It is estimated that half of women suffer a urinary infection at least once in their lives, 30 percent of repetition. Apparently, these infections are more frequent in women who use IUDs.

80% of cystitis originates in sexual relations, according to the director of the Madrileño Urological Institute, Dr. Juan Carlos Ruiz, who notes that, in the case of young women, "the frequency of sexual relations increases the risk of contracting this infection, especially if an intrauterine device (IUD) is used. "

On the occasion of the IV Meeting of Urology for Primary Care Physicians and Residents of Urology, endorsed by the Spanish Association of Urology (AEU), this expert has stressed that, after menopause, the risk of cystitis increases again "due to that the vaginal epithelium is thinner, there is greater dryness, with which more wounds are produced, and, in addition, there are changes in the vaginal flora that favor infections ".

It is estimated that half of women suffer a urinary infection at least once in their lives and 30 percent of them are repeat (more than two in a year). To prevent and treat cystitis, Dr. Ruiz recommends drinking "plenty of fluid", urinating right after a sexual relationship (even if you do not feel like it) and taking, before or after, a dose of a blueberry pharmaceutical preparation, with another shot at 12 o'clock.

The properties of this red fruit against cystitis are attributed to proanthocyanidins, "which hinder the adhesion of bacteria, especially the Escherichia Coli, on the epithelium of the urinary tract, and, therefore, avoiding the infectious process ", explains this specialist.

According to the 'White Book of cranberry' (cranberry red in English), endorsed by the Ibero-American Society of Neurourology and Uroginecology and the Spanish Society of Community Pharmacy (SEFAC), in cystitis is necessary to take this preparation "thirty days in a row to get Escherichia coli do not repopulate the urinary tract "and repeat the taking" at least three or four months a year ".

Possibility of combination with antibiotics

Cranberry can be taken in combination with antibiotics, notes Dr. Ruiz, and can be consumed "both preventively, in people with a tendency to cystitis, as in treatment, for prolonged periods, since it has no side effects and interactions." So much so that even their pharmaceutical preparations can be used in newborns and pregnant women, according to specialists.

As this 'White Paper' states, cranberry "seems to be useful as a therapeutic agent for the prevention of urinary tract infections in pregnant or breastfeeding women". In this regard, the director of the Madrilenian Urological Institute recommends cranberry in children with frequent urinary infections, such as those who suffer vesicourethral reflux.

EUROPE PRESS
Photo: INSTITUTO UROLÓGICO MADRILEÑO

Urinary Tract Infection | How To Prevent UTI (2018) (November 2019).

On estime que la moitié des femmes souffrent d'une infection urinaire au moins une fois dans leur vie, soit 30% des cas. Apparemment, ces infections sont plus fréquentes chez les femmes utilisant un stérilet.

Selon le directeur de l'Institut d'urologie Madrileño, le Dr Juan Carlos Ruiz, 80% des cas de cystite sont d'origine sexuelle, soulignant que, dans le cas des jeunes femmes, "la fréquence des relations sexuelles augmente le risque contracter cette infection, en particulier si un dispositif intra-utérin (DIU) est utilisé. "

À l'occasion de la IVe réunion d'urologie pour les médecins de soins primaires et les résidents en urologie, approuvée par l'Association espagnole d'urologie (AEU), cet expert a souligné que, après la ménopause, le risque de cystite augmente à nouveau "en raison de l’épithélium vaginal est plus mince, la sécheresse est plus grande, ce qui entraîne la formation de plus de blessures et, en outre, des modifications de la flore vaginale favorisant les infections ".

On estime que la moitié des femmes souffrent d'une infection urinaire au moins une fois dans leur vie et 30% d'entre elles sont récurrentes (plus de deux par an). Pour prévenir et traiter la cystite, le Dr Ruiz recommande de boire "beaucoup de liquide", d'uriner juste après une relation sexuelle (même si vous n'en avez pas envie) et de prendre, avant ou après, une dose d'une préparation pharmaceutique de myrtille, avec un autre coup à 12 heures.

Les propriétés de ce fruit rouge contre la cystite sont attribuées aux proanthocyanidines ", qui entravent l’adhésion des bactéries, en particulier du Escherichia Coli, sur l’épithélium des voies urinaires, évitant ainsi le processus infectieux ", explique ce spécialiste.

Selon le «Livre blanc de la canneberge» (rouge canneberge en anglais), approuvé par la Société ibéro-américaine de neurourologie et d'uroginécologie et la Société espagnole de pharmacie communautaire (SEFAC), une cystite est nécessaire pour prendre cette préparation "trente jours d'affilée pour obtenir Escherichia coli ne pas repeupler les voies urinaires "et répétez la prise" au moins trois ou quatre mois par an ".

Possibilité de combinaison avec des antibiotiques

La canneberge peut être prise en association avec des antibiotiques, note le Dr Ruiz, et peut être consommée "de manière préventive, chez les personnes présentant une tendance à la cystite, comme pendant le traitement, pendant des périodes prolongées, car elle n’a pas d’effets secondaires ni d’interactions". À tel point que même leurs préparations pharmaceutiques peuvent être utilisées chez les nouveau-nés et les femmes enceintes, selon des spécialistes.

Comme le dit ce «Livre blanc», la canneberge «semble être utile en tant qu'agent thérapeutique pour la prévention des infections des voies urinaires chez les femmes enceintes ou allaitantes». À cet égard, le directeur de l'Institut d'urologie madrilène a recommandé la canneberge chez les enfants atteints d'infections urinaires fréquentes, tels que ceux qui souffrent de reflux vésico-urétral.

EUROPE PRESSE
Photo: INSTITUTO UROLÓGICO MADRILEÑO

POURQUOI LA PLUPART DES FEMMES NE SAIGNENT PAS LA PREMIÈRE FOIS (Septembre 2019).