Eight out of ten people with pollen allergies are sensitive to grass pollen, as evidenced by an informative talk about spring allergies developed in Pamplona, ​​in which doctors Ana Isabel Tabar, head of the Servicio de Allergology of the Hospital Complex of Navarra, which has reported on the clinical aspects of allergies, and Javier Aldaz, head of Food and Environmental Health of the Institute of Public Health, which has referred to the epidemiological aspects of this spring condition caused by pollens .

According to these specialists, the allergic process is triggered when the immune system of a person with allergic disease identifies as harmful substances called allergens, which are harmless to the rest of the population. When coming into contact with the allergen to which the patient is sensitive, a series of processes occur, in which the main responsible is an antibody called Immunoglobulin E or IgE, which defends the organism trying to eliminate allergens from tissues and the blood.

Scarce treatment follow-up

In addition to environmental prevention measures, drugs that reduce symptoms can be used: antihistamines, which control itching and sneezing, anti-inflammatories or inhaled topical corticosteroids, which reduce nasal obstruction and inflammation, eye drops, which relieve itching and ocular redness , bronchodilators, which relieve cough and chest sounds, and anti-inflammatories such as corticosteroids and antileukotrienes, which reduce bronchial symptoms.

Simultaneously with the pharmacological treatment or relief of symptoms, there is immunotherapy or treatment with vaccines. In many cases of respiratory allergy, when the allergen is identified, the immunotherapy or vaccine has demonstrated its effectiveness, and consists in the administration, progressively, either subcutaneously or sublingually, of said allergen, until inducing a tolerance in the organism. .

However, according to experts, despite the widely demonstrated efficacy of antiallergic vaccination, many patients leave treatment. In most cases, the patient's lack of adherence to immunotherapy is due to the lack of knowledge about his disease and treatment; The lack of information generates distrust and makes the patient not include the treatment in their routine and, consequently, does not follow the recommended guidelines.

Many of them stay halfway or at the beginning of treatment, so one year after starting treatment only six out of ten patients continue, while in the long term half of the remaining patients have left.

Allergy of all springs

As every year, the agent that will cause the most symptoms this spring is grass pollen. It is the most allergenic and most widely distributed in our country. Eight out of ten pollen allergic patients (pollen) are sensitive to grass pollen. The intensity in the pollination of the grasses of each season maintains a close relation with the humidity and pre-seasonal rainfall, that is to say, that one that registers between the months of October to March, according to the specialists indicate.

However, the real impact of this "spring" agent on the symptomatology of patients will ultimately depend on how the month of May is presented; it will be the climatology of said weeks, period in which the pollination takes place, the one that is determining. Dry weather and moderate temperatures is the worst scenario for allergy sufferers.

On the other hand, rain and wet weather during pollination decrease pollen concentration levels. In 2009 the high temperatures caused by Saharan winds, quickly exhausted the grasses. On the contrary, last year, the abundant rains of the months of May and June, favored a softer spring than that predicted in the month of March.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Runny nose? Itchy eyes? Allergies, arise! (November 2019).

Huit personnes allergiques au pollen sur dix sont sensibles au pollen de graminées, comme en témoigne un exposé informatif sur les allergies printanières développé à Pampelune, dans le cadre duquel les médecins Ana Isabel Tabar, directrice du Servicio de Allergologie du complexe hospitalier de Navarre, qui a présenté les aspects cliniques des allergies, et Javier Aldaz, responsable de la santé des aliments et de l'environnement de l'Institut de santé publique, qui a évoqué les aspects épidémiologiques de la maladie printanière causée par les pollens .

Selon ces spécialistes, le processus allergique est déclenché lorsque le système immunitaire d'une personne souffrant d'une maladie allergique s'identifie à des substances nocives appelées allergènes, qui sont inoffensives pour le reste de la population. Lorsqu’il entre en contact avec l’allergène auquel le patient est sensible, il se produit une série de processus dans lesquels le principal responsable est un anticorps appelé immunoglobuline E ou IgE, qui défend l’organisme qui tente d’éliminer les allergènes des tissus et des tissus. le sang.

Suivi de traitement rare

En plus des mesures de prévention de l'environnement, des médicaments réduisant les symptômes peuvent être utilisés: antihistaminiques, qui contrôlent les démangeaisons et les éternuements, les anti-inflammatoires ou les corticostéroïdes topiques inhalés, qui réduisent l'obstruction et l'inflammation nasales, les gouttes oculaires, qui atténuent les démangeaisons et les rougeurs oculaires. , les bronchodilatateurs, qui soulagent la toux et les bruits thoraciques, et les anti-inflammatoires tels que les corticostéroïdes et les antileukotriènes, qui réduisent les symptômes bronchiques.

Simultanément au traitement pharmacologique ou au soulagement des symptômes, il existe une immunothérapie ou un traitement avec des vaccins. Dans de nombreux cas d'allergie respiratoire, lorsque l'allergène est identifié, l'immunothérapie ou le vaccin a démontré son efficacité et consiste en l'administration, progressivement, par voie sous-cutanée ou sublinguale, dudit allergène, jusqu'à induire une tolérance dans l'organisme. .

Toutefois, selon les experts, malgré l'efficacité largement démontrée de la vaccination antiallergique, de nombreux patients abandonnent leur traitement. Dans la plupart des cas, le manque d'adhérence du patient à l'immunothérapie est dû au manque de connaissances sur sa maladie et son traitement; Le manque d'informations génère de la méfiance et empêche le patient d'inclure le traitement dans sa routine et, par conséquent, ne suit pas les directives recommandées.

Beaucoup d'entre eux restent à mi-chemin ou au début du traitement, alors un an après le début du traitement, seuls six patients sur dix continuent, tandis qu'à long terme, la moitié des patients restants sont partis.

Allergie de toutes les sources

Comme chaque année, l'agent qui causera le plus de symptômes ce printemps est le pollen de graminées. C'est le plus allergène et le plus répandu dans notre pays. Huit patients allergiques au pollen sur dix (pollen) sont sensibles au pollen de graminées. L’intensité de la pollinisation des herbes de chaque saison entretient une relation étroite avec l’humidité et les précipitations pré-saisonnières, c’est-à-dire celle qui se situe entre les mois d’octobre à mars, selon les spécialistes.

Cependant, l’impact réel de cet agent "printanier" sur la symptomatologie des patients dépendra en définitive de la présentation du mois de mai; ce sera la climatologie desdites semaines, la période au cours de laquelle la pollinisation a lieu, celle qui est déterminante. Le temps sec et les températures modérées constituent le pire scénario pour les personnes allergiques.

D'autre part, la pluie et le temps pluvieux pendant la pollinisation diminuent les niveaux de concentration de pollen. En 2009, les températures élevées causées par les vents sahariens ont rapidement épuisé les herbes. Au contraire, l’année dernière, les pluies abondantes des mois de mai et juin ont favorisé un printemps plus doux que celui prédit au mois de mars.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Les Allergies au pollen : on en parle avec un allergologue (Septembre 2019).