Drownings, almost always due to carelessness and carelessness of parents and children, are the second cause of mortality in children and young people, although they could be avoided in 80% of cases, according to the coordinator of the Accident Prevention and Injury Committee of the Spanish Association of Pediatrics, Dr. Jordi Pou.

As you explained, the highest percentage of drowning occurs in private pools that, in many cases, lack the necessary conditions to guarantee the safety of the smallest.

Pou laments especially that there is no fence around the pool, which would prevent children from accessing the water when there was no adult present; and it is estimated that more than 60 percent of private pools do not have an appropriate fence.

Nor are there enough lifeguards watching this type of facilities, so a child can fall into the water without anyone noticing; thus, in 88% of the incidents, the parents or adults responsible for the child's safety acknowledged that they had been distracted.

Therefore, the Injury Prevention Committee has advised that children be taught to swim as soon as possible; that control over minors be extreme when they are near swimming pools or other places where there is a risk of drowning; that children use floats even if they are not bathing, and install protective fences that prevent the child from accessing the premises without the company of adults.

Dr. Pou notes that adopting these measures could prevent both drowning deaths, as well as neurological sequelae who run the risk of presenting many children who have been about to drown but eventually survive.

Other risky practices, such as slipping down slides and running or jumping to the edge of the pool, also cause a significant number of drownings in the case of older children and adolescents even if they know how to swim. The latter also integrate the main risk group when it comes to drownings at sea, especially those related to alcohol consumption.

Watersports

The practice of new sports, especially aquatics, is also related to the increase in injuries in children

The practice of new sports, especially aquatics, is also related to the increase in injuries among children. Drive jet skis, to practice windsurfing, or use canoes, tires or other inflatable devices and even Diving, cause serious injuries, including drowning, and major musculoskeletal or spinal injuries.

To protect minors in these situations, Pou recommends that you do not allow the practice of certain sports until the age of 16 or 18, and that, in any case, flotation elements are used and basic safety rules are followed, always supervised by adults.

Lesions, in general, are the main cause of infant mortality in Europe from the first year of life, above other causes such as cancer or respiratory diseases. These injuries are also responsible for serious sequelae, since a quarter of children and adolescents who are admitted due to an accident will suffer serious sequelae in the central nervous system, such as alterations in their psychomotor development, musculoskeletal or skin problems, psychological traumas, or neurological disorders as a result of spinal cord injuries.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Solving Maternal and Infant Mortality in Africa (November 2019).

Les noyades, presque toujours dues à l’insouciance des parents et des enfants, sont la deuxième cause de mortalité chez les enfants et les jeunes, bien qu’elles puissent être évitées dans 80% des cas, selon le coordinateur du Comité de prévention des accidents et de traumatismes de l'Association espagnole de pédiatrie, le Dr Jordi Pou.

Comme vous l'avez expliqué, le pourcentage le plus élevé de noyades se produit dans piscines privées qui, dans de nombreux cas, ne disposent pas des conditions nécessaires pour garantir la sécurité des plus petits.

Déplore en particulier qu'il n'y ait pas de clôture autour de la piscine, ce qui empêcherait les enfants d'accéder à l'eau en l'absence d'un adulte; et on estime que plus de 60% des piscines privées n'ont pas de clôture appropriée.

Il n'y a pas non plus assez de maîtres-nageurs surveillant ce type d'installations pour qu'un enfant puisse tomber à l'eau sans que personne ne le remarque; ainsi, dans 88% des incidents, les parents ou les adultes responsables de la sécurité de l'enfant ont reconnu qu'ils avaient été distraits.

Par conséquent, le comité de prévention des blessures a recommandé d’enseigner aux enfants de nager le plus tôt possible; que les mineurs soient soumis à un contrôle extrême lorsqu'ils se trouvent près de piscines ou d'autres lieux où il y a un risque de noyade; que les enfants utilisent des flotteurs même s'ils ne se baignent pas et qu'ils installent des clôtures de protection qui empêchent l'enfant d'accéder aux lieux sans la présence d'adultes.

Le Dr Pou note que l’adoption de ces mesures pourrait prévenir les décès par noyade, ainsi que séquelles neurologiques qui courent le risque de présenter de nombreux enfants sur le point de se noyer mais qui finiront par survivre.

D'autres pratiques à risque, telles que glisser sur des toboggans, courir ou sauter au bord de la piscine, sont également à l'origine d'un nombre important de noyades chez les enfants plus âgés et les adolescents, même s'ils savent nager. Ces derniers intègrent également le groupe de risque principal en matière de noyade en mer, notamment ceux liés à la consommation d'alcool.

Sports aquatiques

La pratique de nouveaux sports, notamment aquatiques, est également liée à l'augmentation du nombre de blessures chez les enfants

La pratique de nouveaux sports, notamment aquatiques, est également liée à l'augmentation du nombre de blessures chez les enfants. Conduite motos aquatiquespratique planche à voile, ou utiliser des canoës, des pneus ou d'autres dispositifs gonflables et même plongée, causer des blessures graves, y compris la noyade, et des blessures musculo-squelettiques ou médullaires graves.

Pour protéger les mineurs dans ces situations, Pou recommande de ne pas autoriser la pratique de certains sports avant 16 ou 18 ans, et que, dans tous les cas, des éléments de flottaison soient utilisés et que les règles de sécurité élémentaires soient suivies et toujours surveillées. par les adultes.

Les lésions, en général, sont la principale cause de mortalité infantile en Europe dès la première année de vie, au-dessus d’autres causes telles que le cancer ou maladies respiratoires. Ces lésions sont également responsables de graves séquelles, puisqu'un quart des enfants et des adolescents admis à la suite d'un accident en souffrira dans le système nerveux central, tels que des altérations de leur développement psychomoteur, des problèmes musculo-squelettiques ou cutanés, traumatismes psychologiques ou troubles neurologiques consécutifs à des lésions de la moelle épinière.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Exp. Sociale #64: LA PROSTITUTION D'ENFANT (Août 2019).