In the US there is an epidemic of childhood obesity. In the last 25 years, the prevalence of childhood obesity has tripled, and several clinical cases show that this condition causes serious health problems in children, especially cardiovascular disorders.

Hypercholesterolemia occurs when blood cholesterol levels are higher than what is considered normal. Among the factors that influence its increase are inadequate diets, liver, endocrine and renal diseases and familial hypercholesterolemia. If the recommended levels are exceeded, the chances of developing coronary diseases are increased.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends reducing the age to eight years to treat childhood obesity drugs, because the presence of cardiovascular problems at an early age is becoming very frequent. A recommendation not without controversy, which has raised controversy among experts, since primary prevention trials have shown a decrease in the rates of cardiovascular events, but not a decrease in mortality among adults.

The main negative consequence of excess cholesterol in the blood is the development of coronary diseases

With eight years of age, a child's brain and other organs remain in the developmental stages and, therefore, concern that long-term pharmacotherapy initiating it at this age may negatively impact the central nervous system, immune function, hormones, metabolism or other systems in an unforeseen way.

Thus, the great question that arises is whether they are willing to treat hypercholesterolemia associated with childhood obesity with a growing range of powerful drugs for adults, or focus on adopting measures such as food regulation, improving the quality of nutrition in school, promoting physical activity inside and outside the school environment, and providing greater funding for programs for the prevention and treatment of obesity.

Children’s Health on GMT - Childhood Obesity and Bariatric Surgery (November 2019).

Aux États-Unis, il y a une épidémie d'obésité chez les enfants. Au cours des 25 dernières années, la prévalence de l'obésité chez les enfants a triplé et plusieurs cas cliniques montrent que cette maladie est à l'origine de graves problèmes de santé chez les enfants, en particulier de troubles cardiovasculaires.

L'hypercholestérolémie survient lorsque les taux de cholestérol dans le sang sont supérieurs à ce qui est considéré comme normal. Les régimes alimentaires inadéquats, les maladies du foie, du système endocrinien et rénal, ainsi que l’hypercholestérolémie familiale, sont des facteurs qui influent sur son augmentation. Si les niveaux recommandés sont dépassés, les chances de développer des maladies coronariennes sont augmentées.

L'American Academy of Pediatrics recommande de réduire l'âge à huit ans pour traiter les médicaments contre l'obésité chez les enfants, car la présence de problèmes cardiovasculaires à un âge précoce devient très fréquente. Une recommandation qui ne manque pas de controverse a suscité la controverse parmi les experts puisque les essais de prévention primaire ont montré une diminution des taux d’événements cardiovasculaires, mais pas une diminution de la mortalité chez les adultes.

La principale conséquence négative de l'excès de cholestérol dans le sang est l'apparition de maladies coronariennes.

À l'âge de huit ans, le cerveau et d'autres organes de l'enfant sont encore au stade du développement. On craint donc que la pharmacothérapie à long terme qui l'amorce à cet âge ne nuise au système nerveux central, à la fonction immunitaire, hormones, métabolisme ou autres systèmes de manière imprévue.

La grande question qui se pose est donc de savoir s'ils sont disposés à traiter l'hypercholestérolémie associée à l'obésité chez les enfants avec un nombre croissant de médicaments puissants destinés aux adultes ou à adopter des mesures telles que la réglementation des aliments. l'amélioration de la qualité de la nutrition à l'école, la promotion de l'activité physique à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du milieu scolaire et le financement accru des programmes de prévention et de traitement de l'obésité.

Dépister et prévenir l'obésité infantile (Août 2019).