Hyperhidrosis is a disease that causes increased sweating in the soles of the feet, armpits, palms, and face, and can be resolved by surgery in up to 80% of cases.

According to Dr. Olga Rodríguez, head of the Hyperhidrosis Unit at USP San Camilo, excess sweating, which seriously affects at least 350,000 people, rather than having consequences on the patient's health, has a negative impact on their social life, deteriorating their quality of life.

In addition, says the specialist, those affected feel embarrassed by the problem and do not go to the doctor, which affects their daily lives, limiting their activities, decreasing their self-esteem, and even causing depressive disorders.

The cause of hyperhidrosis, which affects both sexes equally and has a higher incidence in people between the ages of 20 and 40 years, is not known, but it is related to stimulation of the sympathetic nerve. In situations of stress or high temperatures, the condition worsens, and patients are particularly concerned about excessive sweating in the armpits and palms, where it is more evident.

Surgical intervention interrupts the nerve fibers of the sympathetic nerve using the technique known as sympatholysis or sympathicotomy (which consists of cutting them), or placing a metal clip on these fibers. This surgery is performed under general anesthesia, practicing one or two small incisions at the level of the armpit, through which a camera and everything necessary to carry out the procedure is introduced into the thorax. The patient usually stays in the hospital for 24 hours, although two or three hours after the intervention he is sufficiently recovered to go home.

The patient tries several options before going to the doctor's office, and some have even had to leave work because of excessive sweating

The expert explains that the patient always tries several options before going to the doctor, and adds that some cases are really desperate because they have come to quit the job because of the problem that involves the excess of sweat. In his opinion, the surgical technique could be the definitive solution for the most serious cases. At the moment, the only side effect that presents is a slight compensatory hyperhidrosis in the soles of the feet, which does not interfere in the patient's daily activities.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Hyperhidrosis Surgery for Children: Thoracoscopic Sympathectomy (November 2019).

L'hyperhidrose est une maladie qui provoque une transpiration accrue de la plante des pieds, des aisselles, des paumes et du visage. Elle peut être résolue par une intervention chirurgicale dans 80% des cas.

Selon le Dr Olga Rodríguez, chef de l'unité d'hyperhidrose à l'USP San Camilo, une transpiration excessive, qui affecte gravement au moins 350 000 personnes, plutôt que d'avoir des conséquences sur la santé du patient, a un impact négatif sur la vie sociale du qualité de vie.

En outre, dit le spécialiste, les personnes concernées se sentent gênées par le problème et ne consultent pas leur médecin, ce qui affecte leur vie quotidienne, limite leurs activités, diminue leur estime de soi et peut même provoquer des troubles dépressifs.

La cause de l'hyperhidrose, qui affecte les deux sexes également et a une incidence plus élevée chez les personnes âgées de 20 à 40 ans, n'est pas connue, mais elle est liée à la stimulation du nerf sympathique. Dans des situations de stress ou de températures élevées, l'état de santé s'aggrave et les patients sont particulièrement préoccupés par la transpiration excessive des aisselles et des paumes, où elle est plus évidente.

Intervention chirurgicale interrompt les fibres nerveuses du nerf sympathique en utilisant la technique connue sous le nom sympatholyse o sympathicotomie (qui consiste à les couper), ou à placer une pince métallique sur ces fibres. Cette chirurgie est réalisée sous anesthésie générale, en pratiquant une ou deux petites incisions au niveau des aisselles, à travers lesquelles une caméra et tout le nécessaire pour effectuer la procédure sont introduits dans le thorax. Le patient reste habituellement à l'hôpital pendant 24 heures, bien que deux ou trois heures après l'intervention, il soit suffisamment rétabli pour pouvoir rentrer chez lui.

Le patient essaie plusieurs options avant de se rendre chez le médecin. Certains ont même dû quitter leur travail à cause d'une transpiration excessive.

L’expert explique que le patient essaie toujours plusieurs options avant d’aller chez le médecin et ajoute que certains cas sont vraiment désespérés car ils ont fini par quitter le travail à cause du problème lié à l’excès de sueur. A son avis, la technique chirurgicale pourrait être la solution définitive pour les cas les plus graves. À l'heure actuelle, le seul effet secondaire qui existe est une légère hyperhidrose compensatoire de la plante des pieds qui n'interfère pas dans les activités quotidiennes du patient.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Comment traiter la transpiration excessive avec 5 remèdes... (Août 2019).