The United Nations Children's Fund (Unicef) has just released its report 'Opportunities in times of crisis: to avoid HIV / AIDS from the first adolescence to the beginning of adulthood', which highlights a devastating and worrisome data: about 2,500 young people from all over the world contract AIDS every day, despite "the slight decrease" in the general prevalence rate among this group.

The data, which refer to the year 2009, also indicate that "41 percent of the new affected over 15 years in 2009 were people between 15 and 24 years." In this regard, he adds that "about five million young people of these ages lived with HIV / AIDS in 2009" and states that there are some two million adolescents between 10 and 19 years old affected by this disease. "Mostly, these are people who live in sub-Saharan Africa and are women. Very few of them are aware that they have contracted the virus, "says the work. The figures in this sense are clear: more than 60 percent of young people who have AIDS in the world are women and that this rate reaches 70 percent in sub-Saharan Africa.

There are about two million adolescents between 10 and 19 years affected by this disease

Margaret Chan, Director General of the World Health Organization, has commented on this fact stating that "the success achieved with respect to increasing access to antiretroviral drugs means that more young people with HIV / AIDS have higher survival rates, but many of them are not aware of their infection. "

The causes of these high contagion figures among the youngest? Experts point to some high-risk behaviors, such as early sexual initiation, adolescent pregnancy and drug use, which "are clear symptoms that something is not working in adolescents' environments, and these symptoms may be related to the violence, exploitation, abuse or abandonment ".

New prevention strategies

For his part, the director general of the World Bank, Mahmoud Mohieldin, has warned that "the world urgently needs new strategies to prevent HIV / AIDS," while adding that "for every two people who obtain treatment against this disease that threatens their lives, other five are infected, which puts in impossible situations many poor countries and the communities that make them up ".

The executive director of UNICEF, Anthony Lake, said that "this report encourages leaders at all levels to create a chain of prevention to keep adolescents and young people informed, protected and healthy." The families of the young people, their teachers and teachers, as well as the leaders of their communities "can play an important role in establishing habits of responsible behavior and advocate for the young people to be provided all the services they need to maintain themselves healthy. "

Our Voices - Young People and HIV (November 2019).

Le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (Unicef) vient de publier son rapport intitulé «Opportunités en temps de crise: éviter le VIH / sida dès la première adolescence jusqu'au début de la vie adulte», qui met en lumière une situation catastrophique et inquiétante données: environ 2 500 jeunes du monde entier contractent le sida chaque jour, malgré "la légère diminution" du taux de prévalence générale dans ce groupe.

Les données, qui se réfèrent à l'année 2009, indiquent également que "41% des nouvelles personnes affectées sur 15 ans en 2009 étaient des personnes âgées de 15 à 24 ans". A cet égard, il ajoute qu '"environ cinq millions de jeunes de ces âges ont vécu avec le VIH / SIDA en 2009" et indique qu'il y a environ deux millions d'adolescents âgés de 10 à 19 ans affectés par cette maladie. "Ce sont principalement des personnes qui vivent en Afrique subsaharienne et sont des femmes. Très peu d’entre eux savent qu’ils ont contracté le virus ", explique le travail. Les chiffres en ce sens sont clairs: plus de 60% des jeunes atteints du sida dans le monde sont des femmes et ce taux atteint 70% en Afrique subsaharienne.

Environ deux millions d'adolescents âgés de 10 à 19 ans sont touchés par cette maladie.

Margaret Chan, directrice générale de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, a commenté ce fait en déclarant que "le succès obtenu en ce qui concerne l'augmentation de l'accès aux médicaments antirétroviraux signifie qu'un plus grand nombre de jeunes personnes atteintes du VIH / sida ont des taux de survie supérieurs, beaucoup d'entre eux ne sont pas conscients de leur infection. "

Les causes de cette forte contagion figurent parmi les plus jeunes? Les experts soulignent certains comportements à haut risque, tels que l’initiation sexuelle précoce, la grossesse et l’usage de drogues, qui sont "des symptômes évidents que quelque chose ne fonctionne pas dans l’environnement des adolescents, et ces symptômes peuvent être liés à la violence, exploitation, abus ou abandon ".

Nouvelles stratégies de prévention

Pour sa part, le directeur général de la Banque mondiale, Mahmoud Mohieldin, a averti que "le monde a besoin de nouvelles stratégies pour prévenir le VIH / SIDA", tout en ajoutant que "pour deux personnes traitement contre cette maladie qui menace leur vie, cinq autres sont infectés, ce qui met dans des situations impossibles de nombreux pays pauvres et les communautés qui les composent ".

Anthony Lake, directeur exécutif de l'UNICEF, a déclaré que "ce rapport encourage les dirigeants à tous les niveaux à créer une chaîne de prévention pour que les adolescents et les jeunes restent informés, protégés et en bonne santé". Les familles des jeunes, leurs enseignants et enseignants, ainsi que les dirigeants de leurs communautés "peuvent jouer un rôle important dans l'établissement d'habitudes de comportement responsable et plaider en faveur de la fourniture aux jeunes de tous les services dont ils ont besoin pour se maintenir en bonne santé. "

The Third Industrial Revolution: A Radical New Sharing Economy (Août 2019).