Epileptic seizures cause fear and rejection, and patients suffering from epilepsy are often discriminated against socially and occupationally, despite the fact that this disease does not imply any intellectual deficiency or a psychological disorder.

Epileptic seizures, the most important symptom of this chronic disease, are more frequent in children -because their brain is not yet mature- and in those over 65, and seizures can also be a sign of other diseases of the brain. Neurological or metabolic type, such as hypoglycemia.

There is a great ignorance of epilepsy, which together with the unpleasant experience of observing someone who is suffering from a generalized epileptic crisis, has created a 'black legend' about this disease, and has made patients unfairly stigmatized .

Epileptic seizures are more frequent in children -because their brain is not yet mature- and in those older than 65 years

With the right treatment, most patients are free of crises, and some, in fact, are very mild, and consist only in that the affected, without losing consciousness, remains still with the eyes lost during one or two minutes, or make some movements with a finger or mouth.

If a person suffers an epileptic seizure in our presence, specialists advise not to lose your temper, to remove from the patient any object with which you could hit yourself, and wait for the episode to end. When you are calm, it should be placed on your side to avoid obstruction of the airway, and as soon as you recover, go to the emergency room if it is the first time you have an attack. In case you have already diagnosed epilepsy and it is not the first crisis, the patient should go to his neurologist to inform him of what happened.

About 80% of patients respond well to medication, but for those in whom antiepileptic drugs are not effective there are other alternatives such as stimulating the vagus nerve through electrodes or surgery, in cases where it can isolate and eliminate the focus that generates the crisis. In any case, these are individualized treatments that must be evaluated by a team of specialists composed of neurologists, neurosurgeons and neurophysiologists.

Epilepsy: Symptoms and Stigma (November 2019).

Les crises d'épilepsie sont source de peur et de rejet et les patients atteints d'épilepsie font souvent l'objet de discriminations sociales et professionnelles, alors même que cette maladie n'entraîne aucun déficit intellectuel ni aucun trouble psychologique.

Les crises d'épilepsie, le symptôme le plus important de cette maladie chronique, sont plus fréquentes chez les enfants - car leur cerveau n'est pas encore mature - et chez les personnes de plus de 65 ans, et les crises peuvent également être le signe d'autres maladies du cerveau. Type neurologique ou métabolique, tel que l'hypoglycémie.

Il y a une grande ignorance de l'épilepsie qui, conjuguée à l'expérience désagréable d'observer quelqu'un qui souffre d'une crise d'épilepsie généralisée, a créé une «légende noire» sur cette maladie et a rendu les patients injustement stigmatisés. .

Les crises d'épilepsie sont plus fréquentes chez les enfants - car leur cerveau n'est pas encore mature - et chez ceux âgés de plus de 65 ans

Avec le bon traitement, la plupart des patients ne souffrent pas de crises et certains sont en fait très légers et consistent uniquement en ce que les personnes affectées, sans perdre conscience, restent immobiles, les yeux perdus pendant un ou plusieurs jours. deux minutes, ou faire des mouvements avec le doigt ou la bouche.

Si une personne souffre d'une crise d'épilepsie en notre présence, les spécialistes conseillent de ne pas vous mettre en colère, de retirer au patient tout objet avec lequel vous pourriez vous frapper et d'attendre la fin de l'épisode. Lorsque vous êtes calme, placez-le sur votre côté pour éviter toute obstruction des voies respiratoires. Dès que vous récupérerez, dirigez-vous vers la salle des urgences si vous vous attaquez pour la première fois. Si vous avez déjà diagnostiqué l'épilepsie et que ce n'est pas la première crise, le patient doit consulter son neurologue pour l'informer de ce qui s'est passé.

Environ 80% des patients répondent bien aux médicaments, mais pour ceux chez qui médicaments antiépileptiques ne sont pas efficaces, il existe d'autres alternatives telles que la stimulation du nerf vague par des électrodes ou une intervention chirurgicale, dans les cas où il peut isoler et éliminer le foyer qui génère la crise. Dans tous les cas, il s’agit de traitements individualisés qui doivent être évalués par une équipe de spécialistes composée de neurologues, neurochirurgiens et neurophysiologistes.

What is depression? - Helen M. Farrell (Septembre 2019).