Women who suffer from fragile X syndrome, a genetic disease characterized by a delay in psychomotor development, with symptoms such as intellectual disability with varying degrees of severity or autistic behavior, among others, have an increased risk of suffering from breast cancer and metastasis.

As has been observed in a multicenter investigation carried out in Belgium, Italy and the United Kingdom, whose results have been published in the digital edition of EMBO Molecular Medicine, the presence in the brain of these patients of a protein Associated with Fragile X syndrome is associated with a greater chance of developing this type of tumor and also facilitates cancer cells invading blood vessels and spreading to other tissues.

The presence of a protein associated with fragile X syndrome increases the chances of breast cancer developing and favors the spread of the disease

The researchers examined in rats with breast cancer the effects of the presence of this protein and found that there was a relationship between it and the spread of the tumor to the rest of the body of animals. They also observed that when the protein was eliminated the metastasis decreased, as explained by Dr. Claudia Bagni, the study's main author and member of the University of Rome (Italy).

The expert adds that the fragile X syndrome protein levels can therefore serve as an indicator of aggressive breast cancer, and could also be used to predict the chances of the neoplasm spreading to other organs.

Genetic Testing for Cancer (November 2019).

Les femmes atteintes du syndrome de l'X fragile, une maladie génétique caractérisée par un retard dans le développement psychomoteur, avec des symptômes tels qu'une déficience intellectuelle plus ou moins grave ou un comportement autiste, entre autres, ont un risque accru de cancer du sein et métastase.

Comme cela a été observé dans une enquête multicentrique menée en Belgique, en Italie et au Royaume-Uni, dont les résultats ont été publiés dans l'édition numérique de EMBO médecine moléculaire, la présence dans le cerveau de ces patients d'un protéine Associé au syndrome de l'X fragile, il est associé à un risque accru de développer ce type de tumeur et facilite également la pénétration des cellules cancéreuses dans les vaisseaux sanguins et leur propagation dans d'autres tissus.

La présence d'une protéine associée au syndrome de l'X fragile augmente les risques de cancer du sein et favorise la propagation de la maladie.

Les chercheurs ont examiné chez des rats atteints d'un cancer du sein les effets de la présence de cette protéine et ont découvert qu'il existait une relation entre celle-ci et la propagation de la tumeur au reste du corps de l'animal. Ils ont également observé que lorsque la protéine était éliminée, les métastases diminuaient, comme l'explique Claudia Bagni, principale auteur de l'étude et membre de l'Université de Rome (Italie).

L’expert ajoute que les niveaux de protéines du syndrome du X fragile peuvent donc servir d’indicateur de cancer du sein agressif, et pourrait également être utilisé pour prédire les chances de propagation du néoplasme à d’autres organes.

#Reportage - DECOUVRIR LE X-FRAGILE - Mon Tout Premier Film - 2011 (Août 2019).