In the last three decades obesity has increased worldwide, both in countries with high economic income as well as in the less favored ones, and in all social classes. This is clear from the data of a report prepared by international experts in public health, which has published The Lancet, and also warns that the efforts made so far to eradicate the obesity epidemic have not worked.

The paper stresses that governments should establish taxes to tax consumption of sugary drinks, as well as measures that limit access to certain food products, with the aim of instilling a type of healthy eating in children. In this regard, Steven Gortmaker, who has participated in the study and is a professor of sociology of health in the Harvard School of Public Health, has explained that consuming sugary drinks frequently, which provide what are known as empty calories because they lack nutritional interest, can cause excess weight and obesity, and is a risk factor for developing type 2 diabetes.

In the last three decades, obesity has increased worldwide, both in countries with high economic incomes and in the less favored ones, and in all social classes

The authors of the study point out that taxes on tobacco and the measures to limit their commercialization and consumption have contributed to the fact that many people have stopped smoking, since many others have not been initiated in this habit so damaging to health, and for that reason they believe that restricting the distribution of drinks and foods that not considered healthy would also help fight obesity, especially in the case of the little ones.

In view of the results of the study, researchers urge the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations to collaborate with the governments of the various affected countries to launch initiatives to prevent and treat obesity , promoting among the population activities aimed at increasing physical exercise and modifying unhealthy dietary patterns. Among other measures, they suggest that programs on nutrition and physical exercise be developed within schools, and that the food industry also be involved in this change of habits, and commit to produce products whose consumption favors a balanced diet.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

FAT SICK NEARLY DEAD: WHY BLACK WOMEN ARE MORE OVERWEIGHT, OBESE AND SICK THAN OTHER RACES (November 2019).

Au cours des trois dernières décennies, l'obésité a augmenté dans le monde entier, à la fois dans les pays à revenu économique élevé, dans les pays les moins favorisés et dans toutes les classes sociales. Cela ressort clairement des données d’un rapport établi par des experts internationaux en santé publique, qui a publié Le lancetet avertit également que les efforts déployés jusqu'à présent pour éradiquer l'épidémie d'obésité n'ont pas abouti.

Le document souligne que les gouvernements devraient établir des taxes pour taxer la consommation des boissons sucrées, ainsi que des mesures limitant l’accès à certains produits alimentaires, dans le but d’instaurer un type de saine alimentation chez les enfants. À cet égard, Steven Gortmaker, qui a participé à l’étude et est professeur de sociologie de la santé dans le Harvard School of Public Health, a expliqué que la consommation fréquente de boissons sucrées, qui fournissent ce qu’on appelle des calories vides car elles manquent d’intérêt nutritionnel, peut entraîner un excès de poids et l’obésité, et constitue un facteur de risque pour le diabète de type 2.

Au cours des trois dernières décennies, l'obésité a augmenté dans le monde entier, aussi bien dans les pays à revenu économique élevé que dans les moins favorisés, et dans toutes les classes sociales.

Les auteurs de l'étude soulignent que les taxes sur tabac et les mesures visant à limiter leur commercialisation et leur consommation ont contribué au fait que de nombreuses personnes ont cessé de fumer, car beaucoup d’autres n’ont pas été initiées à cette habitude aussi préjudiciable à la santé, raison pour laquelle elles estiment que la distribution de boissons et ne pas être considéré en bonne santé aiderait également à lutter contre l'obésité, en particulier chez les plus petits.

Au vu des résultats de cette étude, les chercheurs exhortent l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et les Nations Unies à collaborer avec les gouvernements des différents pays touchés pour lancer des initiatives de prévention et de traitement de l'obésité. , promouvoir auprès de la population des activités visant à accroître l’exercice physique et à modifier les habitudes alimentaires malsaines. Entre autres mesures, ils suggèrent que des programmes sur la nutrition et l'exercice physique soient élaborés dans les écoles et que l'industrie alimentaire participe également à ce changement d'habitudes et s'engage à fabriquer des produits dont la consommation favorise une alimentation équilibrée.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Fat Head (en français) (Août 2019).