A study that has just published 'British Journal of Sport Medicine' reveals that nothing less than 60 percent of football players who participated in the last Soccer World Cup, held in South Africa in 2010, took at least one medication to fight pain, and about 40 percent acknowledged having taken a analgesic before each game.

The author of the study is the medical officer of the International Football Federation (FIFA), Jiri Dvorak, and has warned that these consumption habits could have negative consequences for the health of long-term athletes, such as damage to the liver or kidneys , and cardiovascular disorders.

The work is based on questionnaires that have been completed by those responsible for the medical services of the national teams of each of the countries that participated in the World Cup. The data show that the highest analgesic consumption occurred just before the most important matches - from the fourth to the final match - and that the national teams that abused the most drugs belong to the American continent.

On the eve of the celebration of the Eurocopa, Dvorak warns that in professional soccer there is a growing tendency to increase the consumption of drugs such as analgesics and nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, and attributes this phenomenon to the pressures players receive to join their position as soon as possible after suffering an injury.

Image by sportgraphic / Shutterstock.com

“I Smoked Two Blunts Before Every Game”: NFL Vets on Cannabis in Football (November 2019).

Une étude qui vient de publier le «British Journal of Sport Medicine» révèle que rien de moins de 60% des footballeurs qui a participé à la dernière Coupe du monde de football, tenu en Afrique du Sud en 2010, a pris au moins un médicament pour lutter contre la douleur et environ 40% ont reconnu avoir pris un analgésique avant chaque match.

L'auteur de l'étude est le médecin de la Fédération internationale de football (FIFA), Jiri Dvorak, qui a averti que ces habitudes de consommation pourraient avoir des conséquences négatives sur la santé des sportifs de longue date, telles que des lésions du foie ou des reins. et troubles cardiovasculaires.

Le travail repose sur des questionnaires remplis par les responsables des services médicaux des équipes nationales de chacun des pays ayant participé à la Coupe du monde. Les données montrent que la consommation d'analgésique la plus élevée a eu lieu juste avant les matches les plus importants - du quatrième au dernier match - et que les équipes nationales ayant consommé le plus de drogues appartiennent au continent américain.

A la veille de la célébration du Eurocopa, Dvorak avertit que dans le football professionnel, la consommation de drogues telles que les analgésiques et les anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens est de plus en plus fréquente, et attribue ce phénomène aux pressions que subissent les joueurs pour rejoindre leur poste le plus rapidement possible après une blessure.

Image de sportgraphic / Shutterstock.com

Les joueurs qui sont morts sur le terrain.. (Scènes choquantes) (Août 2019).