A group of researchers led by Nicholas Stylopoulos, of the Division of Endocrinology at the Children's Hospital of Boston, in the United States, has discovered, in a study conducted with rats, that the small intestine -Which was considered a passive organ- is a key piece in the metabolism of the organism, and that the surgery of gastric bypass can eliminate type 2 diabetes by having this organ change its way of processing glucose.

This type of surgical intervention, which is performed in patients with morbid obesity, had already been shown to have an influence on the improvement of the diabetes, since many patients with severe obesity suffer from diabetes. However, it had also been observed that diabetes was often resolved even before weight loss was achieved, so the Stylopoulos team decided to investigate.

"The study shows that gastric bypass surgery can eliminate type 2 diabetes by making the small intestine change its way of processing glucose"

The cgastric bypass surgery, is to direct food to the smallest bag of the stomach, without going through the rest of this organ or the duodenum. The scientists verified that, after surgery, the intestine is reprogrammed to contain GLUT-1, a specific transporter that is responsible for eliminating glucose, and in this way can stabilize the levels of glucose in the blood.

The study showed that diabetes was corrected in all rats that underwent gastric bypass, and according to researchers, in 64% of cases this occurred thanks to the modification suffered by the intestine, while the rest could be due to to weight loss or other factors. The authors of the work believe that future research should aim to discover how to develop a medical pathway that can mimic reprogramming the bowel without resorting to surgery.

How can bariatric surgery treat diabetes? (November 2019).

Un groupe de chercheurs dirigé par Nicholas Stylopoulos, de la division d’endocrinologie de l’hôpital pour enfants de Boston, aux États-Unis, a découvert, dans une étude menée sur des rats, que intestin grêle -Qui était considéré comme un organisme passif- est un élément clé du métabolisme de l'organisme, et que la chirurgie de pontage gastrique peut éliminer le diabète de type 2 en ayant cet organe changer son mode de traitement glucose.

Ce type d'intervention chirurgicale, pratiqué chez des patients atteints d'obésité morbide, avait déjà montré une influence sur l'amélioration de la le diabète, car de nombreux patients souffrant d'obésité grave souffrent de diabète. Cependant, il avait également été observé que le diabète était souvent résolu même avant que la perte de poids ne soit atteinte. L'équipe de Stylopoulos a donc décidé de mener une enquête.

"L'étude montre que le pontage gastrique peut éliminer le diabète de type 2 en faisant en sorte que l'intestin grêle change son mode de traitement du glucose"

Le cpontage gastrique, consiste à diriger les aliments dans le plus petit sac de l’estomac, sans passer par le reste de cet organe ni par le duodénum. Les scientifiques ont vérifié que, après la chirurgie, l'intestin est reprogrammé pour contenir GLUT-1, un transporteur spécifique responsable de l'élimination du glucose et ainsi stabiliser les taux de glucose dans le sang.

L'étude a montré que le diabète était corrigé chez tous les rats ayant subi un pontage gastrique et que, selon les chercheurs, dans 64% des cas, cela était dû à la modification subie par l'intestin, le reste pouvant être dû à: perte de poids ou d’autres facteurs. Les auteurs de l'ouvrage estiment que les recherches futures devraient viser à découvrir comment développer une voie médicale capable d'imiter la reprogrammation de l'intestin sans recourir à une intervention chirurgicale.

Diabète de type 2 Traitement ???? - Regardez cette vidéo jusqu'au bout ! (Août 2019).