A higher consumption of foods rich in fiber reduces the risk of dying in the nine years after overcoming a myocardial infarction, as revealed by a new study that has been published in British Medical Journal. Thus, and according to the results of this work, people who after suffering an event of this type ingest more fiber, between 27 and 36 grams daily, had a 25% less chance of dying from any cause in that period of time .

The researchers decided to check what other factors associated with lifestyle, in addition to medical treatment, could influence the survival of patients who had gone through this serious coronary event, and analyzed data from two large studies conducted in the United States on health of thousands of health professionals -121,000 women and around 51,000 men-, of whom 2,258 women and 1,840 men had a heart attack in the course of 30 years.

A diet rich in fiber improves the glycemic response and insulin sensitivity and blood lipid levels, and is inversely associated with the risk of cardiovascular disease

The authors of the study divided these people into several groups based on the amount of fiber they consumed, and after a follow-up of nine years, they observed that if they only considered cardiovascular disorders as a cause of death, those that consumed more fiber (among 27 and 36 grams per day) had a 13% lower risk of dying than those who took less (between 12 and 17 grams per day).

The scientists adjusted the results taking into account other factors that could also influence the chances of survival after a heart attack, such as medical history, age, dietary habits, exercise, and so on. The data showed that each increase of ten grams of fiber per day was associated with 15% less chance of dying in the following nine years.

These experts have explained that a diet rich in fiber increases the feeling of satiety by helping to reduce caloric intake, improves glycemic response and insulin sensitivity and blood lipid levels, and is inversely associated with the risk of hypertension, diabetes, dyslipidemia, obesity, and cardiovascular diseases.

Heart attack survivors who eat lots of fibre live longer (November 2019).

Une consommation plus élevée d'aliments riches en fibres réduit le risque de décès dans les neuf années qui suivent la résolution d'un infarctus du myocarde, comme le révèle une nouvelle étude publiée dans British Medical Journal. Ainsi, et selon les résultats de ce travail, les personnes qui, après avoir subi un événement de ce type, ingèrent plus de fibres, entre 27 et 36 grammes par jour, ont 25% moins de chances de mourir de quelque cause que ce soit pendant cette période. .

Les chercheurs ont décidé de vérifier quels autres facteurs associés au mode de vie, en plus du traitement médical, pourraient influer sur la survie des patients ayant subi cet événement coronarien grave. Ils ont également analysé les données de deux grandes études menées aux États-Unis sur la santé. sur des milliers de professionnels de la santé - 121 000 femmes et environ 51 000 hommes -, dont 2 258 femmes et 1 840 hommes ont subi une crise cardiaque au cours des 30 dernières années.

Un régime alimentaire riche en fibres améliore la réponse glycémique, la sensibilité à l'insuline et les taux de lipides dans le sang, et est inversement associé au risque de maladie cardiovasculaire

Les auteurs de l’étude ont divisé ces personnes en plusieurs groupes en fonction de la quantité de fibres consommée. Après un suivi de neuf ans, ils ont observé que, s’ils ne considéraient que les troubles cardiovasculaires comme une cause de décès, ceux qui en consommaient plus 27 et 36 grammes par jour) avaient 13% moins de risque de décès que ceux qui en prenaient moins (entre 12 et 17 grammes par jour).

Les scientifiques ont ajusté les résultats en tenant compte d'autres facteurs susceptibles d'influer sur les chances de survie après une crise cardiaque, tels que les antécédents médicaux, l'âge, les habitudes alimentaires, l'exercice, etc. Les données ont montré que chaque augmentation de dix grammes de fibres par jour était associée à une probabilité de décès réduite de 15% au cours des neuf années suivantes.

Ces experts ont expliqué qu'un régime riche en fibres augmente la sensation de satiété en aidant à réduire l'apport calorique, en améliorant la réponse glycémique, la sensibilité à l'insuline et les taux de lipides sanguins, et est inversement associé au risque de hypertension, diabète, dyslipidémie, obésité et maladies cardiovasculaires.

Benefits of Beans for Peripheral Vascular Disease (Août 2019).