A study conducted in the United States, at the University of Southern Illinois, has found that energy drinks contain acid compounds that irreversibly deteriorate the enamel of the denture, which can cause an annoying hypersensitivity to very cold foods or beverages or hot, to oral conditions such as cavities, or even the loss of teeth.

The consumption of this type of drinks is very widespread among young people and adolescents, and although in principle they were used to replace salts and minerals after practicing some sport, over time it has become fashionable to ingest them to combat fatigue due to lack of rest (for example when it is necessary to get up early and has been outdated), and also to be more alert and focused when preparing an exam.

The researchers explain that the sugar contained in these beverages is transformed into acidic substances that damage the denture when it comes into contact with the bacteria present in the oral cavity.

To check the harmful effects of these sodas on the denture, the researchers selected nine different energy drinks and 13 soft drinks for athletes, and immersed them in several dental pieces for 15 minutes, and then bathed them in a solution of artificial saliva, repeating this process four times every day for a week.

The researchers verified that the enamel of the teeth that had been in contact with the energy drinks deteriorated significantly-twice what happened with the pieces that were only immersed in the soft drinks for sportsmen-, and explain that the sugar contained in these Liquids are transformed into acid substances that damage the denture when it comes in contact with the bacteria present in the oral cavity.

From the association of manufacturers of beverages of the United States, the 'American Beverage Association', they complain about the methods followed to carry out the study because they affirm that nobody keeps in the mouth 15 minutes in a row a drink, and much less does it four times day and for a full week. In addition, they add that there are many other factors that determine the appearance of tooth decay and enamel deterioration such as inadequate oral hygiene, or genetic propensity.

However, data from the General Council of Dentists of the USA, estimate that between 30% and 50% of its adolescent population habitually consumes energy drinks, and the spokesperson of this entity, Jennifer Bone, has advised to limit the intake of these sodas and rinse your mouth with water after drinking them and, if that is not possible, chew gum without sugar. He also warned that it is better not to brush your teeth until at least one hour has elapsed since the brushing can favor the action of the acids and extend it throughout the teeth.

What happens to a tooth if you leave it in Soft Drink for 24 hours? (November 2019).

Une étude menée aux États-Unis, à l'Université de Southern Illinois, a révélé que les boissons énergisantes contiennent des composés acides qui détériorent de manière irréversible l'émail de la prothèse, ce qui peut provoquer une hypersensibilité gênante aux aliments ou boissons très froids ou à chaud, à des conditions orales telles que des cavités, ou même la perte de dents.

La consommation de ce type de boissons est très répandue chez les jeunes et les adolescents et, bien qu’elle fût en principe utilisée pour remplacer les sels et les minéraux après une activité sportive, il est devenu à la mode de les ingérer pour lutter contre la fatigue due au manque de repos exemple quand il est nécessaire de se lever tôt et a été dépassé), et aussi d'être plus alerte et concentré lors de la préparation d'un examen.

Les chercheurs expliquent que le sucre contenu dans ces boissons se transforme en substances acides qui endommagent la prothèse au contact des bactéries présentes dans la cavité buccale.

Pour vérifier les effets néfastes de ces sodas sur la prothèse, les chercheurs ont sélectionné neuf boissons énergisantes différentes et 13 boissons non alcoolisées pour sportifs, puis les ont immergées dans plusieurs pièces dentaires pendant 15 minutes, puis les ont baignées dans une solution de salive ce processus quatre fois par jour pendant une semaine.

Les chercheurs ont vérifié que l'émail des dents qui avaient été en contact avec les boissons énergisantes se détérioraient considérablement, ce qui est deux fois le cas des morceaux immergés uniquement dans les boissons non alcoolisées destinées aux sportifs, et explique que le sucre contenu dans ces boissons Les liquides sont transformés en substances acides qui endommagent la prothèse lorsqu'elle entre en contact avec les bactéries présentes dans la cavité buccale.

De l'association des fabricants de boissons des États-Unis, la «American Beverage Association», ils se plaignent des méthodes suivies pour mener l'étude car ils affirment que personne ne tient dans la bouche 15 minutes de suite avec un verre, et encore moins quatre fois jour et pour une semaine complète. En outre, ils ajoutent qu’il existe de nombreux autres facteurs qui déterminent l’apparition de la carie dentaire et la détérioration de l’émail, tels qu’une hygiène buccale inadéquate ou une propension génétique.

Toutefois, les données du Conseil général des dentistes des États-Unis estiment qu'entre 30% et 50% de la population adolescente consomme habituellement des boissons énergisantes, et la porte-parole de cette entité, Jennifer Bone, a conseillé de limiter la consommation de ces sodas et rincez-vous la bouche avec de l'eau après les avoir bu et, si cela n'est pas possible, mâchez de la gomme sans sucre. Il a également averti qu'il est préférable de ne pas se brosser les dents avant qu'au moins une heure se soit écoulée depuis la prise, car le brossage peut favoriser l'action des acides et l'étendre à toutes les dents.

DEGUSTATION : RATION DE COMBAT ITALIENNE ! (Août 2019).