Eight million children residing in Southeast Asian countries have not been vaccinated against measles and, therefore, are at risk of contracting this infectious disease, which ended the lives of more than 70,000 children in 11 countries in the region during the year 2011.

This has been noted by Samlee Plianbangchang, director of the World Health Organization (WHO) for South-East Asia, who has also explained that outbreaks of measles are an obstacle to the development of these countries, while administering the vaccine to the population is a 'cost-effective' way to eliminate both this disease and rubella.

The governments of these countries committed to eliminate measles and control rubella and congenital syndrome by 2020, and to achieve this goal will be necessary to reach and maintain 95% of the population's immunity against these diseases. In addition, to develop a surveillance system for possible cases that arise.

Administering the vaccine to the population is a 'cost-effective' way to eliminate both measles and rubella

According to WHO data, in these countries, between 2000 and 2011, the incidence rate of measles has been reduced by 63%, from 69.9 to 25 per million inhabitants. In this period of time, deaths caused by measles in Southeast Asia have also been reduced by 48%.

However, experts fear that currently the progress of population immunization is not as fast as it should be, and the goal set for 2020 is not achieved. Therefore, WHO calls on these governments to complete the financial 'gaps' and technicians pending so that measles can be eradicated from the region on that date.

Campaign to vaccinate children against measles (November 2019).

Huit millions d'enfants résidant dans des pays de l'Asie du Sud-Est n'ont pas été vaccinés contre la rougeole et risquent donc de contracter cette maladie infectieuse, qui a mis fin à la vie de plus de 70 000 enfants dans 11 pays de la région au cours de l'année 2011.

Samlee Plianbangchang, directrice de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) pour l’Asie du Sud-Est (OMS), a également indiqué que les flambées de rougeole constituaient un obstacle au développement de ces pays, alors que le vaccin était administré à la population. un moyen «rentable» d'éliminer à la fois cette maladie et la rubéole.

Les gouvernements de ces pays se sont engagés à éliminer la rougeole et à lutter contre la rubéole et le syndrome congénital d'ici 2020 et pour atteindre cet objectif, il sera nécessaire d'atteindre et de maintenir 95% de l'immunité de la population contre ces maladies. En outre, développer un système de surveillance pour les cas possibles.

L'administration du vaccin à la population est un moyen "rentable" d'éliminer à la fois la rougeole et la rubéole

Selon les données de l'OMS, dans ces pays, entre 2000 et 2011, le taux d'incidence de la rougeole a été réduit de 63%, passant de 69,9 à 25 par million d'habitants. Au cours de cette période, les décès dus à la rougeole en Asie du Sud-Est ont également été réduits de 48%.

Cependant, les experts craignent que les progrès en matière de vaccination de la population ne soient pas aussi rapides qu'ils le devraient et que l'objectif fixé pour 2020 ne soit pas atteint. Par conséquent, l'OMS appelle ces gouvernements à combler les "lacunes" financières et des techniciens en attente afin que la rougeole puisse être éradiquée de la région à cette date.

Etats-Unis: la rougeole se propage en Arizona (Août 2019).