Patients with familial hemiplegic migraine (FHM) are more likely to develop depression. This type of migraine may have associated vertigo, nausea, and visual disturbances. In the United States, researchers from the 'Harvard Medical School' have proven how genetic and hormonal factors increase the tendency to suffer FHM in women.

Familial hemiplegic migraine is a rare type of migraine, of autosomal dominant inheritance, characterized by repeated episodes of hemiparesis or hemiplegia during the aura of the migrainous crisis; Paresthesias, visual field disorders, dysphasia, and different degrees of altered consciousness, among other symptoms, may also occur.

Attacks persist for a few minutes to hours, and usually begin in childhood. The study shows that FHM has an important genetic component, in addition to hormonal, affecting mostly women (as it happens with other types of migraine).

Interestingly, it has been observed that patients suffering from FHM are more likely to develop depression. According to the experts, mutations in the CACNA1A gene are the main responsible for FHM, causing visual alterations known as "aura". The investigation included several mice with one or two mutations of the CACNA1A gene, which showed an increased susceptibility to FHM and depression. The scientists observed that the mutation associated with the more severe forms of this migraine caused a greater propensity to suffer depression than the mutation related to a milder form of FHM.

Migraine Patient Testimonials - Wide Range of Symptoms (November 2019).

Les patients atteints de migraine hémiplégique familiale (FHM) sont plus susceptibles de développer une dépression. Ce type de migraine peut être associé à des vertiges, des nausées et des troubles visuels. Aux États-Unis, des chercheurs de la «Harvard Medical School» ont démontré comment des facteurs génétiques et hormonaux accroissent la tendance à la FHM chez les femmes.

La migraine hémiplégique familiale est un type rare de migraine, de transmission autosomique dominante, caractérisée par des épisodes répétés d'hémiparésie ou d'hémiplégie au cours de l'aura de la crise migraineuse; Des paresthésies, des troubles du champ visuel, une dysphasie et divers degrés de conscience altérée, entre autres symptômes, peuvent également survenir.

Les attaques persistent pendant quelques minutes à quelques heures et commencent généralement dans l'enfance. L’étude montre que la FHM a une composante génétique importante, en plus des hormones, qui affecte principalement les femmes (comme c’est le cas pour d’autres types de migraine).

Fait intéressant, il a été observé que les patients souffrant de FHM sont plus susceptibles de développer une dépression. Selon les experts, les mutations du gène CACNA1A seraient les principales responsables de la FHM, provoquant des altérations visuelles connues sous le nom de "aura". L'enquête a porté sur plusieurs souris portant une ou deux mutations du gène CACNA1A, ce qui a montré une sensibilité accrue à la FHM et à la dépression. Les scientifiques ont observé que la mutation associée aux formes plus sévères de cette migraine provoquait une plus grande propension à souffrir de dépression que la mutation liée à une forme plus légère de FHM.

7 Signs You Should Get Tested for Gluten Sensitivity or Celiac Disease (Août 2019).