Women have a greater capacity than men to resist and control chronic stress thanks to the protective effect of estrogen, concludes a recent study conducted by a group of researchers from the University of Buffalo (UB) in New York (United States).

Previous studies had already proven that women are more resistant to stress, although the cause was not known. The UB scientists conducted an experiment with young female rats, which they exposed for a week to difficult and stressful situations, but not dangerous, similar to those experienced by humans, and did the same with young males.

When the researchers manipulated the amount of estrogen in the brain they managed to make the males respond better to stress

They observed that while the short-term memory of the males was affected, in the case of the females they had no problem remembering and recognizing objects that had previously been shown to them.

The deterioration in the ability to remember occurs as a result of an alteration in the signaling capacity of the glutamate receptor in the area of ​​the brain that controls working memory, attention, emotion and decision making, among other processes, and stress influences the loss of glutamate receptors in young males, while, according to the new work, that same receptor is intact in the case of females subjected to stress.

The UB scientists manipulated the amount of estrogen produced in the brain and achieved that the males responded better to stress than the females, also verifying that when the signaling of the estrogens was blocked in the brain of the females, the stress affected them. negatively.

Zhen Yan, professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics of the Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences of the UB, and main author of this research, has explained that if a compound similar to estrogen was discovered and that it did not cause side effects, it could be develop an effective treatment against the problems caused by stress in men, because although stress is not a psychiatric disorder it can become a trigger of this type of pathologies in vulnerable people.

023- Relieving Stress, Improving Cognitive Function, and Increasing Performance Through Breath... (November 2019).

Les femmes ont une plus grande capacité que les hommes à résister et à contrôler le stress chronique grâce à l'effet protecteur de oestrogène, conclut une étude récente menée par un groupe de chercheurs de l'Université de Buffalo (UB) à New York (États-Unis).

Des études antérieures avaient déjà prouvé que les femmes étaient plus résistantes au stress, bien que la cause n'en soit pas connue. Les scientifiques de l'UB ont mené une expérience avec de jeunes rats femelles, qu'ils ont exposés pendant une semaine à des situations difficiles et stressantes, mais non dangereuses, similaires à celles vécues par les humains, et ont fait de même avec les jeunes mâles.

Lorsque les chercheurs ont manipulé la quantité d'oestrogène dans le cerveau, ils ont réussi à amener les hommes à mieux réagir au stress.

Ils ont observé que, si la mémoire à court terme des hommes était affectée, les femmes n’avaient aucun problème à se souvenir et à reconnaître les objets qui leur avaient été présentés auparavant.

La détérioration de la capacité de mémorisation résulte d'une altération de la capacité de signalisation du récepteur du glutamate dans la zone du cerveau qui contrôle la mémoire de travail, l'attention, les émotions et la prise de décision, entre autres processus, et le stress influence la perte de récepteurs du glutamate chez les jeunes hommes, alors que, selon le nouveau travail, ce même récepteur est intact chez les femmes soumises à un stress.

Les scientifiques de l'UB ont manipulé la quantité d'œstrogène produite dans le cerveau et ont permis aux hommes de mieux réagir au stress que les femmes, en vérifiant également que le stress les affectait lorsque la signalisation des œstrogènes était bloquée dans le cerveau des femmes. négativement

Zhen Yan, professeur au département de physiologie et de biophysique de la faculté de médecine et de sciences biomédicales de l'Université de Boston, et auteur principal de cette recherche, a expliqué que si un composé similaire à l'œstrogène était découvert et qu'il ne causait pas d'effets secondaires, il pourrait développer un traitement efficace contre les problèmes causés par le stress chez les hommes, car même si le stress n'est pas un trouble psychiatrique, il peut devenir un déclencheur de ce type de pathologies chez les personnes vulnérables.

Questions et réponses n°76 - www.regenere.org (Septembre 2019).