The Spanish Agency for Food Safety (AESAN) has tightened recommendations on the consumption of certain foods, such as tuna and swordfish, as well as some crustaceans and vegetables, due to its high content of mercury, cadmium and nitrates, respectively. Specifically, the AESAN recommends that neither pregnant or lactating women, nor children under three years consume swordfish, shark or bluefin tuna, and that children from three to 12 years do not exceed 50 grams per week, due that the mercury they contain can cause serious alterations in the neuronal development of the fetus and young children.

Mercury can cause serious alterations in the neural development of the fetus

The organic form of mercury, the methylmercury, is very toxic and accumulates in the fatty tissues of large fish when they ingest other species that contain it. As it is about migratory fish, the danger can not be ruled out even though they have been fished in uncontaminated waters.

In the case of vegetables, the problem is nitrates, salts that in the human body are transformed into nitrites, which are toxic in high concentrations and can cause cyanosis (lack of oxygen in the blood) to babies. The greatest danger of nitrate intake is in the age range of one to three years, and the vegetables that have higher levels of nitrates are chard, spinach and lettuce, so their consumption in young children should be moderate .

It does not affect all consumers

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) does not consider it dangerous for children over the age of seven to take complete servings of these vegetables, which should be avoided, as a precaution, in babies under one year of age. The EFSA also warns that, once cooked, these vegetables should be kept in the refrigerator, because leaving them at room temperature overnight can make nitrates turn into nitrites.

It is important to emphasize that the consumption of vegetables offers great advantages in comparison with the possible risks, so they should not be banished from the diet at all. In addition, vegetables grown outdoors and with more hours of sun exposure contain less nitrate than greenhouse, or those from northern European countries.

The consumption of crustaceans it's much less frequent but the cadmium, a heavy metal generated by mining and industrial activities and by the use of some fertilizers, is found in high concentrations in crustaceans such as crab, crab or spider crab, and when ingested it accumulates in the human body, especially in liver and kidneys, and can damage kidney function. The recommendations on seafood consumption are focused on avoiding the head of prawns, crayfish, prawns, etc., because this is where the cadmium is concentrated, not being dangerous to health the intake of white meat of the appendages and abdomen, where the presence of metal is low.

For its part, the Minister of Health, Leire Pajín, wanted to reassure the rest of the consumers, explaining that they can continue to consume these foods with full guarantee for their health, since AESAN has directed the recommendation to reduce consumption only in the in some sectors of the population, such as children and pregnant women, in order to reduce risks.

Source: Spanish Agency for Food Safety (AESAN)

6 'Undetectable' Poisons (and How to Detect Them) (November 2019).

L’Agence espagnole de sécurité sanitaire des aliments (AESAN) a resserré les recommandations concernant la consommation de certains aliments, tels que le thon et l’espadon, ainsi que de certains crustacés et légumes, en raison de leur teneur élevée en mercure, cadmium et nitrates. L'AESAN recommande en particulier que ni les femmes enceintes ou allaitantes, ni les enfants de moins de trois ans ne consomment de l'espadon, du requin ou du thon rouge, et que les enfants de trois à douze ans ne dépassent pas 50 grammes par semaine le mercure qu’ils contiennent peut entraîner de graves altérations du développement neuronal du fœtus et des jeunes enfants.

Le mercure peut provoquer de graves altérations du développement neural du fœtus

La forme organique du mercure, le méthylmercure, est très toxique et s'accumule dans les tissus adipeux des gros poissons lorsqu'ils ingèrent d'autres espèces qui en contiennent. S'agissant de poissons migrateurs, le danger ne peut être exclu, même s'ils ont été pêchés dans des eaux non contaminées.

Dans le cas des légumes, le problème est celui des nitrates, des sels qui, dans le corps humain, sont transformés en nitrites, qui sont toxiques à fortes concentrations et peuvent provoquer une cyanose (manque d'oxygène dans le sang) chez les bébés. Le plus grand danger de la consommation de nitrates se situe dans la tranche d'âge de un à trois ans, et les légumes qui présentent des niveaux plus élevés de nitrates sont la bette à carde, les épinards et la laitue. Par conséquent, leur consommation chez les jeunes enfants devrait être modérée. .

Cela n'affecte pas tous les consommateurs

L'Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments (EFSA) considère qu'il n'est pas dangereux pour les enfants de plus de sept ans de consommer des portions complètes de ces légumes, ce qui devrait être évité à titre de précaution chez les bébés de moins d'un an. L'EFSA a également averti qu'une fois cuits, ces légumes devraient être conservés au réfrigérateur, car les laisser à la température ambiante pendant la nuit peut transformer les nitrates en nitrites.

Il est important de souligner que la consommation de légumes offre de grands avantages par rapport aux risques possibles. Par conséquent, ils ne doivent absolument pas être bannis du régime alimentaire. En outre, les légumes cultivés à l'extérieur et exposés au soleil plus longtemps contiennent moins de nitrates que ceux de serre ou ceux des pays d'Europe du Nord.

La consommation de les crustacés c'est beaucoup moins fréquent mais le cadmium, un métal lourd généré par les activités minières et industrielles et par l’utilisation de certains engrais, se trouve en forte concentration dans les crustacés tels que le crabe, le crabe ou le crabe-araignée, et s’ingère dans le corps humain, en particulier dans foie et les reins, et peut endommager la fonction rénale. Les recommandations sur la consommation de fruits de mer sont centrées sur l’évitement de la tête de crevettes, écrevisses, crevettes, etc., car c’est là que se concentre le cadmium, sans danger pour la santé la consommation de viande blanche des appendices et de l’abdomen où la présence de métal est faible.

De son côté, la ministre de la Santé, Leire Pajín, a tenu à rassurer les autres consommateurs, leur expliquant qu’ils peuvent continuer à consommer ces aliments avec une garantie totale pour leur santé, puisqu’AESAN a recommandé de réduire la consommation uniquement dans certains secteurs de la population, tels que les enfants et les femmes enceintes, afin de réduire les risques.

Source: Agence espagnole de sécurité alimentaire (AESAN)

Nigelle cultivée : problèmes de glycémie, cholestérol, asthme allergique (Septembre 2019).