For the first time in the world, two uterine transplants have been successfully performed in which organ donors were the mothers of the patients who received it. The doctors who have carried out the intervention - in which more than ten surgeons have participated - belong to the Sahlgrenska University Hospital and the University of Gothenburg (Sweden). According to these specialists, both donors and recipients are well and will be discharged soon.

The patients who have received the wombs of their respective parents - two women around 30 years old - could not be mothers because they lacked this organ, since one of them had been born without it, and the other had to have it removed. cause of cervical cancer.

Before the transplant, the patients underwent fertilization in vitro, and their embryos were frozen to be implanted at the right time

The transplant has been made with the aim that in the future patients can get a pregnancy, therefore, before the intervention, both women underwent a procedure of fertilization in vitro, and subsequently the resulting embryos were frozen, so that they could be implanted when the doctors consider it appropriate. They will have to wait about a year for this to be possible and, according to specialists, one of the obstacles with what could be found is that the placenta does not develop properly.

However, the team that has carried out the interventions - which have been preceded by a large investigation that began in 1999 at the University of Gothenburg - is optimistic about the possibilities that patients have of having children , they explain, after a maximum of two pregnancies, it would be necessary to remove the uteri to prevent the appearance of complications such as the use of immunosuppressive drugs to avoid the rejection of the organs.

Uterus Transplant Animation Recipient (November 2019).

Pour la première fois au monde, deux transplantations utérines ont été réalisées avec succès, dans lesquelles des donneurs d'organes étaient les mères des patientes qui l'ont reçu. Les médecins qui ont pratiqué l'intervention - auxquels ont participé plus de dix chirurgiens - appartiennent à l'hôpital universitaire Sahlgrenska et à l'université de Göteborg (Suède). Selon ces spécialistes, les donneurs et les receveurs vont bien et seront bientôt libérés.

Les patientes qui ont reçu l'utérus de leurs parents respectifs - deux femmes âgées d'environ 30 ans - ne pouvaient pas être mères car elles manquaient de cet organe, l'une d'elles étant née sans cet organe et l'autre devant le faire retirer. cause du cancer du col utérin.

Avant la greffe, les patients ont subi une fécondation in vitro, et leurs embryons ont été congelés pour être implantés au bon moment

La greffe a été réalisée dans le but de permettre aux patientes de devenir enceintes à l’avenir. Par conséquent, avant l’intervention, les deux femmes ont subi une procédure de fécondation. in vitro, et les embryons résultants ont ensuite été congelés, de manière à pouvoir être implantés lorsque les médecins le jugent utile. Ils devront attendre environ un an pour que cela soit possible et, selon les spécialistes, l'un des obstacles à ce que l'on pourrait trouver, c'est que le placenta ne se développe pas correctement.

Toutefois, l’équipe qui a effectué les interventions - qui a été précédée d’une vaste enquête qui a débuté en 1999 à l’Université de Göteborg - se dit optimiste quant aux possibilités d’avoir des enfants chez les patients. , expliquent-ils, après un maximum de deux grossesses, il serait nécessaire de prélever l'utérus pour éviter l'apparition de complications telles que l'utilisation de médicaments immunosuppresseurs pour éviter le rejet des organes.

Naissance d’un bébé après une greffe d’utérus de donneuse décédée (Août 2019).