The moderate consumption of wine -Between two and seven drinks a week-, is associated with a lower risk of developing depression, according to the results of a study conducted by Predimed Network (Prevention through Mediterranean Diet), which has been published in 'BMC Medicine' , one of the most important magazines in the sector.

Miguel A. Martínez-González, professor at the University of Navarra and director of the research, explained that they followed 5,500 drinkers, aged between 55 and 80 years, who had never suffered from depression, and whose consumption of alcohol was between light and moderate and had not caused problems previously, and observed that there was an inverse association between these consumption and the appearance of new cases of depression.

This expert has pointed out that although other previous studies showed that a high alcohol consumption triggers mental disorders such as depression, there were very few who valued the relationship between a low-moderate alcohol consumption and mental health.

The study observed that there was an inverse association between a low-moderate alcohol consumption and the appearance of new cases of depression

The authors of the study found that people who used to drink between two and seven glasses of wine a week - and did not exceed one glass a day - were less likely to suffer from depression, and the results continued to be significant when they were taken into account other social or lifestyle factors such as type of diet, tobacco use, or marital status.

According to Martínez-González, moderate alcohol intake can protect against depressive disorders, as has already been shown to happen in the case of coronary diseases. And he adds that other previous research shows that certain components of wine, such as resveratrol, can have beneficial effects for the brain.

Hypnosis for Overcoming Alcoholism & Stopping Problem Drinking (November 2019).

Le consommation modérée de vin Entre deux et sept verres par semaine, est associé à un risque de dépression plus faible, selon les résultats d'une étude menée par le réseau Predimed (Prévention par le régime méditerranéen), publiée dans BMC Medicine. , l'un des magazines les plus importants du secteur.

Miguel A. Martínez-González, professeur à l'Université de Navarre et directeur des recherches, a expliqué qu'il avait suivi 5 500 buveurs âgés de 55 à 80 ans qui n'avaient jamais souffert de dépression et dont la consommation de l'alcool était entre léger et modéré et n'avait pas causé de problèmes auparavant, et a observé qu'il y avait une association inverse entre cette consommation et l'apparition de nouveaux cas de dépression.

Cet expert a souligné que, bien que d’autres études aient montré qu’une consommation élevée d’alcool déclenche des troubles mentaux tels que la dépression, très peu d’entre eux estimaient la relation entre une consommation d’alcool faible à modérée et la santé mentale.

L'étude a montré qu'il existait une association inverse entre une consommation d'alcool faible à modérée et l'apparition de nouveaux cas de dépression.

Les auteurs de l'étude ont découvert que les personnes qui buvaient entre deux et sept verres de vin par semaine - et ne dépassaient pas un verre par jour - étaient moins susceptibles de souffrir de dépression et les résultats restaient significatifs lorsqu'ils étaient pris en compte. d'autres facteurs sociaux ou liés au mode de vie, tels que le type de régime alimentaire, l'usage du tabac ou l'état matrimonial.

Selon Martínez-González, une consommation modérée d'alcool peut protéger contre les troubles dépressifs, comme cela a déjà été démontré dans le cas de maladies coronariennes. Et il ajoute que d'autres recherches antérieures montrent que certains composants du vin, tels que resvératrol, peut avoir des effets bénéfiques sur le cerveau.

8 raisons de boire du vin rouge avec modération (Août 2019).