'années de vie ajustées pour la qualité de vie, comme en termes d'économies", ajoute le spécialiste. "Tant et si bien", poursuit le Dr Turnes, "nous pouvons affirmer que vous pouvez réaliser des économies comprises entre 700 et 1 900 euros par patient, en fonction du génotype du virus C.".

L’hépatite C suscite de grandes attentes pour l’avenir depuis le "Il y a environ 12 molécules en développement avancé qui peuvent nous aider à atteindre des taux de guérison de 80/85% des patients"conclut le Dr Solà.

Comment guérir de l'hépatite C ? (Août 2019).