The Scientific Bread Committee in Spain (INCERHPAN) has conducted a study with 504 children aged between 8 and 13 years, from La Coruña, Barcelona, ​​Madrid, Seville and Valencia, which shows that children who eat more of bread have less problems with their weight (15.8% have excess weight and 13.9% obesity), than those who eat less bread (16.6% of these are overweight and 20.5% they are obese).

Children who consume more bread, not only have a lower body mass index (BMI) -18.8 versus 19.4-than those who eat less, but the contribution of calories to their diet is more balanced, and the variables associated with cardiovascular risk (cholesterol and triglycerides) and with the control of glycaemia (basal glucose and basal insulin) are better in their case.

The research, directed by the professor in Nutrition at the Complutense University of Madrid (UCM), Rosa Ortega, also calculated the healthy diet index (IAS), and found that the diet of 18.6 percent of children studied was inadequate , and that although 31.7 percent were fed "acceptable", their diet was not "completely balanced", which shows that more than half (50.3 percent) is at risk of suffering some deficit or nutritional imbalance.

The study found that adding two daily servings of white bread to the children's diet, the caloric profile of the diet improves substantially, by increasing the level of energy from carbohydrates (47% versus 44% previously), and decreasing that which comes from fats and proteins (from 40% to 37%).

The "American model"

The increase in overweight and obesity among children is a serious health problem that must be corrected to prevent the onset of preventable diseases in adulthood. In Europe, childhood obesity is spreading dangerously, while in the United States it is much worse than previously believed, according to the results of a study carried out in Southern California, which has published Journal of Pediatrics, in which more than 700,000 children and adolescents participated. The data reveal that 45,000 of these minors (which is more than 6 percent) are extremely obese.

The research also shows that "extreme obesity" is increasing and currently affects 7 percent of boys and 5 percent of girls and, overall, slightly more than 2 percent of all girls. children who are less than five years old.

Korina Koebnick, researcher of the Kaiser Permanente health system, warns that if important changes are not made in the life habits of these children, they will die prematurely (between 10 and 20 years before normal), and since they were very young -a 20 or 30 years old- will develop pathologies typical of people over 60.

In the United States, at present, two out of three adults are overweight or obese, and one third of children suffer from obesity, which increases the risk of developing heart disease, diabetes and other chronic diseases. For this reason, the first lady of the USA, Michelle Obama, is leading a government campaign with the aim of improving nutrition in homes and schools to fight against childhood obesity.

The surprisingly dramatic role of nutrition in mental health | Julia Rucklidge | TEDxChristchurch (November 2019).

Le Comité Scientifique du Pain en Espagne (INCERHPAN) a mené une étude sur 504 enfants âgés de 8 à 13 ans, de La Corogne, Barcelone, Madrid, Séville et Valence, qui montre que les enfants qui mangent plus du pain ont moins de problèmes de poids (15,8% ont un excès de poids et 13,9% d’obésité) que ceux qui mangent moins de pain (16,6% ont un excès de poids et 20,5% ils sont obèses).

Les enfants qui consomment plus de pain ont non seulement un indice de masse corporelle (IMC) inférieur (-18,8 contre 19,4) que ceux qui mangent moins, mais l'apport de calories dans leur alimentation est plus équilibré, et les variables associées au risque cardiovasculaire (cholestérol et triglycérides) et au contrôle de la glycémie (glucose basal et insuline basale) sont meilleures dans leur cas.

La recherche, dirigée par Rosa Ortega, professeur de nutrition à l'Université Complutense de Madrid (UCM), a également calculé l'indice de l'alimentation saine (IAS) et a révélé que l'alimentation de 18,6% des enfants étudiés était inadéquate. et que bien que 31,7% aient été nourris "acceptable", leur régime n'était pas "complètement équilibré", ce qui montre que plus de la moitié (50,3%) risquent de souffrir un déficit ou un déséquilibre nutritionnel.

L'étude a révélé qu'en ajoutant deux portions quotidiennes de pain blanc au régime des enfants, le profil calorique du régime s'améliore considérablement en augmentant le niveau d'énergie provenant des glucides (47% contre 44% auparavant), et en diminuant ce qui provient des graisses et des protéines (de 40% à 37%).

Le "modèle américain"

L'augmentation du surpoids et de l'obésité chez les enfants est un problème de santé grave qui doit être corrigé pour prévenir l'apparition de maladies évitables à l'âge adulte. En Europe, l’obésité chez les enfants se propage dangereusement, alors qu’aux États-Unis, elle est bien pire qu’on ne le croyait auparavant, selon les résultats d’une étude réalisée dans le sud de la Californie, qui a publié Journal de pédiatrie, auquel ont participé plus de 700 000 enfants et adolescents. Les données révèlent que 45 000 de ces mineurs (soit plus de 6%) sont extrêmement obèses.

La recherche montre également que "l'obésité extrême" est en augmentation et affecte actuellement 7% des garçons et 5% des filles et, dans l'ensemble, un peu plus de 2% de toutes les filles. les enfants de moins de cinq ans.

Korina Koebnick, chercheuse du système de santé Kaiser Permanente, a averti que si les habitudes de vie de ces enfants ne subissaient pas de modifications importantes, ils mourraient prématurément (entre 10 et 20 ans avant la normale), et puisqu'ils étaient très jeunes. 20 ou 30 ans - développeront des pathologies typiques des personnes de plus de 60 ans.

Aux États-Unis, à l'heure actuelle, deux adultes sur trois sont en surpoids ou obèses, et un tiers des enfants souffrent d'obésité, ce qui augmente le risque de développer une maladie cardiaque, le diabète et d'autres maladies chroniques. Pour cette raison, la première dame des États-Unis, Michelle Obama, dirige une campagne gouvernementale visant à améliorer la nutrition dans les foyers et les écoles afin de lutter contre l'obésité chez les enfants.

Episode 06: Nutrition and The Nervous System (Août 2019).