The European Commission, following the recommendation of the European Medicines Agency, has authorized the use of Gardasil the quadrivalent vaccine against the human papilloma virus (HPV), in children from 9 years of age, and young people from 16 to 26 years, which makes it the first vaccine against this virus that can be administered to both sexes.

The drug, marketed by Sanofi Pasteur MSD, and available since 2006, protects against four types of the virus (6, 11, 16 and 18), and its data sheet has been updated based on the results of a clinical trial in which its effectiveness has been confirmed to preventgenital warts, a common condition in youth and whose incidence is increasing.

In addition, this latest study adds to others that show the high immune response produced by the vaccine in adolescents between 9 and 15 years.

The vaccination of men against HPV can help reduce the circulation of the virus, and thus improve the results of the vaccine in young women.

As explained by Benoit Soubeyrand, medical director of Sanofi Pasteur MSD in Europe, as well as preventing the appearance of genital warts in young boys and girls, Gardasil It can contribute to reduce the circulation of HPV and, in this way, also improve the results of vaccination in young women.

The clinical efficacy of the vaccine has also been included in the new vaccine's technical data sheet to prevent precancerous lesions of anus caused by types 16 and 18 of HPV, as has been proven in a sub-study conducted with men who claimed to have sex with other men. Both types are responsible for 70% of precancerous lesions of the anus, 80% of anal cancers, and 70% of penile cancers.

This study, as indicated by company sources, has been based on precancerous lesions as a marker of anal cancer, since it is not possible to study the prevention of this pathology for ethical reasons.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Cancer Moonshot III: Translational Medicine (November 2019).

Suite à la recommandation de l'Agence européenne des médicaments, la Commission européenne a autorisé l'utilisation de Gardasil le vaccin quadrivalent contre le virus du papillome humain (VPH) chez les enfants de 9 ans et les jeunes de 16 à 26 ans, ce qui en fait le premier vaccin contre ce virus pouvant être administré aux deux sexes.

Le médicament, commercialisé par Sanofi Pasteur MSD et disponible depuis 2006, protège contre quatre types de virus (6, 11, 16 et 18). Sa fiche de données a été mise à jour en fonction des résultats d'un essai clinique dans lequel son efficacité a été confirmée pour prévenirverrues génitales, une condition commune chez les jeunes et dont l'incidence augmente.

En outre, cette dernière étude s’ajoute à d’autres qui montrent la forte réponse immunitaire produite par le vaccin chez les adolescents âgés de 9 à 15 ans.

La vaccination des hommes contre le VPH peut aider à réduire la circulation du virus et ainsi améliorer les résultats du vaccin chez les jeunes femmes.

Comme l'a expliqué Benoit Soubeyrand, directeur médical de Sanofi Pasteur MSD en Europe, ainsi que la prévention de l'apparition de verrues génitales chez les jeunes garçons et les jeunes filles, Gardasil Il peut contribuer à réduire la circulation du VPH et, ainsi, à améliorer les résultats de la vaccination chez les jeunes femmes.

L'efficacité clinique du vaccin a également été incluse dans la fiche technique du nouveau vaccin pour prévenir lésions précancéreuses de l'anus causée par les types 16 et 18 du VPH, comme l'a prouvé une sous-étude menée auprès d'hommes ayant déclaré avoir des relations sexuelles avec d'autres hommes. Les deux types sont responsables de 70% des lésions précancéreuses de l'anus, 80% des cancers de l'anus et 70% des cancers du pénis.

Cette étude, comme indiqué par des sources de l'entreprise, s'est basée sur les lésions précancéreuses en tant que marqueur du cancer anal, car il n'est pas possible d'étudier la prévention de cette pathologie pour des raisons éthiques.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Les limites du vaccin contre la grippe (Août 2019).