The degree of contamination due to fine particles present in the tobacco smoke found inside the catering establishments of the city of Zaragoza, exceeds four to eight times the maximum level that Health considers recommendable, and is ten times higher than the average pollution in the streets of the town.

This is the conclusion of a study carried out by researchers specialized in smoking at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Zaragoza, which has calculated the amount of respirable particles in suspension in 111 hospitality businesses (cafes, bars, restaurants, pubs and nightlife) of this city over the course of a year and a half.

Research has revealed that the pollution caused by tobacco smoke in those premises where smoking is allowed, is significantly higher than the maximum levels recommended by the health authorities, which should not exceed 65 g / m. However, the detected levels oscillate between the 450.33 g / m of the pubs, the 265.04 g / m of bars and cafeterias and the 161.12 g / m that were found in restaurants.

In pubs and discos -where the highest concentration of these particles was detected-, waiters are subject to an average exposure that triples, at least, that of individuals who live with smokers. These data corroborate that involuntary exposure to tobacco smoke is an important public health problem in our country, especially in the hospitality sector, because in most of these workplaces smoking is allowed.

LEGAL MATTERS Hospitality Laws Continued 4/28/11 1 of 2 (November 2019).

Le degré de contamination dû à la présence de fines particules dans la fumée de tabac trouvée dans les établissements de restauration de la ville de Saragosse, dépasse de quatre à huit fois le niveau maximum jugé acceptable par Health et est dix fois plus élevé que pollution moyenne dans les rues de la ville.

C’est la conclusion d’une étude réalisée par des chercheurs spécialisés dans le tabagisme à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université de Saragosse, qui a calculé la quantité de particules respirables en suspension dans 111 entreprises du secteur hôtelier (cafés, bars, restaurants, pubs et discothèques) de cette ville au cours d’un an et demi.

Des recherches ont révélé que la pollution causée par la fumée du tabac dans les locaux où il est permis de fumer est nettement supérieure aux limites maximales recommandées par les autorités sanitaires, qui ne devraient pas dépasser 65 g / m. Cependant, les niveaux détectés oscillent entre les 450,33 g / m des cafés, les 265,04 g / m des bars et cafétérias et les 161,12 g / m trouvés dans les restaurants.

Dans les pubs et les discothèques, où la concentration la plus élevée de ces particules a été détectée, les serveurs sont soumis à une exposition moyenne qui triple au moins celle des personnes vivant avec des fumeurs. Ces données confirment que l'exposition involontaire à la fumée du tabac est un problème de santé publique important dans notre pays, en particulier dans le secteur de l'hôtellerie-restauration, car dans la plupart de ces lieux de travail, il est permis de fumer.

Honoré de BALZAC - La Comédie Humaine 1 - Scènes de la vie privée, Chap.1-30, SOUS-TITRES (Août 2019).