The Spanish Society of Neurology (SEN) and the Brain Foundation have developed a series of councils aimed at the general population to inform about the measures we must take to protect the brain from rising temperatures typical of the summer season.

Although the SEN recommendations are for everyone, people suffering from degenerative diseases are more prone to dehydration, and these experts point out that the symptoms of many pathologies, such as neuromuscular diseases are also aggravated by heat. . To minimize the risks, therefore, advise taking the following precautions:

A dehydration that exceeds 2% of body weight reduces the ability to concentrate, short-term memory and physical performance, and increases fatigue and the possibility of suffering a headache

  • Protect from heat and avoid sudden changes in temperature. High temperatures can cause insomnia and headache, in addition to fatigue and, as already mentioned, the symptoms of many diseases get worse with heat. It is also necessary to be careful with sudden changes in temperature; thus, to put the air conditioning very strong, to take drinks or very cold foods, or to bathe after having remained in the sun, can trigger headache.
  • Stay hydrated. Dr. David A. Pérez, director of the Brain Foundation explains that a dehydration that exceeds 2% of body weight reduces the ability to concentrate, short-term memory and physical performance, increasing fatigue and the possibility of suffering headache, even when it comes to healthy adults. These symptoms are more intense in the case of older people, he warns, and extreme care must be taken in the case of patients with dementia or other types of degenerative diseases because they may have altered the sensation of thirst.
  • Establish a regular schedule for sleeping and eating. An advice especially directed to the people that suffer migrañas or headaches and to the patients with epilepsy, since they can see aggravated their crises by the lack of sleep.
  • Follow a healthy diet. According to these specialists, the best thing for the brain is the Mediterranean diet. In addition, they advise not to make excesses and increase the consumption of foods rich in water, such as fruit and salads, because they will help us stay hydrated.
  • Use protective helmets when doing sports or dangerous activities. In summer, because of the heat, the population tends not to wear protective helmets, and this increases accidents. Experts remember that you have to protect your head all year, both in the workplace and when practicing certain risky sports.
  • Exercise regularly, because among other advantages helps prevent high blood pressure, a condition very harmful to the brain. In summer, the ideal is swimming or walking, always avoiding the hottest hours, and using sunscreen, and appropriate clothing when doing outdoor activities.

Source: Spanish Society of Neurology (SEN)

5 Books That'll Change Your Life | Book Recommendations | Doctor Mike (November 2019).

La Société espagnole de neurologie (SEN) et la Brain Foundation ont mis au point une série de conseils visant à informer la population en général sur les mesures à prendre pour protéger le cerveau de la hausse des températures typique de la saison estivale.

Bien que les recommandations SEN s’adressent à tous, les personnes atteintes de maladies dégénératives sont plus sujettes à la déshydratation. Ces experts soulignent que les symptômes de nombreuses pathologies, telles que les maladies neuromusculaires, sont également aggravés par la chaleur. . Pour minimiser les risques, il est donc conseillé de prendre les précautions suivantes:

Une déshydratation supérieure à 2% du poids corporel réduit la capacité de concentration, la mémoire à court terme et les performances physiques, augmente la fatigue et la possibilité de souffrir de maux de tête.

  • Protéger de la chaleur et éviter les changements brusques de température. Les températures élevées peuvent causer de l'insomnie et des maux de tête, en plus de la fatigue et, comme déjà mentionné, des symptômes de nombreuses maladies s'aggravent avec la chaleur. Il faut également faire attention aux changements brusques de température; ainsi, mettre la climatisation très forte, prendre des boissons ou des aliments très froids, ou se baigner après être resté au soleil peut déclencher des maux de tête.
  • Rester hydraté. Le Dr David A. Pérez, directeur de la Brain Foundation, explique qu'une déshydratation supérieure à 2% du poids corporel réduit la capacité de concentration, la mémoire à court terme et la performance physique, ce qui augmente la fatigue et la possibilité de souffrir. mal de tête, même chez les adultes en bonne santé. Il met en garde sur le fait que ces symptômes sont plus intenses chez les personnes âgées et que, chez les patients atteints de démence ou d’autres types de maladies dégénératives, il faut faire extrêmement attention car ils peuvent avoir altéré la sensation de soif.
  • Établissez un horaire régulier pour dormir et manger. Un conseil spécialement destiné aux personnes souffrant de migrañas ou de maux de tête et aux patients atteints d'épilepsie, car ils peuvent voir aggravée leurs crises par le manque de sommeil.
  • Suivre un régime alimentaire sain. Selon ces spécialistes, le meilleur atout pour le cerveau est le régime méditerranéen. En outre, ils conseillent de ne pas faire d'excès et d'augmenter la consommation d'aliments riches en eau, tels que les fruits et les salades, car ils nous aideront à rester hydratés.
  • Utilisez des casques de protection en faisant du sport ou des activités dangereuses. En été, à cause de la chaleur, la population a tendance à ne pas porter de casque de protection, ce qui augmente les accidents. Les experts se souviennent que vous devez protéger votre tête toute l’année, tant sur le lieu de travail que lors de la pratique de certains sports à risque.
  • Faire de l'exercice régulièrement, entre autres avantages, aide à prévenir l’hypertension artérielle, une maladie très nocive pour le cerveau. En été, l'idéal est de nager ou de marcher, en évitant toujours les heures les plus chaudes, en utilisant un écran solaire et des vêtements appropriés pour les activités en plein air.

Source: Société espagnole de neurologie (SEN)

Curcuma : anti-inflammatoire naturel, arthrose, arthrite, anti-cancer (Août 2019).