In addition to the degree of intellectual disability (which is variable in each case, being mostly light or moderate), "at the level of health, the problem is the pathologies that are usually associated with Down's Syndrome", Says the health expert of the Spanish Federation of Down Syndrome (Down Spain), Pepe Borrel. The excess genetic load presented by people with trisomy 21 it causes an imbalance to arise in the way in which genes direct and regulate the development and functions of various apparatuses, organs and systems of the body; what makes them more likely to suffer certain disorders or diseases. It does not have to be always like this, they can be children with a Health good or with mild health problems, but the objective is to know what can happen to minimize it, treat it, relieve it and, whenever possible, prevent it.

"Early detection and treatment will make it possible to compensate for adverse effects," says Dr. Borrel. Many of the health problems they will have a simple resolution, but others will require medication, some physiotherapy and, in certain cases, more complicated treatments or even surgery will be necessary. The fundamental thing is to make explorations and periodic health checks.

You should also bear in mind that your child may have more difficulty to warn you that he is feeling ill and explain what happens to him. Moreover, it has been proven that many people with Down syndrome have reduced sensitivity to certain types of pain.

So, you have to pay attention to:

  • Heart problems: About half of children with Down syndrome are born with this type of problem. However, as indicated by Isidoro Candel, expert in Early Down Care Spain "Heart disease is a problem that is detected very soon; generally the surgical interventions are made in the first months and the evolution of the child is positive ".
  • Growing problems: short or short stature is a characteristic feature of trisomy that is related to growth hormone deficiency and also to certain pathologies or nutritional problems. Thus, we must monitor the weight and height during the first years of life, according to the specific growth charts for Down syndrome.
    The alterations of the thyroid gland is another factor that influences the growth (and also in the cognitive function), being habitual the hypothyroidism cases in the people with trisomy.
  • Ear and nose problems: it is common for the baby to have ear infections (otitis), earwax plugs (because it has narrow ducts), as well as hearing problems, which can affect the development of the language and also alter The conduct. It is recommended to perform an early detection of hearing loss (loss of hearing ability) in the first six months of life.
    On the other hand, congenital occlusion of the lacrimonasal duct occurs in 5-6% of infants and manifests as lacrimation and secretion before one month of age.
  • Respiratory problems: asthma, colds and other infections that affect the respiratory tract, snoring, and sleep apnea syndrome are common. The latter syndrome is caused by the obstruction of the respiratory tract, which is favored by the typical physical characteristics of Down syndrome (short neck, hypotonia of the tongue or adenoid hypertrophy ...). This generates multiple awakenings and, consequently, a restful sleep is not achieved.
  • Visual problems: The vast majority of children with Down syndrome wear glasses. And is that 75% of people with trisomy 21 have eye problems, being the most frequent strabismus, farsightedness and myopia. Cataracts can be congenital (be present from birth), or develop throughout life but, like glaucoma, can occur during childhood. Therefore, all children with Down syndrome must pass an ophthalmological examination in depth in the second year of life (including refraction and fundus) and again at four years of age: if hyperopia has not developed at this age, it is unlikely to do so later. Then the vision must be evaluated at least every two years.
  • Dental problems: this area is especially complicated, since it is physiologically conditioned. People with Down syndrome have weaker orofacial muscles, which generates that position of the slightly ajar mouth that characterizes them, in addition to an anterior displacement of the lower lip. The size of the inside of the mouth is also reduced and, therefore, the tongue seems larger (macroglossia).

Starting from here, it is common for them to have dental problems such as gingivitis (inflamed gums that bleed easily), periodontitis (the infection progresses from the gum to the bone), malocclusion and bruxism (teeth grinding). Gingivitis is very frequent, especially in children aged 3 to 9 years, as well as bruxism, which is usually more intense during the day than at night.

In addition, children with Down syndrome have a delayed tooth eruption, for genetic reasons. His first milk tooth usually appears at 14-18 months, while the rest of the children already have it at 6 or 7 months. And the permanent dentition begins about 8 years, compared to 6 years of the rest of small. The size of the teeth of children with trisomy, in comparison with the rest of children, is higher in milk teeth and lower in the permanent dentition.

To all these problems it is usual to add others bone Y joint such as unstable hips, dislocations, flat feet or scoliosis; intestinal, dermatological as xerosis (dry skin) or alopecia areata, and also neurological.

And finally, note that although there are fewer cases of cancer in people with Down syndrome, the leukemia it is an exception and is frequent in children (even before three years of age), and some studies indicate that its incidence is up to 30 times higher in children with trisomy compared with the general population of the same age.

Vaccines and Down syndrome

The vaccination It is a fairly effective resource for preventing a good number of diseases, infections and their recurrences that people with Down syndrome usually suffer, particularly during childhood (mainly of the respiratory tract). And this syndrome is usually associated with immunodeficiency multifactorial, taking into account, in addition, that there are certain factors that reduce the immunogenicity of vaccines such as obesity or celiac disease.

So, the Spanish Federation Down Syndrome (FEISD) and the Catalan Down Syndrome Foundation (FCSD), with the collaboration and consensus of the Vaccine Committee of the Spanish Association of Pediatrics (CAV-AEP) and the Spanish Association of Vacunology (AEV), have developed a own vaccination calendar for people with Down syndrome, which should be considered as complementary to the vaccination schedules in force in Spain, especially that of the AEP, on which it has been based. In this way, there are specific recommendations such as, for example, that vaccines pneumococcal and that of the Hepatitis A, until now not included or only included in some autonomous childhood immunization schedules, are especially indicated in people with trisomy and should be administered systematically, since Down syndrome is considered a risk factor for developing a pneumococcal disease invasive Children with this syndrome often suffer from acute otitis media, sinusitis and pneumonia, with the pneumococcus being the main responsible for these processes. The recommendation of this calendar is begin vaccination at two months of age.

As for hepatitis A, the usual assistance of children with Down syndrome to specialized centers favors the horizontal transmission of the virus that causes this disease. In addition, a coinfection could occur in patients with chronic hepatitis B (to which he predisposes Down syndrome), which would acquire a special severity. In this case it is advisable to start vaccination at 12 months old.

Finally, it is essential to comply with the systematic vaccination guidelines established in each community in a strict manner.

The Truth About Down Syndrome (September 2019).

En plus du degré de déficience intellectuelle (qui est variable dans chaque cas, la plupart étant léger ou modéré), "au niveau de la santé, le problème est celui des pathologies généralement associées à le syndrome de Down", Dit l'expert de la santé de la Fédération espagnole du syndrome de Down (Down Spain)Pepe Borrel L’excès de charge génétique présenté par les personnes atteintes trisomie 21 il en résulte un déséquilibre dans la manière dont les gènes dirigent et régulent le développement et les fonctions de divers appareils, organes et systèmes du corps; ce qui les rend plus susceptibles de souffrir de certaines des troubles o les maladies. Il ne doit pas toujours être comme ça, ils peuvent être les enfants avec une la santé bon ou avec de légers problèmes de santé, mais l’objectif est de savoir ce qui peut arriver pour le minimiser, le traiter, le soulager et, autant que possible, le prévenir.

"La détection et le traitement précoces permettront de compenser les effets indésirables", explique le Dr Borrel. Beaucoup de problèmes de santé ils auront une solution simple, mais d’autres nécessiteront des médicaments, de la physiothérapie et, dans certains cas, des traitements plus complexes, voire une intervention chirurgicale, seront nécessaires. L'essentiel est de faire des explorations et des bilans de santé périodiques.

Vous devez également vous rappeler que votre enfant aura peut-être plus de difficulté à vous avertir qu'il se sent malade et à expliquer ce qui lui arrive. De plus, il a été prouvé que de nombreuses personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down ont une sensibilité réduite à certains types de douleur.

Donc, vous devez faire attention à:

  • Problèmes cardiaques: Environ la moitié des enfants atteints du syndrome de Down naissent avec ce type de problème. Cependant, comme l’a indiqué Isidoro Candel, expert en Early Down Care Espagne "La maladie cardiaque est un problème qui est détecté très bientôt; généralement les interventions chirurgicales se font dans les premiers mois et l’évolution de l’enfant est positive ".
  • Problèmes de croissance: la petite taille ou la petite taille est une caractéristique de la trisomie liée au déficit en hormone de croissance ainsi qu'à certaines pathologies ou problèmes nutritionnels. Nous devons donc surveiller le poids et la taille au cours des premières années de la vie, en fonction des courbes de croissance spécifiques du syndrome de Down.
    Les altérations de la glande thyroïde sont un autre facteur qui influence la croissance (et également la fonction cognitive), étant habituelles les cas d'hypothyroïdie chez les personnes atteintes de trisomie.
  • Problèmes d'oreille et de nez: il est courant que le bébé ait des otites (otites), des bouchons de cérumen (parce qu’il a des conduits étroits), ainsi que des problèmes d’audition qui peuvent affecter le développement de la la conduite. Il est recommandé d'effectuer une détection précoce de la perte auditive (perte de la capacité auditive) au cours des six premiers mois de la vie.
    En revanche, l'occlusion congénitale du canal lacrimonasal se produit chez 5 à 6% des nourrissons et se manifeste par un larmoiement et une sécrétion avant l'âge d'un mois.
  • Problèmes respiratoires: l'asthme, le rhume et d'autres infections qui affectent les voies respiratoires, le ronflement et le syndrome d'apnée du sommeil sont fréquents. Ce dernier syndrome est causé par une obstruction des voies respiratoires, favorisée par les caractéristiques physiques typiques du syndrome de Down (cou court, hypotonie de la langue ou hypertrophie adénoïde ...). Cela génère de multiples réveils et, par conséquent, un sommeil réparateur n'est pas obtenu.
  • Problèmes visuels: La grande majorité des enfants atteints du syndrome de Down porte des lunettes. Et est-ce que 75% des personnes atteintes de trisomie 21 ont des problèmes de vision, strabisme, hypermétropie et myopie les plus fréquents. La cataracte peut être congénitale (être présente dès la naissance) ou se développer tout au long de la vie mais, comme le glaucome, elle peut survenir pendant l’enfance. Par conséquent, tous les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down doivent réussir un examen ophtalmologique approfondi au cours de la deuxième année de la vie (réfraction et fond d'œil) et de nouveau à l'âge de quatre ans: si l'hypermétropie ne s'est pas développée à cet âge, peu probable de le faire plus tard. Ensuite, la vision doit être évaluée au moins tous les deux ans.
  • Problèmes dentaires: cette zone est particulièrement compliquée, car elle est conditionnée physiologiquement. Les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down ont des muscles orofaciaux plus faibles, ce qui génère la position de la bouche légèrement entrouverte qui les caractérise, en plus d'un déplacement antérieur de la lèvre inférieure. La taille de l'intérieur de la bouche est également réduite et, par conséquent, la langue semble plus grande (macroglossie).

À partir de là, il est fréquent qu'ils souffrent de problèmes dentaires tels que gingivite (gencives enflammées qui saignent facilement), parodontite (l'infection progresse de la gencive à l'os), malocclusion et bruxisme (grincement des dents). La gingivite est très fréquente, en particulier chez les enfants âgés de 3 à 9 ans, ainsi que le bruxisme, qui est généralement plus intense le jour que le soir.

En outre, les enfants atteints du syndrome de Down ont un éruption dentaire retardée, pour des raisons génétiques. Sa première dent de lait apparaît généralement à 14-18 mois, alors que le reste des enfants l’a déjà à 6 ou 7 mois. Et la dentition permanente commence environ 8 ans, comparé à 6 ans du reste des petites. La taille des dents des enfants trisomisés est plus élevée dans les dents de lait que dans les autres dents par rapport au reste des enfants.

A tous ces problèmes, il est habituel d'en ajouter d'autres os et joint comme les hanches instables, les luxations, les pieds plats ou la scoliose; intestinal, dermatologique comme xérose (peau sèche) ou alopécie areata, et aussi neurologique.

Enfin, notez que, bien qu’il y ait moins de cas de cancer chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down, le leucémie c'est une exception et il est fréquent chez les enfants (même avant l'âge de trois ans) et certaines études indiquent que son incidence est jusqu'à 30 fois plus élevée chez les enfants trisomisés que dans la population générale du même âge.

Vaccins et syndrome de Down

Le vaccination C'est une ressource assez efficace pour la prévention d'un bon nombre de maladies, d'infections et de leurs récidives que les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down souffrent généralement, en particulier pendant l'enfance (principalement des voies respiratoires). Et ce syndrome est généralement associé à immunodéficience multifactorielle, en prenant en compte, en outre, certains facteurs réduisant l’immunogénicité des vaccins tels que l’obésité ou la maladie cœliaque.

Alors, le Syndrome de Down de la Fédération espagnole (FEISD) et la Fondation du syndrome de Down catalan (FCSD), avec la collaboration et le consensus du Comité de vaccination de l'Association espagnole de pédiatrie (CAV-AEP) et la Association espagnole de vacunologie (AEV), ont développé un propre calendrier de vaccination pour les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down, qui doivent être considérés comme complémentaires aux calendriers de vaccination en vigueur en Espagne, notamment celui du AEP, sur lequel il a été basé. De cette manière, il existe des recommandations spécifiques telles que, par exemple, que les vaccins pneumocoque et celle du l'hépatite A, jusqu'à présent non inclus ou seulement inclus dans certains calendriers de vaccination autonome des enfants, sont particulièrement indiqués chez les personnes atteintes de trisomie et doivent être systématiquement administrés, car le syndrome de Down est considéré comme un facteur de risque de développement d'une maladie à pneumocoque invasif Les enfants atteints de ce syndrome souffrent souvent d'otite moyenne aiguë, de sinusite et de pneumonie, le pneumocoque étant le principal responsable de ces processus. La recommandation de ce calendrier est commencer la vaccination à l'âge de deux mois.

En ce qui concerne l'hépatite A, l'assistance habituelle des enfants atteints du syndrome de Down à des centres spécialisés favorise la transmission horizontale du virus responsable de cette maladie. En outre, une co-infection pourrait survenir chez les patients atteints d'hépatite B chronique (à laquelle il prédispose le syndrome de Down), ce qui pourrait acquérir une gravité particulière. Dans ce cas, il est conseillé de commencer la vaccination à 12 mois.

Enfin, il est essentiel de respecter les directives de vaccination systématique établies dans chaque communauté de manière stricte.

Le retard de langage ou trouble de langage chez l'enfant: réponses d'une orthophoniste (Août 2019).