According to the national coordinator of the Alliance for the prevention of colon cancer, Dr. Antoni Castells, up to 3,600 lives a year could be saved in Spain if the application of programs for the early detection of colon cancer is extended, based on the performance of fecal occult blood tests and colonoscopies.

Colorectal cancer is a "potentially preventable" disease that causes around 13,000 people to die annually in Spain. If detected early, treatment can be started as soon as possible, which significantly increases the cure rate. In addition, colon cancer can be prevented with adequate nutrition, by exercising regularly, and by modifying those habits that are harmful to health, such as alcohol and tobacco consumption. These simple measures would help reduce the mortality caused by this pathology between 30 and 35 percent.

Colon cancer and primary care

Primary care plays a key role in the screening programs of the population at risk, since patients undergo tests that allow the diagnosis of colon cancer in health centers and receive, in addition, advice on these tests.

During the Colon Cancer Prevention Day, celebrated on March 31st, the screening programs carried out in the autonomous communities of the Canary Islands, Cantabria, Catalonia, Valencian Community, Murcia and the Basque Country were presented. The program of the Basque Country stands out for its high rates of citizen participation, which reach 59 percent in the case of fecal occult blood test.

The experts emphasize that the objective of these programs is to include the entire population at risk because, according to Dr. Enrique Quintero, of the Spanish Association of Gastroenterology, screening for colon cancer is very effective from the point of view of cost -benefit and it is recommended that the Government establish a budget for these programs, as is already the case in other European countries.

Early detection is key to treating colon cancer (November 2019).

Le Dr Antoni Castells, coordinateur national de l'Alliance pour la prévention du cancer du côlon, pourrait sauver jusqu'à 3 600 vies par an en Espagne si l'application des programmes de détection précoce du cancer du côlon est étendue, en fonction des performances du système. analyses de sang occulte dans les selles et coloscopies.

Le cancer colorectal est une maladie "potentiellement évitable" qui provoque environ 13 000 décès chaque année en Espagne. Si détecté tôt, le traitement peut être commencé aussitôt que possible, ce qui augmente considérablement le taux de guérison. En outre, il est possible de prévenir le cancer du côlon par une nutrition adéquate, en faisant de l'exercice régulièrement et en modifiant les habitudes néfastes pour la santé, telles que la consommation d'alcool et de tabac. Ces mesures simples aideraient à réduire la mortalité causée par cette pathologie entre 30 et 35%.

Cancer du côlon et soins primaires

Les soins primaires jouent un rôle clé dans les programmes de dépistage de la population à risque, car les patients subissent des tests permettant de diagnostiquer le cancer du côlon dans les centres de santé et reçoivent en outre des conseils sur ces tests.

Lors de la Journée de prévention du cancer du côlon, célébrée le 31 mars, ont été présentés les programmes de dépistage menés dans les communautés autonomes des îles Canaries, de Cantabrie, de Catalogne, de la Communauté valencienne, de Murcie et du Pays basque. Le programme du Pays basque se distingue par son taux élevé de participation des citoyens, qui atteint 59% dans le cas du test de recherche de sang occulte dans les selles.

Les experts soulignent que l'objectif de ces programmes est d'inclure l'ensemble de la population à risque car, selon le Dr Enrique Quintero, de l'Association espagnole de gastroentérologie, le dépistage du cancer du côlon est très efficace du point de vue des coûts. Il est recommandé que le gouvernement établisse un budget pour ces programmes, comme c'est déjà le cas dans d'autres pays européens.

Question Period: Environmental assessment bill, political ads, single-use plastics — June 11, 2019 (Août 2019).