A moderate consumption of coffee or tea - equivalent to four cups a day - could help prevent nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, popularly known as fatty liver, a disease associated with chronic inflammatory processes of the liver that if not treated correctly can degenerate into cirrhosis or cancer, and that is also related to an increased risk of developing diabetes.

A group of researchers led by Paul Yen and Rohit Sinha, of Duke University, in the United States, have conducted several experiments with cell cultures and in mice that had been fed a high-fat diet, in order to observe the reaction of fats stored in the liver cells of animals against the caffeine.

The conclusions of the research - which have been published in 'Hepatology' - point out that moderate intake of coffee or tea could be beneficial in preventing the progression of fatty liver.

Moderate intake of coffee or tea may be beneficial to prevent the progression of fatty liver

It is the first study that has proven the mechanism of action of caffeine in liver lipids. The authors of the work have explained that the new data can serve as a basis for new research to develop drugs with the therapeutic properties of caffeine, but without its side effects, since an excess in the consumption of this substance increases the risk of suffering cardiovascular diseases.

However, moderate consumption of caffeine can have numerous benefits, since other studies have already shown their protective effects against diseases such as diabetes and hypercholesterolemia, as well as to improve the symptoms of Parkinson's and stop the loss of memory.

Dr. Robert S. Brown Speaks on Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease (November 2019).

Une consommation modérée de café ou de thé - équivalant à quatre tasses par jour - pourrait aider à prévenir la stéatose hépatique non alcoolique, communément appelée foie gras, une maladie associée à des processus inflammatoires chroniques du foie qui, si elle n'est pas traitée correctement, peut dégénérer en cirrhose ou en cancer, et qui est également liée à un risque accru de diabète.

Un groupe de chercheurs dirigé par Paul Yen et Rohit Sinha, de l’Université Duke, aux États-Unis, a mené plusieurs expériences sur des cultures cellulaires et sur des souris nourries avec un régime alimentaire riche en graisses, afin d’observer la réaction des graisses stockées dans les cellules du foie des animaux contre la la caféine.

Les conclusions de la recherche - qui ont été publiées dans «Hepatology» - soulignent qu'une consommation modérée de café ou de thé pourrait être bénéfique pour prévenir la progression de la stéatose hépatique.

Une consommation modérée de café ou de thé peut être bénéfique pour prévenir la progression du foie gras

C’est la première étude qui a démontré le mécanisme d’action de la caféine dans les lipides du foie. Les auteurs du travail ont expliqué que les nouvelles données pouvaient servir de base à de nouvelles recherches pour développer des médicaments ayant les propriétés thérapeutiques de la caféine, mais sans ses effets secondaires, car une consommation excessive de cette substance augmente le risque de souffrir maladies cardiovasculaires.

Toutefois, une consommation modérée de caféine peut avoir de nombreux avantages, car d’autres études ont déjà montré leurs effets protecteurs contre des maladies telles que le diabète et l’hypercholestérolémie, ainsi que d’améliorer les symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson et d’arrêter la perte de mémoire.

Les meilleurs fruits contre la maladie du foie gras-Santé Magazine ! (Septembre 2019).