The extra virgin olive oil contains substances that protect health, able to fight against the proliferation of cancer cells. Polyphenols present in virgin olive oil have antioxidant capacity, so they can reduce the risk of developing cardiovascular diseases and cancer.

Studies carried out by Spanish scientists from the Catalan Institute of Oncology and the University of Granada, have found that the polyphenols present in extra virgin olive oil that most protect against cancer are lignans and secoiridoids. The research carried out by Spanish scientists offers new information about the Mediterranean diet and the prevention of diseases, because although enjoying good health is related to genetic inheritance, diet can also contribute to maintaining and improving it.

In 2000 the International Conference on the Mediterranean Diet was held in London, where it was demonstrated that following these feeding guidelines is beneficial for health and reduces the risk factors for developing cardiovascular diseases, cancer and diabetes. The specialists who attended the conference concluded that olive oil and monounsaturated fats can reduce the risk of breast cancer.

What are polyphenols

Polyphenols are a group of chemicals that plants contain. Research indicates that the antioxidant properties of polyphenols pose potential health benefits, such as reducing the risk of developing cardiovascular diseases and cancer.

Lignans are phytochemicals that can mimic the functions of human hormones, without the damaging effects of these. Studies done in animal models show that they prevent the growth of breast tumors. In humans it seems that they reduce the incidence of this pathology.

The authors of the study explained that lignans and secoiridoids exerted a tumoricidal action capable of inhibiting the HER2 cancer gene in cultured human breast cancer cells. However, they warn that the concentrations of these phytochemicals used in the laboratory are not achieved with a normal consumption of olive oil in the daily diet. Therefore, to obtain the anticancer benefits offered by these substances, the researchers propose that these polyphenols be used to develop new anti-cancer drugs.

Mediterranean diet could cut breast cancer cases (November 2019).

Le huile d'olive extra vierge contient des substances qui protègent la santé, capable de lutter contre la prolifération des cellules cancéreuses. Les polyphénols présents dans l'huile d'olive vierge ont une capacité antioxydante et peuvent donc réduire le risque de développer des maladies cardiovasculaires et le cancer.

Des études menées par des scientifiques espagnols de l'Institut catalan d'oncologie et de l'Université de Grenade ont montré que les polyphénols présents dans l'huile d'olive vierge extra qui protègent le mieux du cancer sont les lignanes et les sécoiridoïdes. Les recherches menées par des scientifiques espagnols apportent de nouvelles informations sur le régime méditerranéen et la prévention des maladies, car même si le fait de jouir d'un bon état de santé est lié au patrimoine génétique, le régime peut également contribuer à son maintien et à son amélioration.

En 2000, la Conférence internationale sur le régime méditerranéen s’est tenue à Londres, où il a été démontré que le respect de ces directives alimentaires était bénéfique pour la santé et réduisait les facteurs de risque de développement de maladies cardiovasculaires, du cancer et du diabète. Les spécialistes qui ont assisté à la conférence ont conclu que l’huile d’olive et les acides gras monoinsaturés peuvent réduire le risque de cancer du sein.

Que sont les polyphénols

Les polyphénols sont un groupe de produits chimiques que les plantes contiennent. Les recherches indiquent que les propriétés antioxydantes des polyphénols présentent des avantages potentiels pour la santé, tels que la réduction du risque de développer des maladies cardiovasculaires et le cancer.

Les lignanes sont des composés phytochimiques qui peuvent imiter les fonctions des hormones humaines sans en subir les effets nocifs. Des études effectuées sur des modèles animaux montrent qu’elles préviennent la croissance des tumeurs du sein. Chez l'homme, il semble qu'ils réduisent l'incidence de cette pathologie.

Les auteurs de l'étude ont expliqué que les lignanes et les sécoiridoïdes exerçaient une action anti-cancéreuse capable d'inhiber le gène du cancer HER2 dans des cellules de cancer du sein humaines en culture. Cependant, ils avertissent que les concentrations de ces composés phytochimiques utilisés en laboratoire ne sont pas atteintes avec une consommation normale d'huile d'olive dans l'alimentation quotidienne. Par conséquent, pour obtenir les avantages anticancéreux offerts par ces substances, les chercheurs proposent d’utiliser ces polyphénols pour développer de nouveaux médicaments anticancéreux.

Prenez une cuillère d’huile d’olive au réveil et voyez ce qui arrive (Août 2019).